Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Beautiful photos online but facility needs repairs

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: It was very quiet at night and the beds were comfortable. The grounds were very pretty. I love the tree in the front yard.
Cons: A chair was broken and the room needed some updating and cleaning
Location: Taos is small and most everything is close by. This is not close enough to walk to most restaurants but is only a 3 minute drive away.
The staff was nice and accommodating upon arrival. We arrived late and they were there to greet us. My son and I were in Taos to visit family so we were only in the room to sleep. If you don't require the latest and greatest then you might find this motel adequate. I had no problem with it as it seemed clean enough and did not smell of cigarettes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Was close to the center of town. Allowed us to enjoy the downtown area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienient but...

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Nice staff. Grounds looked clean and tidy. Drawers in room not clean. Bathroom tub area could use some repair. No soap. Only two flat pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

Quiet, nice bed, pleasant

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Very quiet!
Cons: new towels
Location: convenient, on the main drag, lots of restaurants and grocery stores nearby
Doing business in Taos, booked from Expedia, based on photographs, pretty accurate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque, NM

Comfortable and accessible to most of Taos

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Quiet and clean
Cons: Elevator to access upstairs rooms. Pave the parking lot; too many potholes
Location: Taos is quaint, beautiful surrounding area, Gorge Bridge.
We stayed here while visiting the Taos Wool Festival. The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant, the beds comfortable, and hotel quiet. Lots of hot water. We had a kitchenette which was great to keep our drinks cold. I had to borrow a hair dryer as the room didn't have one, but the woman manning the reception desk brought it to me herself right away. If you need a ground room, you might want to call ahead as there's no elevator for handicapped people. We were fortunate to get a ground floor (2 handicapped people), but friends of ours who went with us weren't as lucky and they had stairs to climb to their room. They both have difficulty with stairs but managed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sun God Lodge is NOT a lodge

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Wifi and front desk staff.
Cons: The whole place is deteriorating, especially the paved areas. The name needs to be changed from "Lodge" to "Motel" in order to be truthful.
Location: The location is a short drive from the main part of Taos.
Sun God Lodge is NOT a lodge, but a shabby old motel with room doors opening to the exterior. The bed was poor and the bedding was worse. All the paving is in very bad shape and needs to be redone, both the driveways and sidewalks. The room interior was okay; you can tell it was once rather charming. Wifi worked well in my room. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner was extremely loud and could not be adjusted at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

tired old motel with permanent residents

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: nothing nice
Cons: tear down
Location: on the outskits of town- across from Walmart but not walking distance to food
paper thin walls,dingy but probably once a charming place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Michellefrom Kansas

Hoping it gets better

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners were friendly and I would love to see this place thrive. It needs some attention, from the parking lot, to the shower curtain liners and hooks to even dusting the window frames....to call it a kitchenette based on the fact that it has a microwave and a minifridge is somewhat stretching it although there were a few dishes to use and a very small stained sink. It is a shame because for the same price in Albuquerque we were in the Homestead Suites with an indoor pool and a kitchen with cooktop and full size fridge. Just sayin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ben

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com