Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming little hotel at a great price

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, quaint atmosphere, delicious pancakes with orange-maple syrup
Cons: The room was a bit overwarm; perhaps a small placard on the thermostat would have helped.
Location: The Ouray Hot Springs pool (north end of town) makes for a relaxing evening, and Backstreet Coffee will help you get back in gear the next morning
This hotel has a fantastic Victorian-era feel with friendly staff and a delicious breakfast. The location is great -- right on main and a short walk from all the shops -- and our stay was very pleasant. Many thanks to the staff for their warm welcome for a couple of travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juliefrom Colorado

Very nice B&B on Main Street

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Location: Perimeter hike is a fantastic 3-4 hour hike with beautiful views and lots of elevation gain/loss.
Room was small but nice, with modern bathroom. Great location. Great staff. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. No A/C but combination of exterior window, room fan, and interior window kept things relatively cool. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karifrom Colorado

Quaint and friendly

Posted Jul 31, 2012
The bar closes early every night, so if you want to drink, do it early! This is no five star hotel, but it's very quaint and friendly. It's almost a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel. The family that runs the place - the Huddlestons are phenomenal, they create the ambience and friendliness of the hotel. The breakfast is wonderful too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JMfrom Arizona, USA

Great, comfortable historic B&B

Posted May 21, 2012
I've been searching for opportunities to stay at historical hotels/motels, and to date had stayed at the Hotel Congress in Tucson, a B&B in Jerome AZ, and a traditional Route 66 motel in Wiliams AZ. All were great stays, but none compared to St Elmo's. The condition of the building, the rooms and the quailty of service was great! My only advice, and this is not to be taken negatively, is if you plan on staying in one of these places that is approachng, or over 100yrs old, keep in mind that the rooms from that era were much smaller and historic preservation guidelines really limit an owners ability to change the floorplan, so be prepared to stay in a room that is smaller than usual. I was in Room #5 which was essentailly a suite with a shared bathroom. The other rooms may have been larger. My fellow travel companion is already planning on going back to St Elmo's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dianefrom Albuquerque, NM

Staying at the St Elmo is a unique experience!

Posted Jan 17, 2012
Pros: Breakfast room, hot tub and individual rooms
Cons: you can't park overnight on the street, have to park in the back,not a big deal but you need to remember to move your car or you will get a ticket
Location: on main street, easy to find
St Elmo is a wonderfully romantic and quaint hotel with a private hot tub outside that you can gaze up at the stars while relaxing your sore muscles by. There is a cozy breakfast room with a great assortment of brunch items where you can meet interesting people from all over the US and world.We have stayed there numerous times and it has always been a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Derby, KS

Lovely setting

Posted Oct 21, 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed this small hotel from the decor taking us back in Colorado history to the wonderful breakfast in the bright dining room. Would recommend it to friends and family. Hope to return someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terrifrom Albuquerque, NM

A true gem in Ouray

Posted Sep 12, 2011
The staff were so friendly, the breakfast each morning was delicious, and the location in Ouray can't be beat. A little pricey compared to other hotels in the area, but well worth it to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Urbandale, Iowa

A Charming Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2011
A beautiful hotel in a perfect location! Our room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. We had a wonderful dinner at the attached restaurant (Bon Ton), sitting on the patio, with a beautiful view of the mountains; and the breakfast (which was included with the extremely reasonable price of the room) was a real treat with fresh fruit, hazelnut pancakes, sausage, cereals, breads, jams, and more! No TV and no air conditioning but neither were missed! We had a delightful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Smileyfrom San Jose, CA

Wonderful stay

Posted Jul 31, 2011
Historic hotel with beautifully furnished public areas. Small rooms, but adequate and clean. Ideal location in the lovely little town of Ouray.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Redding, CT

Charming Little Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2011
St. Elmo's victorian decor was very charming. We had a huge room, complete with sitting room and large bath, at the front of the hotel, looking out onto Main Street. It was a perfect location and the owner checked us in and told us a bit about the history of the place. The attached Bon Ton restaurant was 5-star. The beef wellington was worth the hours of driving to get there and the town ot Ouray was delightful. Cascade falls was visible from our room and you can easily walk Main Street to the many great restaurants and cute shops. We'd return to St. Elmo!