Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Tired!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
The staff were tired and unfriendly to the point of rudeness. The room decor was tired and in need of repair. For £50 less we could have stayed at the premier Inn and had more facilities. Very disappointed. Won't be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Tired hotel, not worth the money

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Hotel needs some tlc, tape holding the carpet together, chips in the woodwork Etc. Just not worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Customer service, Bed comfort; wifi terrible

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: leisure facilities
Cons: customer service wifi in end rooms of corridors iron board and iron in all rooms firmer mattresses required
Location: middlesborough centre - lots of good eateries
Beds are very soft; so slept on the floor. Hotel looks very tired. Courteousness of staff is well below par, needs substantial improvement; no questions on how the stay was; no atttitude on even trying to convince us that the customer is always right; this is a repeated event everytime. The only reason I stay at this hotel is because of the leisure facilities which speak their own language and are brialliant. The room I was staying in was at the end of the long corridor; and the wifi access kept fluctuating. Also every few hours, I have to log back in again to accept the conditions; surely a log in should be valid for at least 24 hours. All in all, spent over £80 for sub-standard facilities outside leisure and indeed a very tired looking hotel! If you can close your eyes and ears and just enjoy the leisure facilities; its acceptable.
1 out of 5
by eternaloptimist from Sydney, NSW, Australia.

Small dilapidated rooms with terrible beds

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tents in the garden would be more comfortable than the rooms.
The title says it all. For what this place charged you would expect a reasonable level of comfort. The rooms are really tired, the bathrooms very small ( and just functional) but the beds took the biscuit. The mattresses were so old and worn out it would have been impossible to roll out of the bed once you were in it...you would just roll back into the valley in the middle. Some of the worst nights sleep I have had in a long time, I seriously thought about sleeping on the floor. I got the impression that the staff were tired of receiving and having to deal with complaints about the beds and the rooms. We were given a change of room which was slightly better, but it couldn't really fix the fundamental problems with the property. It is everything the stereotypes suggest about British hotels, without the quaintness and character that might make you forgive some of the faults. A bit like Fawlty Towers without Basil Fawlty to make it funny....NO STARS...spend your money on a tent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Lincolnshire, UK

A title

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Breakfast was excellent. I slept - whixh I rarely do in a hotel
3 out of 5
by JaneK from Salisbury

Sporting Lodge - Middlesbrough

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Cons: Worn carpets and smelly bathroom
Location: Isolated/out of town
Tired carpets, smelly bathrooms During my stay one couple complained and were upgraded to a newly carpeted suite Location is isolated, but convenient for local business meeting in Middlesbrough Probably not so good as a holiday location Fully equipped gym and swimming pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facilities at a reasonable price

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: Excellent facilities (swim and gym) and great friendly staff.
Cons: Long waits to get served in the restaurant
Location: Middle of nowhere
Overall my stay at this hotel was a good experience. Staff were excellent, breakfast was excellent and the facilities (wi-fi, gym, pool and sauna) were all very good. On the negative side the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and the service in the restaurant was awful! Long waits for both a table in the first place and then over an hours wait for the food to arrive once ordered. It does have to be said that the food was good when it did arrive however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good night away, if you're in the area.

Posted Nov 12, 2012
Easy to find, clean room, good food and no disturbance from the wedding party at all. Pool lovely.
1 out of 5
by AJ from Scotland

Worse than a hostel

Posted Aug 5, 2011
This hotel was more like a hostel, worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time! Room was small, old fashioned, dirty and had no air con. The gym was good quality, lots of locals seemed to use the facility. Food in restaurant was extreamly poor. Lots of pre prepared meals just heated up. The only positive thing about my stay was the staff were extreamly friendly and professional in the restaurant. Would only recommend this hotel if you have a tight budget to stick to! Not a nice experience!!!!!