Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Was close to the center of town. Allowed us to enjoy the downtown area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienient but...

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Nice staff. Grounds looked clean and tidy. Drawers in room not clean. Bathroom tub area could use some repair. No soap. Only two flat pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Quiet, nice bed, pleasant

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Very quiet!
Cons: new towels
Location: convenient, on the main drag, lots of restaurants and grocery stores nearby
Doing business in Taos, booked from Expedia, based on photographs, pretty accurate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Comfortable and accessible to most of Taos

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Quiet and clean
Cons: Elevator to access upstairs rooms. Pave the parking lot; too many potholes
Location: Taos is quaint, beautiful surrounding area, Gorge Bridge.
We stayed here while visiting the Taos Wool Festival. The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant, the beds comfortable, and hotel quiet. Lots of hot water. We had a kitchenette which was great to keep our drinks cold. I had to borrow a hair dryer as the room didn't have one, but the woman manning the reception desk brought it to me herself right away. If you need a ground room, you might want to call ahead as there's no elevator for handicapped people. We were fortunate to get a ground floor (2 handicapped people), but friends of ours who went with us weren't as lucky and they had stairs to climb to their room. They both have difficulty with stairs but managed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sun God Lodge is NOT a lodge

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Wifi and front desk staff.
Cons: The whole place is deteriorating, especially the paved areas. The name needs to be changed from "Lodge" to "Motel" in order to be truthful.
Location: The location is a short drive from the main part of Taos.
Sun God Lodge is NOT a lodge, but a shabby old motel with room doors opening to the exterior. The bed was poor and the bedding was worse. All the paving is in very bad shape and needs to be redone, both the driveways and sidewalks. The room interior was okay; you can tell it was once rather charming. Wifi worked well in my room. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner was extremely loud and could not be adjusted at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

tired old motel with permanent residents

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: nothing nice
Cons: tear down
Location: on the outskits of town- across from Walmart but not walking distance to food
paper thin walls,dingy but probably once a charming place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Quaint hotel in a very busy place

Posted Sep 10, 2014
This quiet and beautiful lodge was relaxing the moment you get there. The staff is wonderful and the grounds are beautiful! Our favorite place was the courtyard at one of the many covered tables. As stated before this is a motorcycle friendly place. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three day stay at the Sun God

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It is quiet and a good nights sleep is possible.
Cons: The drive ways need the pot holes repaired.
Location: The location is south of the historic district and Taos offers a variety attractions.
This is an older adobe motel and is really quiet. There is no plumbing noise. We have stayed here before and will stay again. The rooms are attractive but the motel does not offer breakfast. There is a restaurant within walking distance which offers good breakfasts and historic Taos is a short drive away and offers a variety of restaurants, shops and art galleries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Just like the picture

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Nice grassy yard with tables and chairs.
Cons: At least let people know there is no air conditioner.
Location: Motel easy to get to and quiet. Short drive to Plaza in middle of town.
Motel is exactly like picture. Reminds me of Route 66 in the 60's. Their place clean, neat and a wonderful grassy yard to watch the sunset. But---- There was not an air conditioner, none to be found. The online description does not tell us this. I called the desk and they said keep the window open as it gets cooler at night. We did this but with only one window there was no cross ventilation. The window is next to door so no security. I am sure winter would be better since i saw a small heater.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Summer 2014

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great staff! They were waiting on us, as we arrived late! Great Room! Great Price!!