Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

This place has not seen an update.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The guys at valet parking were cool and looked after my car.
Cons: Everything
This place has not seen an update since it was built ten years ago. The room was nice but all the noise from the corridor comes right into the room. The wait staff at breakfast was terrible, long wait to get service, even though nobody was there, three tables had people and all the other tables had not been bused yet. The cool accents that were in the bar are gone, looks like they had an issue with them, and just took them down and never replaced them. The pool is tiny and indoors. The TV reception/ picture was terrible, all snow on more than half the stations. Quite disappointing for a $300.00 @ night place, would say it was a $125.00 @ night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have five different room types and we would be happy to recommend one that would better suit your needs next time. We are not quite sure what you mean by cool accents in the bar. The art there has changed and we improved the aquarium. We have number of improvements in the works we hope you find enjoyable on your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

A series of mishaps equals not a great experience

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Our room upgrade was very nice.
Cons: Better trained and capable staff who are good at communicating with people and good at using computers.
I don't even know where to begin. We had just come from a lovely hotel in Santa Fe and were expecting another pleasurable experience. Not! It all started at check in. We met with David who told us that there was an emergency and that the hot tub was closed. We weren't too happy since the main reason we chose the hotel was so we could do a daily hot tub for my 50th birthday weekend. He said they had a plan though and that we could use the hot tub outside a villa type room. That seemed OK to us and we asked if we could look at it. We got there and I'm not kidding - there had been no maintenance on that tub for weeks - it was green with decayed leaves and pine needles on the bottom. Not usable at all. Totally unacceptable. We couldn't believe this was their plan and that he would let us go look at that. We started losing confidence in the hotel at that point. We then went and looked at our room to see what else was going on. We saw dirty plates on the ground outside of rooms, unswept paths and water stains on the ceiling. Since we had pre-paid for our room, we had to stay but otherwise we would have left immediately. Turns out the hot tub was fine and the other front desk person hadn't even heard about any emergency. We were upgraded so our room was nice, but overall it was a terrible experience. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that we failed to provide you the memorable experience we strive to give all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback. We will use your comments to take a look at departments and personnel requiring additional training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Beautiful grounds. Great showers

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Walking the property after a swim was so relaxing. The breakfast food was so good especially the bagel & salmon. We would return again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 2lane Traveller

A Sad State

Posted May 18, 2014
This hotel has an incredible campus and a wonderful location. The staff is first class and ready to help. It is a great disappointment to see how poorly the Kessler Collection has kept up with maintaining what could be the best hotel in Taos. Patio furniture that can give you splinters, beams that haven't been stained in years, and linens that are way past needing replacement spoil what should be the jewel of the valley. Still a great experience though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
El Monte Sagrado has been investing a lot of time and money of late to upgrade and improve the property and amenities . Our Engineering team is constantly working on renovation projects and I am sure you will see the results of these efforts on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice views and great pool and spa area!!!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: It was secluded and had a private resort location!!!
Great for a romantic getaway and an easy drive from Denver, CO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taos getaway

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Cons: Parking and internet use fees are outrageous.
Location: Near galleries, museums and restaurants.
Hotel was close to town. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Ray from Colorado Springs

A once great hotel obviously in foreclosure.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The people.
Cons: Everybody was operating out of their own kindness. Everything that was wrong stemmed from the management that live far, far away from the El Monte.
Location: Let's face it. This review will never see the light of day.
The recession has been especially ruff on anyone attempting a great task, like running the El Monte. And there lays the problem. The El Monte's appeal was in the receiving a comforting experience at every turn. The experience of sleeping and living in art. The three connecting points, the room, the landscape and the sweetness that pours out of the people of Taos. It was like some kind of Mexican opera and everybody was on the same page. It was a reminder of everything frighting of the last 5 years. We felt like we were in an Apocalyptic movie. The beautiful hardwood floors were separating from an obvious water damage. Our socks were catching on the lifting of the grain. The bed spread sham was tattered and the collection of decorate pillows were long gone. The hot tub was was also absent with the 240 cable laying in the dirt as if the tub had been reprocessed. The landscape was dirt. Not winter kill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2014 by Kelly Rudy, Hotel Management
We are far from being in foreclosure. We have been very busy with a number of capital improvements on the property with many more to come. Not everything is noticeable yet but over the next six months you will see many, many improvements to the property. We are all very excited about the positive changes being made at El Monte Sagrado and we think you will be impressed on your next trip here. Come visit the GM when you are here again and she will be happy to show you what we are doing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from Seattle, WA

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff, and the awesome western-themed rooms are all awesome!
Location: Walking distance to Taos plaza, and located in a pretty neighborhood, this hotel is conducive to walking around and enjoying gorgeous NM weather.
We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days, and WOW are the hotel grounds gorgeous. The staff is incredible, and besides the scenery are definitely the hotel's best asset. The bartender gave me and my boyfriend a ton of information about hiking in the area, the waitress that we had for breakfast was one of the friendliest, most accommodating servers that I've ever experienced, and the check in and check out staff were also wonderful. We had an issue with some very noisy upstairs neighbors on our second night, and we ended up having to move rooms at about 11 PM, but the staff got us moved right away and also comped our parking for the trouble. This place is NOT cheap, but worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BIG LOU from South Texas

Excellent place to vacation

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Staff very friendly beautiful place to just relax and enjoy the nice scenery. Close to a lot of restaurants and plaza . Restaurant is off the chain
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from Keller, TX

Much nicer than we expected.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
The staff was very friendly. There was a little confusion with our reservation and David was extremely patient and more than accommodating with the resolution. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Laura in the restaurant was extremely nice and she made recommendation for our travels based on her knowledge of the area. She even checked with us at dinner on night two to see how we were enjoying the area and our trip. Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend the El Monte to anyone visiting the area. We will defiantly stay here if in the area again.