Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

It met our needs

Posted Mar 17, 2014
It was an average inn with great staff. The amenities (fridge, microwave, and indoor pool) was a great help to us. Also, being pet friendly was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allen from Dallas

Great value for what you pay!!!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Nice pool and jacuzzi, and a shuttle to the ski slopes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Taos is steep from Lubbock, TX

Convenient location for shopping and skiing

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Accessibility of ski shuttle
Cons: Management could be more responsive to customers
Location: Shopping, Art galleries, Southwest dining, Museums, skiing, hiking, fishing, river rafting, and bicycling
Ski shuttle picks up at the front door. Good value for price paid. Overnight management was unresponsive to complaints about a dog in the next room barking from 10:00 PM until 2:00 AM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel for the price.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was a basic continental breakfast (cereal, bread, waffles, oj) My one complaint would be the lackluster coffee, but I am a bit of a coffee snob. There is plenty of good coffee to be found in Taos. The room was clean. Our favorite aspect of the motel was the spa pool. It was nice and hot and great to relax in after a long day of skiing.
3 out of 5
by Tammi from Cedar Crest, NM

Decent Rooms, Friendly Staff, Smoky Room

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly. The location is good.
Cons: The ventilation system or whatever is allowing smoke to enter non-smoking rooms desperately needs to be fixed.
Location: Taos Ski Resort, as well as Sipapu and Angel Fire are within a 45 minute drive or less. Taos has lots of shops and galleries.
During our recent stay at the Whitten Inn, I appreciated the friendly staff. The room was decent and seemed to be clean, with the exception of the horrible smoky smell. At first, I thought someone who stayed in the room previously must have smoked in the room. So, we got an air freshener from the front desk. However, as we slept that night, it smelled as if someone was sitting in the room smoking all night long. It was a very strong smoky smell. I believe smoke was entering the room from the vent in the bathroom. They desperately need to fix their ventilation system! We enjoyed the hot tub. The kids liked the indoor pool, but it was too cold for me to get in. The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast of waffles, cereal, pastries, and such. I would most likely stay there again, if they could fix the ventilation system or whatever is allowing smoke to enter non-smoking rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best but it did the job

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Breakfast was decent room was pretty outdated. There was a highway crew that had a large portion of the hotel wing booked and they were very noisy. Not the best experience but not the worst ever. Bed was pretty uncomfortable as well.
3 out of 5
by Becky from Albuquerque, NM

HOTEL IN TAOS

Posted Feb 17, 2014
We picked this hotel because it had an indoor pool and hot tub. We got to Taos early so that the children could use the indoor pool. When we tried to use the pool and hot tub at 6 in the evening, the pool was too cold being only 70 degrees. The hot tub had just been cleaned and had chemicals added so it wouldn't be ready until 8 pm. Since we were planning to ski the next morning we didn't want to wait until after 8 to use pool and hot tub. We were very disappointed that the only reason we picked that hotel was not usable during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LA from Oklahoma

No internet service in room

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Nicely decorated room. Comfortable. Waffles at breakfast.
Cons: Internet service in rooms.
Location: It is located on the main highway/road through Taos, with several restaurants close by.
The room was nicely decorated and we were happy with the room, but we never had any internet service except in the lobby. The hotel staff said they would inform the manager, but nothing was ever done to fix the problem during the 3 days/nights we were at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed the hotel and had no issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by J from TX

Great hotel.

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really liked the Whitten inn. Everything was great except for the beds. They were pretty uncomfortable. The indoor heated pool and hot tub were awesome! only about 35 minuets from Angel Fire.