Ratings based on 1,513 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse $300 a night hotel I've ever stayed at

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Staff at front desk were very nice and accommodating.
Cons: Do something about that restaurant.
The downstairs restaurant was awful. You would think with its limited menu, you could receive excellent service and at the very least hot food. We waited 45 minutes for a bowl of soup, which was ice cold. The waitress seemed unbothered when we reported such. We waited even longer for a simple wedge salad and lobster mac and cheese. When the waitress was asked about the wait and why others were being served before us when we ordered prior to them, she indicated that they had only ordered salads. Which is what we had ordered??? We then realized why our friends who came later were served first. Their pizzas were ice cold and they had to return them. The waitress told them she would get the pizzas right back out. She took so long they cancelled their orders. The beds in the rooms are rock hard. I have stayed in Embassy Suites in many different states and never have I been disappointed. I would never stay at this particular one again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Volleyball-Tampa convention Center

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Starbucks line
Location: Great
Great place. Nice that you can cross a bridge and be at the TCC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Always have a good experience at this hotel. We choose this hotel whenever we attend events at the Amalie Center. It's within walking distance so we don't have to worry about traffic and parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Great hotel, location and staff. Fun time at Gasparilla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great location next to Tampa Convention Center

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Location is a ten on a scale of 10 being the highest,
Cons: Elevators and bedding need much improvement.
Location: The arena is next to the hotel. Harbor Place is across the bridge where we found Cafe Dufrane and Amore. The food is great at both restaurants.
The Hotel is a great location for anyone visiting the Tampa downtown area. Easy access to Trolley Service, the Arena, the Riverwalk and shopping. Rental car not needed due to the great transportation service provided by the hotel to and from the airport. Located within walking distance we found an excellent restaurant on the water front. Some guest rooms have been updated with leather chairs and new sofas which are very nice. We had the typical Embassy Suite seating which was clean but aging. The one criticism is the bed was not comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland.

Hockey Trip at Amelie Stadium

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff at reception. Excellent breakfast - freshly cooked to order omelettes - yummy. Complimentary drinks in reception 5.30-7.30 pm.
Cons: Bigger swimming pool would have been nicer.
Location: Across street from Amelie Stadium, History museum of Tampa located close by. Near river walk. Trolley station in front of hotel.
Ideally situated for visit to Amelie Stadium for hockey match. Very friendly check in - had to ask for change from king size bed to 2 doubles as my sister had joined me on trip, and was up-graded to lovely bay view room on 18th floor. Had nice meal in Trolleys restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Excellent Hotel, great manager's reception, great included breakfast. Expensive, but you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Walking distance to Amalie arena

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Great hotel, great experience. Restaurant connecting rather pricey for the type of food served, but the food was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Warsaw,Indiana

Disappointing stay.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: We loved everyone that worked there. Everyone was very accommodating that worked there. The morning breakfast was always fresh and hot.
Cons: I feel that the most important thing that could be improved on is the management. If they were doing their job the place would not look so run down.
Location: Great location. love being able to pick up the tram outside of the hotel.
We were disappointed in our stay at the Embassy downtown. The first night all day was pounding, sawing, and hammering. We finally had to call down at 8 pm and ask when they were going to stop the remodeling. Our room had very stained and dirty carpet. I wore my flip flops all the time. All the tables in the eating area were so unleveled you were always stuffing napkins under 1 or 2 of the feet so you drink would not spill. The trash cans out side of the front entrance was full and running over on the ground. We did ask if someone could take care of them. Wall paper on the walls had pieces missing. They only had 1 or 2 people at the front desk and we would wait for 20 min or longer. The pool area had maybe 6 lounge chairs definitely not enough for all of the people. This Embassy is in need of a lot of TLC. We had 5 rooms and I was embarrassed when all of our guests got there. One day we didn't even get maid service and when we called for clean towels no one answered the phone. We did have a fire evacuate and didn't get back into the hotel until 2 am. Embassy did comp our rooms because we had no air for the remainder days until we left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Jason Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown during your recent trip to Tampa. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I have noted your comments and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. The hotel is not doing any remodeling so I don't know the source of the noise you described. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location for New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Easy check in, but felt no more special than a check in at a Days Inn or some cheap hotel. Would expect a little more for price. Valet would not accept call down to have car pulled around. So overall nice hotel and location, but mediocre service.