Ratings based on 783 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Close to the Amalie Arena

Posted May 17, 2015
Very nice hotel. Very close to the Amalie Arena where we were seeing a show that night. They have a shuttle service to the arena, very convenient!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Great, affordable location for concert or show.

Posted May 14, 2015
Older property but Rooms recently freshened up. Nice helpful staff. Free shuttle is great - no parking worries going to Amalie and Straz Performing Arts Center is right across the street. Only complaint- I would skip the restaurant. Overall great value.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chennai, india

Rude people, Broken Hotel

Posted May 8, 2015
I checked into room 719, toilet flush was running down non stop, I complain, they said they will change the room. I was hoping somebody would come up and give me the new room keys. But their manager was expecting me to come down and get the keys. I go down, they put me on 1413, I come up to 14th floor, the room key on 1413 doesn't open. So I call the manager, she is like, thanks for bringing it to our attention, then you come down, if you want to be put into a different room. I go down again, they gave 1123, the room opens now. Then I narrate the whole story to their general manager, who apologises sincerely. Next day morning, I am In the shower, no hot water :-). I also noticed the bathroom door lock was broken. Basically the whole hotel is breaking down, on top of it, they have rude staff and managers. And they didn't clean my room on the 3rd day :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Oregon

Charming surprise.

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The location. The pool area was very nice. Our room was clean and nicely decorated.
Cons: It would be nice to have discount coupons for attractions - especially the theme parks.
Location: We especially enjoyed the river walk.
My nine year old twins enjoyed the pool. We also enjoyed evening strolls around the "neighborhood". We were pleasantly surprised because, quite frankly, we had chosen for price, and did not expect as nice as we got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Very charming Hotel in the middle of a great area of town. My wife and I were very happy here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aventura, Florida

Very close to Straz center and river walk

Posted May 3, 2015
Very nice and convenient to the Many museums, I enjoyed that it was close to the River walk and the Straz center as we were there to see an event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near hockey arena

Posted May 1, 2015
We stayed in the hotel for the hockey game and it was a great night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spring Hill, Fl

Could be a nicer hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Check in was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room, typical hotel room. I did find a roach in the bathroom and the toilet was filthy so that wasn't nice. We wanted to eat dinner in the restaurant which seemed nice. However it must have been a bad day because the bartender quit, we overheard another guess say they waited 30 minutes and still hadn't been served dinner, the waitress was on her first day,very sweet but overwhelmed. We paid for our soft drinks and we went elsewhere for dinner. We ate breakfast elsewhere too. If you are going to the Straz it's right there. I think this could be a great hotel. It wasn't great this visit though.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Don't. Unless you have to. Just Don't.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The staff were warm, friendly, and accommodating when I had to switch 4 rooms.
Cons: UPDATES, maintenance, closer eye on cleaning the showers and rooms.
Location: Location was nice. Shuttle service is a great feature.
I attended a conference this past week and was sorely disappointed. I was looking for something away from the action and decently priced. I checked out these reviews and felt confident enough to host a client. I knew it wasn't going to be a 5 star, but this is definitely not a 3 star hotel. We had to switch 4 rooms until we finally settled for a functional room. Our first room the plumbing didn't work and furniture was broken, second room started raining when it rained outside (not a drip... rain), 3rd room the sink was broken, furniture broken, and plumbing didn't work, final room was decent. 3 out of 4 rooms had hair in the shower, I cleaned the last one myself to be somewhat presentable for my client. I am very, very disappointed at this hotel. It is not at all what I expected from the online representation. People paid nearly what I paid for much, much better. The staff, however, were their saving grace. Accommodating, friendly, professional, and knowledgable. It felt like they knew of the issues, were exasperated, and didn't really have a good answer, but were more than willing to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Good for price when other local hotels were $200+ and Barrymore was $115. Property is convenient to convention center and free shuttle was cool. Property is pretty stale and dated; carpets old and musty, chairs stained, AC not greatly efficient (a MUST in SW FL). Staff was very nice. Better for a one-nioght stand rather than the three that I spent here.