Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Patrick from Tbilisi

NOT what it seems

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is more like a hostel than a real hotel. Completely unimpressed. It was so bad, I left and went somewhere else. Steer clear!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful ,we found the Georgian people overall very helpful and friendly . There are lots to see and plenty of restaurants with English speaking staff and the taxi's are cheap
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would not choose again

Posted Aug 5, 2008 on Hotels.com
poor furnishing, air con working slowly in rooms only, breakfast room hot like sauna, bad coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sleepless from Paris

A bit out of the way...

Posted Dec 12, 2007
There are hotels in Tbilisi a lot closer to the action, but the VIP Victoria is in a quiet neighbourhood, within easy reach of the main attractions by taxi (make sure to carry the hotel's business card with you as many cabbies have no understanding of English at all and won't recognize the hotel name). My room was very spacious, there's a comfortable lounge on every floor, and there were a few good restaurant options within close walking distance. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. One guy spoke no English, but his female colleagues were eager to help me make reservations, find attractions, and get work done. They served me "breakfast" well past the posted times, and even scrounged together a serviceable dinner buffet for me when I was too busy to leave the hotel. For the price, in a city that still has only a rickety service industry at best, this was a very satisfactory hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

VIP Victoria, Tbilisi, Certainly Worth a Look

Posted Nov 3, 2007
Had a great time in this hotel, I had no problems what so ever and the staff where very helpful and accommodating. I have stayed at the VIP Victoria on two separate occasions and I have had a pleasant stay both times. Also a meal in the hotel is well worth it, as you will get good quality authentic Georgian food for not much money. Whilst in Tbilisi travel by taxi as it is pretty cheap, order a taxi through the hotel whenever possible, as you will get a decent air conditioned car and not a beat up old Lada. Air conditioning is a must in the summer as it can get very stifling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Stirling

Tblisi Hotel Victoria

Posted Oct 29, 2007
While we booked the VIP Victoria and organized an airport to hotel transfer with the hotel, we were dropped off at the Victoria, which appears to be a sister hotel. It was good and have no complaints about the venue change as the Victoria is closer to the city centre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yerevan, Armenia

Disaster

Posted Jul 14, 2007
We booked and paid for two rooms with this hotel in July 2007 and arrived to be told that they were fully booked. Some guests had decided to stay on and so they were unable to honor our booking. The hotel manager escorted us to two other hotels - both further away from the center of the city. The first was awful - in the middle of a high rise residential estate, sheets not fitting, no one else staying there. The second, the Atlanta Hotel was much more comfortable but more like a house used for accommodation overflow. Make sure you confirm the booking with the hotel once the booking is made by expedia. You may find, like us, that they will use the VIP's good ratings on tripadvisor to trap people into booking then put them elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yerevan, Armenia

Cheated

Posted Jul 9, 2007
We reserved and paid for two rooms at this hotel for one night. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that the hotel was fully booked and that they were unable to honor the booking. We were taken a mile or so further out of town into a high-rise residential neighborhood to another hotel. It was horrible and we refused to stay there. We sat around the hotel for 15 minutes while phone calls were made to find alternative accommodation. We were then taken to the Hotel Atlanta, still further outside the town but at least in a better neighborhood. The rooms were comfortable and were to a reasonable standard, although not to the same standard that I had expected. I was told that this was the only option available. I accepted reluctantly but asked for compensation since we were not provided with the accommodation booked and paid for. I was given a misely $20 for the inconvenience. I originally chose the Hotel VIP Victoria because of its rating on Trip Advisor. It appears to be now that the hotel owners have one or two other accommodation establishments that they farm their tourists out to if they get booked up. In other words, it appears that they use their good rating to get people to book and then send them off to other hotels. They claimed that this was the first time such a problem had arisen although I doubt this very much. The hotel owners seemed to have no idea that it is inappropriate to not provide what was booked and paid for.