Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Gibraltar

Wonderful time warp

Posted Jun 27, 2014
If you are expecting five star service at reception forget it. go to America or similar. but if what you are after is a unique experience, with amazing food, great location, friendly people and want to be transported to another era its the hotel to visit. I do not tire of it after 20 years!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sbz from US

Need some TLC

Posted May 19, 2014
Stayed 2 nights there in May 2014. The hotel looks a bit sad to me (its theme is nostalgia for another era of Tangier's history), but has great staff. We booked a swimming pool-facing terrace room, and had to stand on the right edge of the terrace to see the pool (and a sliver of sea). We actually faced the ugly mirrored El Minzah Wellness building. But the pool and surrounding garden are really lovely. The room was a bit drab and the bathroom is from another era (70's?), though everything worked and the bedding was fine (and the bed comfy). There is a lounge area near the lobby and in the afternoon, men (staff?) were sprawled on the sofas there for their siesta. The best part was the breakfast room. Big, sunny, facing the sea. Great way to start the day. Location of the hotel is ideal, a 5 mn walk from the medina and next to Place de France. Based on our experience of a riad in Fez, given another chance I would stay in one in Tangiers too, there are some nice-looking ones in the Casbah.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TBZ from New York

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Location: Perfect location between old city and new. Close to great cafes and restaurants.
Beautiful hotel, great location. Amazing breakfast included, fantastic amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John

Best hotel in Tangier

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: facilities, buffet breakfast, indoor spa
It's awesome, great facilities, buffet breakfast serves bacon, heated indoor spa, out door pool, lovely views, close to center and markets
1 out of 5
by carlos from miami

Avoid at all cost

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: We had iprepaid our stay and after looking at the location accompanied by our driver and looking at the inside decided against checking in.
Cons: Fdelist it from the Expedia website
Location: Reali bad location far from everything and to get to it you need to navigate twisting, isolated and unsafe alleyways
Awful place in an unsafe part of town full of hooligans ready to jump on you. Unsafe to get in and no way to go anywhere without protection
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing is an Understatement

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and staff.
Cons: Most every thing.
A very pretentious hotel that cannot justify its prices. The rooms are extremely small. My wife and I could not pass across from each other, that’s how small our (over-$200 a night) Deluxe room was. The bathtub was clogged. The faucet splashed all over the place when you switched it on. The noise from the street was intolerable, even between 2:00 and 5:00 AM. The furniture (including headboard and night tables) has sharp ends and pointy corners, which, considering how small the room is, caused BOTH of us several bruises. The heating system is noisy and we both woke up with sinus issues after first night, so that for the rest of our stay we preferred to sleep in the cold (the balcony door leaked air from the cold sea front)!! The internet did not work on several occasions. The TV needed a nuclear physicist to get it working, and it would turn off (and refuse to turn on) for no reason. The hotel is very clean, but this is quite expected even in much cheaper hotels in Morocco. The breakfast is for bread- and cheese-lovers, but it has very little else, especially fruits and vegetables. You could die before you find vegetables in the buffet – this is in the country of vegetables!!! On a positive note, the hotel staff, from end to end, was very nice and attentive. But again, this is the culture in this country, and no thanks due to the hotel itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Finnbird from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, close to casbah and medina.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Staff.
Cons: tv controls
Location: casbah and medina
Hotel staff very eager to please. Turn down service was iffy. Breakfast was terrific. great bar, the town is dry!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff and excellent location
3 out of 5
by Ruben from New York

This is clearly not a five star hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2014
It you want real luxury go to Villa Josephine or the Nord-Pinus hotel in the Kashbah