Ratings based on 659 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Not a hotel anymore!!!!!!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Stayed here a few years ago, and had a great time. Staff was friendly, cleaned rooms/brought towels like a hotel. Stayed here early August, and this is no longer a hotel. No mention of this at all until staff was questioned. They do not clean rooms, WILL ONLY BRING TOWELS IF REQUESTED WITH A DAILY PHONECALL (so don't throw your towels on the floor as you will not we getting more), and do not have other common hotel amenities. This is a great place to stay but just be aware of what you are signing up for. It should really be stated somewhere their policies regarding room cleaning/towel service before you are expecting clean towels for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location & facilities

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Nice place to stay great restaurant I would recommend it
4 out of 5
by Don from Michigan

Mainsail - Tampa

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: close to major arteries - easy to get from point A to B.
Cons: see above comments
Location: near shopping, banks, and some great Cuban food.
For the most part, overall impression is favorable. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and, for the most part, quiet at night. Some shortcomings: 1) no security 2) there should be some sort of pool supervision on week-ends - lots of kids running around the deck, jumping over people in the pool,etc. 3) the pool attracts the same "good 'ole boy" network of loud, boisterous guys who are constantly chugging brews and smoking. 4) planes from TIA fly over the complex early, around 5:30 a.m. Takes some getting used to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ann from Fall River, MA

Very nice facility for the price.

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We rented a two bedroom apartment for 10 days. The apartment was very roomy and very clean and bright and had everything we needed. And understand - it is an apartment. There is no daily room service, so if you wish to be pampered, you are better off staying at a spa. Just like at home, we made our own beds, took out our own trash and cleaned up after ourselves. I liked the privacy and the fact that no one woke us up so that they could force us out to clean the room on their clock. It is very close to the airport, which means that you will hear planes taking off, but it is also close to every type of business that you could possibly need, as well as several nearby attractions. The downside is that the Front Desk is closed at night, so if you do need something like extra towels or cooking utensils, you do have to wait until the morning. The only other negative aspect is that some of the apartments are leased long term, so the residents really don't care how much noise they make at night, or how messy they are or how badly they park their cars, but those are all things easily overlooked compared to all of the positives. Besides, they do have 24 hour security if you do need it, which we didn't. We will definitely stay again when we are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MInnesota

Escape-from-Minnesota Vacation

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: I like the staff ... they are good people who try to assist but even their hands are tied with policy do's and don'ts. I also enjoyed Latitudes/pool
Cons: Install elevators or guarantee first-floor rooms when requested.
Location: I liked the location because it was close to my brother's house and also close to fine eating establishments.
We have stayed at Mainsail for the past couple years in the Feb/Mar timeframe, and have always thoroughly enjoyed the facilities. Unfortunately, this year started out on a very bad note. Even though I made these reservations 6 months in advance, some policies at Mainsail had changed, and no one saw fit to let us know. There are no elevators, and because my husband has difficulty walking, and my brother (who we fly down to Tampa to visit) is in a wheelchair, I have always requested a first-floor room close to the pool / restaurant. When I made the reservations, I was assured that this would not be a problem. However, when we arrived, I was told 1) there are now only two of the eleven buildings being used for "hotel guests" and both were as far away from the pool / restaurant as could be; AND 2) they could not honor my first-floor accommodations! Very, very disappointing. Another policy change is that they no longer rent out less than 5 days. Our initial plans were to be at Mainsail for 6 nights, then to Fort Myer for 2 nights, coming back to Mainsail for another 3 nights, going over to New Port Richey to visit other relatives, and returning to Mainsail for the last 3 nights of our vacation. After a lot of negotiation, they did allow us to come back to Mainsail for the last 3 nights but at a much higher rate. Although the staff remains friendly, I'm afraid we will probably be securing other accommodations next year ....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Very nice place to stay. This is my second time but not my last. I look forward to staying again on my next trip to Tampa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Victor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Went for a hockey game.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Very lovely grounds, quiet and very clean. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closed environment. Spacious units. Clean & basic

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Spacious
Cons: Elevator.
Location: Golf & vicinity to TPA
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris C from Tampa

Exactly what we needed

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading other reviews I was nervous about staying. Could not have been happier! We needed a nice space for my wife and two kids to spread out while our house was being renovated. It provided that's and more. It's not a fancy hotel with daily maid service and bell hops but it was more than we could have expected. Nice staff, friendly envirornment, cool little restaurant. I'd def stay again...