Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: History of hotel.
Cons: Needs major renovation!!
This used to be a very special place to stay; it is in such bad state of repair now it needs a major renovation. I have stayed at Motel 6 units at 1/3 the cost and was a better hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

La cueva

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Umm....where to start...everything!
Location: Off the beaten path and not walkable to downtown Taos.
We named our room la cueva, which means "cave" because that's what our room felt like - dark, musty, and in terrible need of a facelift. I'm sure this place was a high-end resort about 40 years ago, but now it's a musty-smelling, creepy little dump of a place. Hotel staff were very nice, though. I highly recommend for those looking for some nostalgia or Americana-kitsch. More power to you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Nice location for some motorcycle riding outside of Taos.
Nice older Facility . Hotel was well kept and room came with an actual free breakfast not just coffee and a doughnut. Everything was clean and worked fine. Beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our stay there . Nice outdoor courtyard to hang out with friends as well .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Quaint and disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Clean.
Cons: This legacy hotel needs renovation inside and out.
Location: Taos is a great place to visit with wonderful history and art.
We knew the Sagebrush Inn was an older hotel that has a following by many due to memories from many fond stays in years past, so we were prepared for it to be an older hotel in historicTaos. Unfortunately, even though we were pleased it was clean, it was terribly outdated. My colleage was given a room key where another guest was already registered and in the room, the "upgrade" was full of many sized beds, not truly a suite and felt awkward and uncomfortable. The TV, the only amenity, was a very old analog with a very fuzzy picture that prohibited any viewing pleasure. The fridge that was sitting on a table squeeked all night and I could hear the TV next door until 3 am. The furniture was very old worn out, truly from the 1950's. As we checked out everyone had a different complaint, phone didn't work, a chair broke when a child sat down in it. The staff seemed tired, likely from the constant complaints. This legacy hotel needs rennovation and TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morrison, Colorado

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: convenient, price, comfort and breakfast
Cons: carpets in the hallways should be replaced
Location: The location was convenient to the center of town.
My stay at the Sagebrush in was very pleasant. The suites were large and comfortable. The beds were comfortable as well. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was terrific.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granbury, TX

Too rustic.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel was a little more rustic than we anticipated based on the recommendation of Taos Country Club personnel. Breakfast was great and employee service were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Room not ready or clean even after check-in; TV remote missing batteries and although it appeared that staff was aware, I had to walk approx 500 yards to office to turn remote in, and back to room to await its delivery. Desk staff distracted and inattentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Old but beautiful

Posted Aug 9, 2014
My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Not exactly what we were expecting, but still charming and nice. Breakfast may come with the room, but it's not much food. The hotel itself is gorgeous and has wonderful views of the mountains, but it is very old and needs some room updates and repair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful scenery

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The food at the hotel is great. Breakfast is a real breakfast and tastes delicious. The bed in our room needed to be replaced. You could not sleep on one side or you would fall off. If we had been staying more than two nights I would have requested another room. Overall this is a beautiful place with a pool, hot tub, and good food.A
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shawnee, KS

Nice quaint / rustic getaway

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere was great
Location: Southern Taos - away from traffic, but close enough to drive to shops and dining.
Other than poor service at breakfast our second day, we really enjoyed this hotel!