Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Location is perfect - right on the plaza but this does make it a little awkward for checking in and getting your luggage in although the hotel does have parking behind the hotel. No breakfast facilities other than tea and coffee from local coffee shop. History and location would mean I would definitely recommend it. Remember to have a look at the paintings by DH Lawrence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location is great. Ammenities very good as well. Excellent place to stay in Taos,,,,
Excellent place to stay in Taos. Location is right in the heart of town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but....

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Central location.
Cons: WiFi needs to be updated. It is free, which is good, but at the same time it is not very good.
Location: Really enjoyed the Taos Pueblo. We now understand the differences between Taos and Navajo. The Rio Grande a Gorge Bridge was also worth seeing.
Art: Taos was okay but cannot compete with Santa Fe. Hotel just seemed to lack conveniences. Step up to a bathroom is never a good idea. Bathroom lacks space to open up cosmetic bags. A/C & Heating controls not controlled by the individual rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Courtney from Wichita Falls, TX

Right on the Plaza!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Wonderful stay in a cozy hotel! Wonderful, helpful staff. Complimentary Starbucks coffee! Smaller rooms. Fantastic place to stay if you don't need a lot of room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the plaza.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
This is an older hotel so don't expect it to look like a new hotel. Over the years, rooms have become more spacious and there are more amenities. When you stay on the plaza in Taos, expect something that reflects the period and architecture of years gone by. It is a charming hotel with considerable history and a very attentive staff. The rooms and bathrooms are small by contemporary standards, but you don't go to Taos to sit in your hotel room all day. The restaurant is exceptional. Our meals were delicious and the wait staff is polished and attentive without hovering. If you think you need a modern hotel, this probably won't satisfy you, but if you want to be on the plaza, in the middle of Taos and within walking distance of shops and restaurants, you will enjoy this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Get-away

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it, great place to stay for a weekend get-away!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Very cute hotel, conveniently located in the plaza in Taos. A variety of shops and restaurants all within a few blocks. Delightful room; we had a King suite with a comfortable fold-out queen sofa bed and lovely king in a separate room. There was a mini fridge and nice bathroom with toiletries. Would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ben from Amarillo, TX

Overrated

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Much overrated and overpriced. Poor service. Very small rooms, cramped & crowded with very few electric outlets. Wifi and television not working properly and service desk phone calls were never answered. Irresponsible personnel working guest services. Location on the plaza was about the only good part of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Richmond, CA

A very good option in central Taos

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose Hotel La Fonda because it is right on the central plaza of Taos, and lots of restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Room was comfortable but very small. Bed was comfortable and warm. Did like the "pay for 3 nights and 4th is free" deal! Did like the WiFi internet in the room. Did like the "free coffee, tea, hot cocoa" deal with the café in the lobby. Did not like that they charge their guests to use their own parking lot. All in all, we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rocky

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com