Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Central Florida

Bare-bones lodging

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: The check-in process, especially on the weekend. A little DIY might add more charm to the rooms. The colorful bedspread and pillows were not enough.
Location: The location is excellent for restaurants, the park, Key Largo venues, shopping, and church.
The check-in process needs work. The voice on the phone said to call back in 30 minutes, that the room was not ready. In 30 minutes, my call resulted in 40 minutes of advertising. Finally, my husband found a staff member visiting with a friend in the parking lot; she let us in. If we had known that there would be no ice, no telephone, no replacement towels and a tiny bathroom, we would have known what to expect. Our king-size bed took up most of the room. In our room, "historic" did not equal charm. The good points were the decent shower, the fairly comfortable bed, and the coffe shop next door. I guess long-term guests learn to use the laundry and the kitchen facilities on the first floor. Advice: please make clear that the Tavernier Inn provides a bare-bones lodging experience. Bring your own ice and towels!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Got there and it took forever for someone to answer the phone, which is the way you check in at this place. When we got up to the room it was like a sauna, because the porable A/C unit was venting HOT air in the room. Went out for the evening and when we got back there wasn't any parking to be found. Could not stay the night. It was a very bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Tried and tested.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Room was small but tidy.
Cons: Nothing. It's worth the money.
Location: The cafe right next door is an excellent spot for coffee. The Cuban cafe next to that is an excellent place for Cuban fare. There's a park nearby.
Was there for 2.5 days. It' a simple place, don't expect anything extravagant. It is plain and vanilla and meets my needs. I've been there before and so didn't expect much more. The cafe right next door is an excellent spot for coffee. The Cuban cafe next to that is an excellent place for Cuban fare. There's a park that overlooks the sea within walking distance and a small plaza with a McDonald's, Winn-Dixie, a pub, and a movie theater within a 5 minute drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lantana florida

Economical stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014
A no frills place to stay. Excellent price. Nothing fancy but clean. Great pictures of the keys in earlier times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traverier

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Good value, bed just a mite hard. Good quality. Limited space for the owners to work with but quite comfy. I would recommend this hotel to friends and possibly return myself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad place to stay

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It was in the Keys
Cons: Tear it down and build a new one
There was no water most of the time No staff. no front desk no services of any kind
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was ok, A/C was really good. Bathroom door was broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Miguelfrom Key Biscayne, FL

Good place to stay inexpensive

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall i give it a solid 4...cant beat the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Espiet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale, FL.

nice if you want to save money

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: It's adequate for a quick over night stay... don't know about any accommodations for kids.
Cons: It is a cheap place to crash and forget the Marriott type of environment-that is across the highway @ $285 / night
Location: Not much but the Keys. Fishing, birding, swimming and snorkeling @ the State Park etc. and a shorter drive to Key West.
My wife and I have travel extensively in Europe and the USA and save money on our room accommodations so that we can continue to travel.. we spend money on food, not on rooms. This establishment is not for the timid at heart but perhaps with this review others might be encouraged to use the hotel. We were headed for the very swank-Ocean Reef Resort the next 3 nights- $450 rooms so we participated in both sides of the Keys room costs while trying to avoid the 2-3 hour drive from home thru the morning traffic in southern Dade county. Check-in is by phone and lockbox for key retrieval so one does not meet the staff. The room was up stairs and presentable but not the Hampton Inn or Motel Six. There was evidence that the room had just been painted, molding replaced, new toilet, new flat screen TV and the towels were of high quality... surprise! The AC was on when I opened the door and was very good.. something that can only be appreciated in the Keys. We never heard anyone in the upstairs hallway-perhaps 10 rooms and downstairs there was a separate room with a fridge and washing/dryer machines- obviously for longer term says as in construction workers. The upside other than cost is that there is a delightful small restaurant next door that serves B-L-D all homemade and wonderful coffee. 7-9 everyday.