Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice Staff/Hotel Not The Best

Posted Oct 5, 2014
It may be because the hotel is currently being renovated, but I would have run from this place if it wasn't for the most pleasant front desk clerk. The air conditioner did not begin to cool the room until some 4 hours later, and the room was muggy hot because the carpeted floors seemed to have just shampooed and still damp. There were stains on the couch and chair. There was hair (a lot and not mine) near the shower. We slept on top of the bed after laying towels down because we were concerned housekeeping may have missed cleaning given the hair in the bathroom and stained writing pads on the night stand. There was also a gap between the front door and floor so there was concern something could crawl under. It was small, just enough to let warm air underneath the door. The air vents were filthy. Maybe things will be better after all renovations are complete, but I actually think the room I was in was in an already renovated area. I will never return to this hotel, so I will never know. The front desk clerk's wonderful attitude was the only thing that saved this experience. She deserves a better environment in which to work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under Construction

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Hotel Staff
Cons: They need to run the shuttle service during the whole event times at Busch Gardens
Location: Busch Gardens is very close, as is USF.
We like to stay at this hotel when we go to Tampa for Howl o Scream. In the past they would provide excellent shuttle service to the park and would return when the event ends to pick us up. This year the hotel is being remodeled. They only had 30 rooms available, the rest of the rooms are closed off. The room had a smoke smell, and we had to be moved to a different room. The woman at the front desk, her name is Tara is this hotels biggest asset. She is very nice and helpful. She even helped us when the door lock stopped working. We did not find out until we checked in that the shuttle service was only available until 9 pm. This was very upsetting as that was the main reason we stayed there. We were told that the shuttle only ran until 9pm because they only had 30 rooms open. Howl O Scream only opens at 7:30pm and runs until 1:00 am, so a 9 pm shuttle is not going to work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs, FL

Not What I Expected

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Staff was helpful and personable.
Cons: Need newer bedding/furnishings, need enough food for all guests at breakfast, need to properly clean pool.
Location: There were quite a few restaurant choices and close to Busch Gardens but in a run-down area of Tampa.
Hotel website and reviews are what drew us to this hotel as it was close to Busch Gardens in Tampa where we had plans to spend a long weekend. When we arrived, it was in a very sketchy part of town (just 3 blocks further was a nicer area of Tampa), the hotel was going under renovation so a lot of the hotel was off-limits where construction was underway. The hotel manager greeted me upon check-in. She was very friendly and personable. The first thing I noticed upon checking in was that the pool had scum along the upper edges of the pool tiles and there were leaves in the pool. The room was a nice size for the king bedroom suite. However, the king-size mattress needed replacing. I felt like I was leaning upside down when I laid on it and I could feel the bedsprings every time I rolled over. The sofa sleeper was not comfortable for my child either. The bathroom was clean except the anti-slip liner that was placed in the tub still had stagnant water under it. I couldn't ever get a solid Wi-Fi connection to even surf the internet. The breakfast was not good at all. Most everything was gone by 8:00 a.m. except for some hard-boiled eggs, some bread to make toast, and very hard english muffins. There was cereal/milk and fresh fruit, yogurt, which was okay. We just had higher expectations and were very disappointed with the condition of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting hotel, staff was VERY rude

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Manager named Jacqueline was terrible and rude and I didn't even want the staff coming in to clean my room since they all looked so sketchy, I thought I would be robbed. Would have never stayed if I hadn't prepaid
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples

Old rundown hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Busch Gardens just down the street.
This hotel should have been renovated 20 years ago. Furniture in two of the rooms that I saw was dirty and worn. The housekeeping staff had done a poor job in both rooms with several hairs on the mattress cover in one room and dried urine on the toilet seat of another room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Has shuttle service to Busch Gardens and Adventure Islands.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

There's a reason it's cheap

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The night receptionist was friendly. It was near USF. We picked it because it was cheap, but learned our lesson.
Cons: Everything. Immediately, improve breakfast. A lot. That won't fix funky rooms but they could do that tomorrow.
Location: Convenient to USF, VA, Busch Gardens
It's a franchise hotel under renovation, so they can't call themselves by that name (Holiday Inn Express?). Either that, or they don't want the bad reviews tied to that name. From the look of the rooms the renovation is about 10 years overdue. Carpets smelled like they used too much deodorant to mask smoke, milder or old diapers. The result was equally undesirable. Breakfast? They call it that? Really? That's a stretch. Double-queen room seems to have been designed for single-king bed. End of bed extends across doorway. Weird. Look elsewhere. Come back when the renovations are complete.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: pool area
Cons: Front desk staff, whole time I was checking in, the women checking me in was gossiping with a co-worker, also not told about breakfast
The hotel was nice, the disappointing part was the staff. While I was checking in the women at the front desk was gossiping with a co-worker, we were not told about breakfast or when check out was. The next morning I went to see if I needed to do anything else for check out. I walked into the lobby, no one was there. I waited a few seconds and then said "hello." A woman came from a back office, she walked out and just looked at me. Did not say hello, good morning, or how can I help you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jerry from New Jersey

Do not recommend

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service was poor and the place was under construction. Room service and front desk did not answer the phone. The room was ok, but nothing special.