Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa fe, nm

Posted Jul 6, 2014
It was nice, we made a spontaneous trip to Taos, NM. We planned on staying one night decided on two. Facilities were clean, TV remote didn't work, but we made it work. Parking lot was kinda dirty but convenient. Breakfast was good, nothing fancy but good. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock Texas

Fair price in Taos

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Clean, the staff is very friendly
Cons: better beds & some updating
It is a clean hotel with free breakfast and you cant beat the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Needs improvement

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The waffles at breakfast are very good. The hotel is in a convenient location and was relatively quiet.
Cons: Room amenities.
This is the second time in six months we have stayed in the Whitten Inn. The internet connection did not work in our room (only in the lobby) during our first stay, but we thought it was otherwise OK for the price. This time, we asked for a room nearer to the lobby and our internet connection did work. Unfortunately, there were other problems this time. We had two queen beds, with four pillows on each bed, and nearly all were unusable due to their extreme lumpiness. The other problem involved the soap. They do not provide any bar soap, only liquid soap dispensers at the sink and in the shower. This soap serves as hand and body soap, as well as shampoo. The soap in our shower ran out on our second day, so we had none for baths or hair washing until the maid replaced it later that day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jean from Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Not fancy but reliable and clean. This is an relatively inexpensive place to stay in Taos. It is close to the plaza.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal

Posted Jun 9, 2014
I stayed here for a weekend away, and it's a good value for the money. The heated pool and hot tub, and the room was clean and well decorated. They're way understaffed, so there were a few glitches. My lights were all unplugged when I arrived, but the maintenance staff arrived promptly and fixed it for me. Someone tried to get into my room the second night I was there, because the front desk staff person had forgotten that she'd moved me to a different room. (The first room, the door wouldn't open, even with the card key and a green blinking light.) It's not the Ritz, but for the money, it's a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and Comfortable!

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Hot Tub
Cons: deadbolts were missing on some of the doors.
Location: Shopping, dining, site seeing, white water rafting, balloon rides
LOVED the hot tub! Staff was nice. Facility was clean. Easily located.
4 out of 5
by anonymous

It was ok

Posted May 19, 2014
well first off when I called in prior to cancel my reservation the front desk clerks didn't know the cancellation policy so we'll end up staying there anyway. The hotel was older, but it was nice inside the room isactually the best part of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

It met our needs

Posted Mar 17, 2014
It was an average inn with great staff. The amenities (fridge, microwave, and indoor pool) was a great help to us. Also, being pet friendly was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allen from Dallas

Great value for what you pay!!!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Nice pool and jacuzzi, and a shuttle to the ski slopes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Taos is steep from Lubbock, TX

Convenient location for shopping and skiing

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Accessibility of ski shuttle
Cons: Management could be more responsive to customers
Location: Shopping, Art galleries, Southwest dining, Museums, skiing, hiking, fishing, river rafting, and bicycling
Ski shuttle picks up at the front door. Good value for price paid. Overnight management was unresponsive to complaints about a dog in the next room barking from 10:00 PM until 2:00 AM