Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BG from Santa Fe

Very Nice Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got tired of awful Taos hotels and decided to upgrade. I enjoyed everything about this hotel, except the nickel and diming. The internet advertised valet parking but did not say that you had to pay $20 for all parking--a pretty steep fee when all other hotels have free parking. Similarly, WiFi was $14 a night. Room Service $5 fee plus automatic gratuity. None in themselves outrageous, more the nickel and diming that is outrageous. The business office, including printing, was free, however.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dana from Albuquerque

Wonderful accommodations, but horrible service!

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The accommodations continue to be fabulous. We stay, along with 5 other families, 4-5 times per year and I am always amazed at the horrible service we receive. One of these days, I'm going to stop staying here because it is so frustrating! If they could just get better service, it would be an amazing place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Cons: Charging extra for wifi access is annoying.
We stayed in Taos for a ski vacation 12/31 - 1/03/14. The El Monte was comfortable and convenient. The staff was responsive and helpful. No unpleasant surprises. We did not utilize the dining facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexxx from Lone Star

Stunning facility!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Stellar service, fantastic art throughout and can't say enough about the huge tub, fireplace and view! Great hot stone massage! The negatives: a big thumbs down on $20 a day for parking and some &15 a day for wi-fi! Come on! Also, only 4 stars on food--chicken was dry and hard. It must have led a harsh life. Also, spa is superb but be prepared to fork out some dough! Not crazy about the automatic 20% "tip." Even without it, it can get pretty pricy. Why not just add 20% to the price and let customers decide what to add for good service? We got engaged in our robes in front of the fireplace. It was about 12F outside but inside the heat was on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deonna from Texas

Wonderful!

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had been to their spa before and lived it so I just had to stay there this time. It was exactly what I hoped and the spa was great again too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Denver, CO

Awesome!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful room and grounds
This hotel was amazing. The staff was welcoming and professional, the room was impeccable, and food was great. I would DEFINITELY stay here again and would recommend this place to everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting property

Posted Dec 23, 2013
The ambiance was wonderful, the people terrific. It was unfortunate that they were having problems with their septic system making it a bit unpleasant. We were shocked to see a $20 a day parking fee added to our bill. We were disappointed that we would be charged to park on the very same property. It left a bad impression with us and as annual visitors to New Mexico we will think twice about staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Horizontal Bop from South by Southeast

Nice but...

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice place & great service. However, when we checked into room #606 we noticed there was no clock in the room so we requested a clock. Guy brings clock but electric outlet didn't work. Sent "Engineer" to repair outlet. Then the toilet didn't work so they sent someone else for that. Also, half the TV stations don't come in very well, there's lots of static. Food in restaurant was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jason from Colorado Springs

Good price for the resort feel.

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great bell hops and registration staff. Facility was bigger than I thought it was going to be. Room had a nice tall ceiling and small patio. We could hear the people above us probably more than I was expecting, but it wasn't too bad. Carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed, and there was some water damage on the wall from the shower, but otherwise the room was very nice and clean. It would've been nice to have a little instruction card for the jet tub, but no big deal. Easy enough walk into the Plaza or they can shuttle you down. Would've liked to stay longer. You have to pay for parking and WIFI separately, but to me that isn't that big of deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com