Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Box canyon is a very nice hotel had a great time the hot tub's are awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Crested Butte, CO

Nice Place, friendly staf

Posted Oct 25, 2014
This is the second time we have stayed at the Box Canyon Lodge and both times the experience was very good. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hot springs is a great way to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tree

Amazing stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
We had a great experience at the box canyon. Will stay there again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
pleasantly surprised, it was the only hotel in town that every night it was full. very clean, plus a good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful getaway

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Close to the waterfalls, hikes and town. We had a wonderful stay. But the room was pretty slanted, the wooden hot tubs were a little slimy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Capitola, CA

One night stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Hot spring tubs
Cons: Not much
Location: Two blocks to main street and close to box canyon creek
We love Ouray and our one night stay at the Box Canyon Lodge and hot springs way fun and relaxing. We checked in at 3pm and beat the crowds who came in later. Since most guests were not around we went straight to the hot tubs and had them all to ourselves - relaxing and a special treat. I recommend this lodge because of the hot tubs if for no other reason. The room seemed a little small but had all of the things we needed, bed and bath the two most important. You are close to the bridge over the box canyon creek so take the trail around the village to see all of the sights, including downtown main street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good location, friendly staff.clean room

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: needs some updating
Location: Ouray is a lovely town. We visited Box Canyon Springs. Nice shops and places to eat
A nice friendly hotel, ideally situated in Ouray. A small breakfast was provided although the muffin was extremely dry. I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Walk to Ouray center

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location, hot springs, easily available laundry room.
Cons: Breakfast offerings?
Location: Ouray is a fun high altitude historical mining town.
Very comfortable motel with laundry room and free hot springs soaking tubs. Beds were firm and very comfortable, and everything was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Overpriced for what is provided--not a good value.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness,, views, location, quiet.
Cons: More reasonable pricing, better value.
Location: Hiking, mountain climbing, ice climbing (Winter), sitting in the hot springs wondering how they can charge so much for a room and keep a straight face
Spent one night here in the middle of June. The office staff were pleasant and friendly, providing a quick and efficient check-in. The room was clean, quiet, and well-presented. The facilities and grounds were well-maintained. Overall this is a very nice property. My complaint is that it is severely overpriced. I paid $185 for one night in a room that was more on the level of a nice motel. Booking this room ahead of time was a mistake, and I fell victim to some slick photography and marketing material when I signed up to stay here. The room in which I stayed was worth, to me, only about $90 a night. I feel ripped-off and that I was scammed. The breakfast that is described is nothing like the breakfast presented. The reality is that there a a number of convenience store-looking muffins, some coffee, and some canned juice for breakfast. Not really what was described in the write-up on the website. I would stay here again if the price of a room were more in line with life on Earth and not perched somewhere in the stratosphere. I really got the feeling that the ownership was gouging the customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Great Ouray location

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Furniture and room needs updating
Great location near Box Canyon Falls. Hot tubs on site were wonderful.