Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Fine for a few days

Posted Jan 13, 2015
If you want to stay in Mountain Village this place is fine. There is the spa right there, the staff was decent and it is nice to ski in/out. Seemed a little more geared towards families. There is an extra mandatory "resort fee" that is added to whatever price you pay here. Maybe it is a better situated property for the summer months.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Tragic

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The views of the mountains. Ski in and ski out facilities.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Great skiing, beautiful location and excellent dining.
Truly terrible. When I arrived, I was given a room with no sunset view despite the fact that I had paid for this type of room. I spoke to one of the managers who said he could do nothing because I had"booked through Expedia" and refused to come to the room to see that there was no view of the sunset stating that "there was no sun out" that day. Later another manager resolved the issue. Others members of my group had rooms that were fly infested. The service in the hotel is appalling - rooms were cleaned on some, but not all,days. The cleaning staff came on several days after 5 pm in the evening to clean the room. I had one day of turn down service out of the 5 I stayed in the hotel. Garbage ws not always removed from the room. Towels were removed but not replaced. The staff is untrained and there are too few of them They are all willing to help but do not know what to do. The food is reasonable but the service is slow. The spa is nice but there are too few staff. Treatments were good, but organizing payment was challenging. Th Understand that the hotel has been sold. It is clear that there is no investment in or management of the hotel at this time. Very unfortunate experience never to be repeated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Nice place if you have kids and if you don't mind

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pretty close to the Plaza area. Nice pool with a tall slide for kids. But no kitchen area whatsoever. We found out there was a market nearby the last day.. We could not fix anything for ourselves, so first five nights we spent an average of $300 a day for the food. That wasn't good at all..
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shawn Afrom Montrose, CO

Certainly Not 4-Star

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
No air-conditioning, as well as no mention of it by the hotel in any way at any time. $24 valet parking is the ONLY option to park on property, also no mention of this. Bathroom shower was in serious need of renovation, showing major stains and grout issues. Bathroom vent was packed with mold and debris. Provided shampoo bottle was grossly congealed and half empty, revealing previous use. The two tiny windows in the room had to be left open to allow for air and ventilation, leaving us to a very not private evening listening to every sound outside the hotel. The staff was friendly and the manager was quick to respond to my complaints, offering a free upgrade should we visit again. But we just feel like we were tricked and let down by this so-called 4-star resort. Had we known about the lack of a/c and $24 valet-ONLY parking we would have been able to make an informed decision before wasting our money. We would have chosen a more suitable hotel, and it is my belief that the Peaks does not make these things clear because they know this. There are many other better options for your dollar out here from properties that are honest about what they offer. You have been warned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, awesome gym, resort and parking fees added 45 plus bucks a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Mountain Village is the place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, great location, great rate. Town of Telluride is quaint, but it's super easy and beautiful to take the gondola ride into town and back, then enjoy the relative seclusion and unreal beauty of Mountain Village. Peaks is a nice hotel, not super fancy, but well maintained. Staff was courteous, room was clean, beds comfortable, hot shower. Right balance of price, location and quality - I'd stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SMGfrom Texas

Beware extra charges & locale

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
When looking online the hotel was listed in Telluride: it is in Mountain Village 2.5 mi away. The good thing was the free gondola took you into Telluride which runs til midnight. When checking in there is an extra fee for wifi, spa & pool usage, use of water or coffee in the room. Then there is the fee for valet service for parking. It is a nice hotel but I could have stayed at the Hotel Telluride for much cheaper & it is also nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by loisfrom Golden CO

Beautiful place and view. Expensive.

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful area. The bed was heaven! But because of the room rate and the extra charges, it made me think about what less expensive hotel offer for free.. WIFi, breakfast, work out area, etc. which is a part of this hotel's charge. If i were going to stay at the hotel the whole time, it would be worth it. Just spending the night, not worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom denver area

Nickel and Dimed

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: View and location near gondola to town.
Cons: See comments above.
I have stayed here before and had forgotten why I didn't like staying here. It is in a beautiful location, but... Parking for $26 without any self park options...my car was right there in the lot by the door just 25 feet away. No vending machines for sodas. Want something to drink? Call room service and pay an exorbitant fee for the soda and the room service charge. The no vending machine policy has been around for years -- is this customer service -- or is it gouging. Then add the resort fee to all of this, which in many places includes the valet parking fees. I like to stay in nice hotels and I don't mind paying for them, but there is a yucky feel about the way The Peaks operates.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, co

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I could tell we had the "off season" staff. Room service neglected my breakfast request, the entire hotel was out of bagels, it took 30 minutes for ice to be brought up among other minor annoyances. Hotel is fairly nice; relatively clean although it was hit or miss if I received amneties such as shampoo. I had 3 conditioners and I lotion the entire stay. Do not stay in rooms near the elevator or above the lobby area. It was extremely noisy with rude guests and my request to the staff was ignored. Spa is nice but nothing special. They make a big deal of it being the largest spa in Colorado but it's not very private or exclusive, nor does it have the amenities I expected such as private mud, mineral or herbal baths for the grandeur they extol.