Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amarillo, TX

Kachina/Taos

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: Correct advertising so that it is not misleading. Clean bathrooms better.
Location: The location is good. It is fairly close to the square.
A hot tub, restaurant, and lounge were advertised as available on the hotel premises. This was untrue. The lounge and restaurant are no longer open. The hot tub was covered and had no water in it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well it was quiet

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: small but decent hot breakfast
Cons: cleanliness add hot water and fix air conditioner
No hot water, air conditioner not working correctly. Staff not helpful,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

nice older hotel with charm

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: breakfast
we arrived late, hotel staff was wonderful, professional and knowledgeable, breakfast was wonderful for a complimentary breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet place to stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Quiet and close to shopping and dining
Cons: Some furniture and TV are dated
Location: Most things Taos has to offer are within easy walking distance
We have stayed in this motel a number of times over the past few years. This time we booked a room with king size bed and the room was very spacious compared to previous rooms we have had. Definitely worth a few dollars more. Breakfast choices are a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you really need to find a cheap room

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and the ice machine while located couple buildings away worked. Location is short walk from plaza.
Cons: See my experience comments
Location: 2 blocks from plaza
The room was quiet and they offer a small but hot breakfast with 4 or so choices. There was no hot water, not even reasonably warm water and I let it run in hopes of getting warm enough to shower. Air conditioner didn't cool the room the first night but was fixed the 2nd. Cleaning staff came late morning when I happened to be in the room but never came back. Front desk staff curt. Room is pretty scruffy but if you only sleep there....
1 out of 5
by Daytripper from NY, NY

Disgusting

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Expedia reserved the wrong room. The clerk told me all about it. The photos are online are not what the room was like. Very tacky. Dirty. Stained and smelly carpet. Matress wornnout. Linens appeared used. Did not even want to use the towels or shower. Slept in my clothes. The internet connection was good. Horrible, unless you cannot pay more than $60 to $80. Maybe then you may not have a choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Frisco, Co

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Central location to all activities.
It was very good and the breakfast was wonderful. My room was clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by CE from NM

Kachina Hotel - very rough avoid

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Very good location, and cool, though not used 60's very cool coffee shop - dinner, great Frederic Remington statue out front.
Cons: All of the items mentioned in the "experience" section and utilizing the Kiva coffee shop.
Location: Taos is fabulous. Millicent Rogers Museum is my favorite museum in Taos, NM, maybe the world. Though relatively small it is exquisitely designed.
The Kachina Hotel was sorely disappointing. Although it looks interesting in a kinda retro way on the outside I was hesitant to stay there because of its low rating. I wish I would have given more weight to the rankings and stayed somewhere else. Our room spelled like strong cleaning chemicals, the carpet was badly stained, if not just filthy hard to tell in the poorly light room with a light / fan combo that was annoying loud. The paltry toiletries were half used in the small baskets, the towels were frayed, the shower dispenser had the shampoo, conditioner, and body wash mislabeled, the outdated floor heated in the bathroom had had the inner workings been removed but the rusted out cover was still there. The bed was OK and the linens were good - probably the best quality item in the room. The hot-tub was difficult to access, locked room outside and required 3 trips to the front desk before being able to enter. The breakfast buffet was decent, though not to my taste no fruit, yogurt or healthy options, and serving coffee in styrofoam cups is yucky. I reported most of my concerns to the front desk worker and was thanked for bringing the concerns to her attention, but no apologies or offers to compensate were forthcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Short Walk to Downtown

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff - affordable rooms
Cons: Lodge is 50 years old and beginning to age - could benefit from having the funds to renovate the facility.
Kachina Lodge is in walking distance of Taos Art Museum, most galleries, shops, and the Plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gil from Denver

Kachina Lodge in Taos

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Strong wi-fi, Indian motif.
Cons: Coffee maker and refrigerator in room.
Location: Located fairly close to historical Taos area. Ale shop, bakery and post office within walking distance. Taos Pueblo is very near.
Very pretty place. Many rooms. Breakfast adequate but not ample. May be noisy, depending on your neighbours. Restaurant and cocktail lounge currently not operational; only the coffee shop. Would return there on another occasion.