Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cons: The pool and the area around was un-kept and not clean.
Wow !! Was wonderful to stay here!!! Beautiful! Especially loved the "in house" kitty that came to visit me on the deck!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

This place has not seen an update.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The guys at valet parking were cool and looked after my car.
Cons: Everything
This place has not seen an update since it was built ten years ago. The room was nice but all the noise from the corridor comes right into the room. The wait staff at breakfast was terrible, long wait to get service, even though nobody was there, three tables had people and all the other tables had not been bused yet. The cool accents that were in the bar are gone, looks like they had an issue with them, and just took them down and never replaced them. The pool is tiny and indoors. The TV reception/ picture was terrible, all snow on more than half the stations. Quite disappointing for a $300.00 @ night place, would say it was a $125.00 @ night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have five different room types and we would be happy to recommend one that would better suit your needs next time. We are not quite sure what you mean by cool accents in the bar. The art there has changed and we improved the aquarium. We have number of improvements in the works we hope you find enjoyable on your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

A series of mishaps equals not a great experience

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Our room upgrade was very nice.
Cons: Better trained and capable staff who are good at communicating with people and good at using computers.
I don't even know where to begin. We had just come from a lovely hotel in Santa Fe and were expecting another pleasurable experience. Not! It all started at check in. We met with David who told us that there was an emergency and that the hot tub was closed. We weren't too happy since the main reason we chose the hotel was so we could do a daily hot tub for my 50th birthday weekend. He said they had a plan though and that we could use the hot tub outside a villa type room. That seemed OK to us and we asked if we could look at it. We got there and I'm not kidding - there had been no maintenance on that tub for weeks - it was green with decayed leaves and pine needles on the bottom. Not usable at all. Totally unacceptable. We couldn't believe this was their plan and that he would let us go look at that. We started losing confidence in the hotel at that point. We then went and looked at our room to see what else was going on. We saw dirty plates on the ground outside of rooms, unswept paths and water stains on the ceiling. Since we had pre-paid for our room, we had to stay but otherwise we would have left immediately. Turns out the hot tub was fine and the other front desk person hadn't even heard about any emergency. We were upgraded so our room was nice, but overall it was a terrible experience. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that we failed to provide you the memorable experience we strive to give all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback. We will use your comments to take a look at departments and personnel requiring additional training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Beautiful grounds. Great showers

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Walking the property after a swim was so relaxing. The breakfast food was so good especially the bagel & salmon. We would return again
2 out of 5
Recommended
by rbaustin3d from sugar land, texas

lumpy bed/ hard as a rock

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my third stay in a taos mountain room. The bathroom is plush with an exceptional shower and the best oversized jetted spa tub ever, which you will need after sleeping on a rock hard, sinking in spots mattress. Not up to a regular Marriott standard, much less a resort. I blame myself for not complaining after the first night. But I was too tired and had limited time to see the area, so I let it go. The last night It hurt my back so bad I slept in the room chair. The staff apologized and said they would look into it. Also there was noise overhead that sounded like wild animals on the loose at all times of night. I don't think I will ever be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Our apologies. We appreciate your feedback. If you could contact us directly we can identify the room you were in and address that specific issue. We work to stay on top of all maintenance problems but if the word does not get passed to us we cannot fix it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 2lane Traveller

A Sad State

Posted May 18, 2014
This hotel has an incredible campus and a wonderful location. The staff is first class and ready to help. It is a great disappointment to see how poorly the Kessler Collection has kept up with maintaining what could be the best hotel in Taos. Patio furniture that can give you splinters, beams that haven't been stained in years, and linens that are way past needing replacement spoil what should be the jewel of the valley. Still a great experience though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
El Monte Sagrado has been investing a lot of time and money of late to upgrade and improve the property and amenities . Our Engineering team is constantly working on renovation projects and I am sure you will see the results of these efforts on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Fretwell from California

N/a

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
N/a
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Parking was problematic and rooms not soundproof

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
For a "resort/spa" of this caliber, El Monte needs to come up with better parking solutions. It was really a hassle on a busy weekend to be in a car line all the time and told only valet parking was possible. I am not comfortable with leaving my keys and it was a real inconvenience. Also, you can hear every noise from the hallways and even the adjoining rooms. It didn't feel private AT ALL.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Our apologies for the parking issues. El Monte Sagrado was carved out of an existing neighborhood with limited space for our parking lot. Therefore in order to maximize the capacitiy, it was designed with mostly double and even triple parking spaces. This requires extensive use of valet service to avoid having guests blocked in. On busy weekends, staff members are not allowed on the lot to help aleviate some of the problems. We are seeking a permanent long term solution to the overcrowding problem. We have 5 different room types at El Monte Sagrado and for a more private and peaceful stay on your next visit I would suggest a Casita or Native American Suite. I think you will enjoy these immensely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by david from Hartford CT

Great Place - but

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got there and the place was lovely. couple of minor points: 1. swmining pool was out for repairs, 2. no headsets for exercise equipment, 3. $20 charge for self parking in open lot - rather lame in my view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by LMG from CO

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service and beautiful room.