Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from Albuquerque

Neglected property

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very unhappy with this property. It was very dirty. Cobwebs and dust were everywhere, many of the dishes in the cupboards were dirty, towels smelled bad, and linens were dirty. One bed still had spare change and gum in it from the previous occupants. We spent our entire first evening cleaning the unit. Many things also did not work, like the coffeepot, upstairs TV and all TV remotes had dead batteries. There is no front office and our four phone messages to the management went unanswered. A nice family in the unit next to us locked their keys inside the unit and tried for three hours to get in touch with somebody at management with no luck (they finally got fed up and went in through a window) They also commented on how dirty their unit was. My family stays in Ouray at least once a year and this was the worst place we have been to. Do yourself a favor and stay someplace else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JP

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Hotel staff needs to be more accessible but otherwise an amazing cabin experience!
2 out of 5
by belize from sedona az

Needs attention

Posted Oct 31, 2013
While we love the town of Ouray and the locals there we were a little disappointed in the over all condition of our cabin. From the get go you can see it needed attention. There was only one wash cloth to be shared between the two bathrooms . It is a nice location . Just really needs more attention paid to removing stains.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we did not receive any communication from this guest or we have gladly provided anything they felt they needed. We do send every guest a detailed list of what we provide in the property before they arrive so they can be prepared for their stay. All of the properties are thoroughly cleaned & inspected due to guest arrival & we have not come across any stains. We strive to provide our guest with clean economical accommodations & if this guest thought they received any less than that we apologize.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we did not receive any communication from this guest or we have gladly provided anything they felt they needed. We do send every guest a detailed list of what we provide in the property before they arrive so they can be prepared for their stay. All of the properties are thoroughly cleaned & inspected due to guest arrival & we have not come across any stains. We strive to provide our guest with clean economical accommodations & if this guest thought they received any less than that we apologize.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ash

Great cabin so cozy!!!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Simply wonderful! Perfect location in town. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very Nice But Could be Better

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location and construction of the cabin is beautiful. The style of management is very strict and hands-off. There were plenty of cobwebs inside and the heating stove was not working. I had to fix the stove (light the pilot) myself in order to get enough heat in the cabin that night. Overall it wasn't too bad and I really loved the location. Just don't expect a lot of help or flexibility from the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Our maintenance team did receive a call about the decorative gas stove at 9pm & scheduled a maintenance call for the next morning. Due to safety issues the guest was asked to not dismantle the stove to light it & to let the professional light the stove the next morning since there is another heat source in the property. Upon arrival the next morning our maintenance tech was told that they were not needed because the guest had disregarded the safety warning & dismantled the stove anyway. We try to handle all guests request's & maintenance in a timely fashion & want all guests to have an enjoyable experience. We apologize if this guest was not happy with our service.
3 out of 5
by Dr. J from Michigan

Nice place if better maintained.

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: It was spacious and would easily sleep 5, 7 in a pinch. The price was good.
Cons: Cleaning. The linens.
Location: This property is located about 1 mile from downtown Ouray. There is hiking, climbing, 4-wheeling, ice-climbing, and hot-springs pools.
This is a rental property, not a hotel. The cleaning on the property was mediocre at best. There was still food in the fridge when I arrived, the light fixtures were dirty, and it just didn't give the impression that it was carefully cleaned prior to my arrival. The linens for the bed were threadbare and overall didn't give the impression of a nice place to stay - more like a hunting cabin I'd borrowed from a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Our Kids!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Like I said, perfect for our family! Great view and location!
Cons: Make sure everything is in place for customers. Remove per day cleaning fee or don't require we wash dishes, strip beds, & take out trash b4 leaving.
Location: Love Ouray! Have visited it repeatedly in the fall over the years! Beautiful foliage & great views!. Enjoy a burger at Maggie's Kitchen.
This cabin was perfect for our kid situation... 1 baby (in a pack-n-play), 1 Toddler (in a bedroom) and us all on the same level. There was a child-gate in our cabin to block off the stairs so we didn't have to worry about our toddler falling down the stairs or anything. Did not give excellent ratings for following reasons: 1) There were only 3 pillows that had actual pillowcases on them (for a cabin that sleeps 7), all the rest only had decorative shams and the bins in the M.B. Closet with extra linens were not for our use. 2) There were no sheets on or for the hideabed and since the extra linens were off-limits, we pulled bedding off the futon in the loft. 3) While they do say they provide the "basics" for cooking (pots/pans/etc) we didn't have a pot to boil water in when we got there (or a bowl big enough to microwave what we needed). I called about it the 2nd day and was told we should have some but a big party had rented more than one cabin before we came and the pots must've gotten taken to one of the other cabins. I was also told they'd bring some by in case we needed them... but we never saw anyone or got anything. I was only upset about this because I had brought (flown with) quite a bit of food to save some money, and we ended up spending $20-$50 per meal instead because I couldn't even make something as simple as spaghetti. We really did enjoy this cabin overall. It was wonderful. I just want others to be prepared in case they run into the same issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindsey from Denver, CO

Good for a Group

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We didn't have any trouble working with the management team to confirm our reservation and to get the keys. I was very happy they accommodate pets, and to be honest, the cabin (we stayed in #2) was so well maintained you would not believe other pets had been in the space. My boyfriend and I booked as part of a long, rustic weekend and this was appropriate. Not very romantic, as you have the highway on one side, construction facing the porch and neighborhood homes on the other side (scenic views are limited), but comfortable. I think this would be a more appropriate location for a group of active people who use it as a place to sleep and rest between activities. It is within walking distance of town, but you will more than likely choose to drive in for dinner, drinks and entertainment (after a long day of hiking, the walk is not as appealing). Overall, decent place I would bring a group of friends to for a weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom Y. from Colorado Springs, CO

Great night in Ouray!

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is not a traditional hotel - no front desk to check-in at. This situation caused us a bit of grief, as we booked our hotel on Saturday morning of Labor day weekend when the "management company" was traditionally closed. They send you a "rental agreement" via email which you need to print out, sign & return via email. After you have returned the form, they are supposed to send you check-in instructions for your unit (how to get there, where the key is, etc...). Needless to say, with the management company offices closed for the weekend, I did not receive this ahead of time. I had to call the "if you have an emergency in one of our rental units" phone number, and speak with a gentleman who said he would get the instructions over to me via email shortly - which he did. We were supposed to be allowed to check-in at 4pm, and we showed up at 4:30 and the unit was still being cleaned, as the cleaning crew did not know anyone was checking in that night - so all in all communication needs a lot of improvement. The unit was very nice, clean, and reasonably well furnished (full kitchen, W&D in unit). Great views of the rock formations out the vaulted ceiling picture windows, nice layout. Good location, only a 2-3 minute drive to the hot springs & downtown. Would stay here again despite all the hassles.