Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

christimas eve stay

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Location: Visit Taos Pueblo, the Martinez Hacienda, Ranchos de Taos, and the ski basin.
The breakfast was substantial, with many choices. The room had a fireplace and more room than we imagined we would have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Rustic Southwestern Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The rustic charm
Cons: The room could have been cleaner (floors) We were disappointed that we couldn't get food in the lounge as we were told that it would be available.
Location: Close to all the shopping of Old Taos.
The hotel itself was very quaint and had some lovely old features. The room we had was very comfortable with two separate bedrooms and a cute kiva fireplace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Comfortable. Great staff. Dog friendly. Good food. Great atmosphere in restaurant and bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Average Rating

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Room size is adequate.
Cons: Management staff should be more accommodating.
Location: Close to everything in Taos.
Once we checked in the Hotel staff put a $170.00 hold on our credit card even though we had paid in full through Expedia. We asked the management staff to remove the hold and they refused. They said it would drop-off when we checked out. As of two days after checking out the hold has not been removed. We won't stay in this Hotel again. Specifically, for the reason mentioned above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roswell NM

LOTS of character and charm

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating staff. Nice rooms with VERY firm beds. The complimentary breakfast was excellent-much better than serve yourself stale pastries and faux scrambled eggs. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio Rancho

A lotta bang for the buck!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: It has charm and character-on site dining and incredible staff.
Location: Taos has lots to offer-culture, art, and lots of great outdoor activity.
Living only 3 hours from Taos. I do go there from time to time as a get away-and have tried many different lodgings. I loved it here-it may be old, but is has great bones and the staff was amazing-very courteous, friendly and caring. I liked that it was on the edge of town. I liked that it had two restaurants on the property. We ate dinner there and was impressed (my travel companion has traveled the world and was very pleased with the food). I had the grilled salmon and she had the rib eye. Dinner was delicious and our server, Sara was spot on with the service. I think one of the best assets this site has is its staff-all are well trained, pay attention to detail and excel in customer service. I also loved that breakfast was included and that it was made to order.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Peublo, Colorado

Vintage but Run Down

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Old Styling from the 30's.
Cons: Remodel.
Location: Usual.
Upon arrival, we were "upgraded to a Suite". Turns out the upgrade was a dump and not even in the original Hotel. Large but not up to our standards. Seems like the ownership hasn't put any money into the Hotel in years. Wasn't that clean either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by carolfrom hillsborough

ok

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
booked two queen beds, went to the room and found one-turns out the second was a murphy bed-NEVER INDICATED ANYWHERE AND WE WERE NOT TOLD AT CHECK-IN!!! the breakfast was the best part of the stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Mixed Bag

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Older building and grounds are beautiful and have a comfortable, aesthetically pleasing feel. Nice full breakfast in pleasing dining room.
Cons: Should clean room more thoroughly between guests. Replace bathroom fan motor. Replace electrical receptacles. Present ones are mostly worn out.
Location: Good location on south side of town, especially for day trips to the east and south.
Spent two nights in this hotel. Liked the ambiance and staff. Was not physically very comfortable. The room carpeting had not been vacuumed when I checked in. This was remedied right away. The surfaces had been wiped with slightly greasy rags, so that there was a filmy residue on the table and nightstand glass surfaces. I cleaned them myself. The bathroom fan was extremely noisy and could only be turned on and off with the bathroom light switch. Plenty of lamps for the room, but electrical receptacles were so worn that some of the plugs would barely stay plugged in.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Trip to Taos New Mexico.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: I really liked our waiter, He was very nice, considerate, just new what he was doing. I guess I like that in some one.
Cons: After you read about my experiences, maybe someone should make that decision.
Location: My Husband and Daughter took me for four hour drives after treatment, because I like the beauty of the Mountain's, Wildlife over in Angle Fire.
The Sagebrush Inn & Suites in Taos New Mexico, The place looks very pleasing and is... The place ran out of food and could not service us dinner. The young gentleman that waited on us was very nice. and did even give my daughter a free desert the second night we went back. we stayed in room 131. the house keepers would be yelling at each other as early as 8:00 am and would knock on the door at by 9 to want to do your room. I was there for medical reasons, my treatments started at 11 am so I always was out by 10:15 am. I was there 7 days and when I have to make my own beds and be sick too and pay for that. she collected towels and gave clean ones every day but I made the bed 3 times and one day she did not even come in. She did not clean the tub. as we had to remove the stopper so water could drain. and saw all the hair that was sitting in the drain. we left the stopper out the hole time we were there and not once did she remove that hair. (and it was not ours!!!). When I went to the front desk he just said your not the first to say that. HELLO!!!!. what is wrong with this picture again. I will be back every 6 months for another year and I will make other choices.