Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel mit viel Flair

Posted Oct 7, 2014 
Sehr individuelles Hotel. David, der Besitzer ist sehr bemüht um seine Gäste. Sorgt für eine gute Atmosphäre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Trudiefrom Canada

Posted May 13, 2014 
Outstanding!!!!!!! We had a fantastic time at Chateau d'Alteville!!! David is an amazing host, his service is beyond any expectations! We are looking forward to visit the chateau again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ginafrom Milton Keynes

Truly Unique

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The stepping back in time feeling, the host David, the way dinner was served
Cons: They know how to do things here
Location: Our stay of 1 night left us with no time to explore
This stay was more akin to being guests in a country house. David the owner greeted and treated us a friends, oh the art of making your guests feel special. He was a genuine delight and sat at the dinner table with the total of 6 guests after cooking the 5 course dinner, delicious by the way and I would recommend the dinner option rather than other places on offer in the nearby town. We loved the Chateau but if shiny, glossy marble and chrome are your bag you will be challenged by the 17th C antiques, foxed mirrors and worn books in the library. The house guests all mixed well in conversation, the other 2 couples having stayed on previous occasions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by France fanfrom Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire RG9, UK

Delightful haven in peaceful Lorraine, France

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: The beautiful historic chateau, the outstanding location and genuine welcome after a very long drive from Calais,
Cons: Low water pressure, understandably due to hot, dry summer
Location: Totally peaceful rolling countryside in a farming community, lovely lake, completely "untouristy" genuine France, close to Alsace wine growing areas
Exceptionally warm welcome in a lovely chateau. Beautiful lake and gardens. Excellent dinner with outstanding wine enjoyed with other guests from various parts of Europe. Lorraine is an interesting part of France and good stop off for venturing further east into Europe. This is also a working farm which adds to its charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tony Dfrom St Andrews

Lovely folks

Posted Aug 2, 2013 
David and family make a real effort to welcome you. Their place is fabulous with a real sense of history and a particular ambience, but might not be for those whose idea of heaven is a chain hotel brand. Dinner was great with David gathering all the guests in the drawing room for aperitif before enjoying a genuine local food experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lepoivrefrom Sarthe

Posted Jul 25, 2013 
Excellente impression. Accueil très chaleureux. Atmosphère conviviale et familiale. Sommes prêts à y retourner. Nous le conseillerons certainement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peguetfrom Mulhouse

Cadre à faire rêver

Posted Jul 23, 2013 
Si vous êtes partants pour un séjour nature proche des forêts, des prés et des étangs, si vous voulez l'atmosphère vieillotte et le calme d'un vrai château cette destination est pour vous. Chambres meublées à l'ancienne, petit déjeuner sur la grande table d'une vaste salle à manger, apéritif sur la terrasse du parc ou parcours historique entre les portraits des ancêtres et le généalogie du maitre des lieux, tout sent l’authentique. Votre hôte saura vous conseiller, vous guider et se montrera intarissable si votre curiosité le demande.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Croydon, Surrey

Chateau D'Alteville

Posted Sep 17, 2011 
It was everything that the reviews had led me to expect - a house of character in a very quiet rural location, with charming period rooms, and a welcoming host who was happy to share his local knowledge; he lent us a walking map so that we could enjoy a day's leisure in the surrounding countryside. The evening meal was very convivial and the whole experience of the stay was very relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2011