Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Nice,friendly hotel in New Plymouth .

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Including all that I have already mentioned the outdoor swimming pool was a pleasant extra.
Cons: Indicating the need for your own transport could be highlighted in advertising the hotel .
Location: The coastal walk is very beautiful as is the park and views of the mountain. The museum is very worthwhile visiting also the harbour area.
The Devon hotel was ideal for our short stay in New Plymouth , the only disappointment was its distance from any shops ,cafés etc .necessitating the use of taxis on numerous occasions ,a car would have been essential ,we will be more careful about the location of further bookings . For residents with transport the hotel would be great . Our room although small was clean and bright, the bed fresh and comfortable , the shower very efficient ,towels plentiful . We chose the buffet breakfast , lots of variety on offer and great value . The buffet dinner at €40 ,€30 for seniors was exceptional value , starters included oysters ,prawns and huge mussels . The main courses covered a multitude of meats ,Chinese and Indian food, salads, cheeses ,tea and coffee. The staff at all levels were friendly and helpful at all times . The restaurant was busy both with residents and non residents,family birthdays etc. indicating that it was a popular venue with the local population.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom glasgow

Modern hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Nice modern hotel with bright colours and comfy rooms. Restaurant does a good value buffet with lots of choice but strange Roman style cartoons on the wall that don't really fit with the rest of the decor. Overall we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aust

Very relaxed hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: It was a very relaxed hotel very clean with a very friendly and helpful staff i don't think you can go wrong staying there
Location: It is close to most things and in a ideal location
A quick over night stop over i was really surprised on entering the reception how tidy and fresh the hotel looked Enjoyed one of the best bistro i have had in along time well worth trying i could see myself staying there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington NZ

Comfortable modern hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: It has a good feel to it. All required facilities, including free access to small laundry (2 washers, 2 driers). Good air conditioner.
Cons: Every power point has a pointless annoying light. Bedspread could've been cleaner.
Location: Nothing nearby really, drive to anywhere.
It's a comfortable modern hotel, a place to stay while in New Plymouth. Good facilities, though the small pool was crowded with children running, jumping, diving etc while we were there. Comfortable beds. Garden rooms away from road are better than external road view rooms, but light and noise is well controlled. The internal bathroom follows the current hotel trend for having a window with shutters on the outside. Who needs a window into a compact bathroom? Pointless.
5 out of 5
by Chrisco Oelofsefrom New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Room serviceand restaurant
Cons: No bath
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Good; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Lovely; you get free entry to the indoor aquatic centre
4 out of 5
by Natalie Milne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Devon

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, good shower.
Hotel room was comfortable however bathroom sink has significant shaving stubble and soap scum which meant it wasnt cleaned, bath had short and curlys in it, under sink and behind toilet hadnt seen a clothe at all. You could hear every door open from the corridor because the room doors do not seal correctly. Service was fine and they fixed the problems immediately. pleasant enough stay though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by Aisha Huriwaifrom New Zealand - Northland

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Locatio
Cons: Value for money
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Unpretentious; Value: Over-priced; Cleanliness: Lovely;
5 out of 5
by Mary-Ellen MacGregor-Dunnfrom New Zealand - Manawatu

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Good; Cleanliness: Spick and span;