Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great place to stay right next to Ek Balam ruins!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This hotel is a little off the beaten path (in a good way) and the owner and her children were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, with a little courtyard filled with a fountain and jungle plants, along with the occasional wandering duck with ducklings. Be sure to eat at the delicious restaurant as well. The quesadillas I had for breakfast there were the best I had on my trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ian from Wales

Close to Ek Balam Ruins

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was raining really heavily when we arrived - huge tropical storm - and the whole village had no power. No problem - plenty of candles. Owner a very nice Italian lady who was helpful and who cooked a good meal for dinner. and who gave us some useful advice. However, there is no AC and some people may find the room hot. With windows open and the ceiling fan on, it was fine. Only small problem we encountered was that the hotels.com website specified breakkfast included but the owner denied this - we had to pay for it. Reasonable but not good value overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by w. marlowe from Los Angeles

Good for visiting Ek Balam

Posted Mar 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
a bit hard to find in the dark, the electricity goes off at 9:30PM hence the room fan goes off and its muggy and close in the room. No coffee or breakfast available the next morning. But, very convenient for Ek Balam entrance, staff is friendly, there was plenty of hot water in the shower. Would suggest most visitors will be happier staying in Vallodolid and visiting Ek Balam during the day, short ride from Vallodolid
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lorraine from San Francisco

A Hidden Treasure

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Friendly and personable Husband and Wife owners.
Cons: The cost of taxis to get to the local attractions.
Location: A genuine Mayan village.
At first I was shocked to find myself in the middle of "nowhere," but then I got used to the remoteness, aided by the fact that the owners are so kind and helpful. In fact, I extended my original two-night stay to four nights. The wife, Francesca, is from Rome so you can depend on her home-made pasta for a delicious dinner. The only reason I downgraded my overall rating is that you need to take into account the remoteness of the hotel (in an authentic Mayan village) and budget for taxis, which can add up to a hefty tariff each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wanda from SW France

Basic but well cared for hotel next to EkBalam

Posted Feb 8, 2012
Pros: Peace and quiet. Lovely breakfast with home made bread and local honey.
Cons: No hanging space in room
Location: 10 minutes drive from Ek Balam site
Beds and linen very comfortable. No hanging space for clothes. Shower difficult to control temperature. Italian restaurant where we ate good pasta with fresh tomato sauce. House wine just OK. Home made bread. Breakfast with fresh orange juice from their own trees and local honey (if requested) Good Italian coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I didn't like it

Posted Jan 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
If I could do it again, I would stay in Valladolid and drive up to see the ruins and maybe have lunch at this hotel and a quick view of the pueblo. Maybe if you arrived late and left early, it would be okay. But it wasn't a very pleasant place to spend an entire evening. There is nothing to do and the place felt unprepared for guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids Iowa

The only bulding with walls in town (Realy)

Posted Apr 4, 2010
We had a hard time finding the hotel, it’s in a very small Mexican town. All the houses are stick and plum tree branches roof. The hotel is very nice but doesn’t have AC in the rooms. The stone back wall did keep the room from being to hot but at 90 outside it’s not too comfortable for us that are use to 50 for high temps. The rooms were clean and showers were hot with good water presser. The person running the hotel didn’t speak English and the restaurant menu was ALL in Spanish with no pictures. The restaurant looked great and the food was good. There were 3 single ladies staying there at the time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Maybe not the best, but OK

Posted Dec 29, 2009
The Nina Hotel in Playa del Carmen is an inexpensive (though not least expensive) place to stay near the busy beach zone. Parking, an OK pool and beach towels are provided at the associated Toucan Hotel about 6 blocks away. 2 adjacent restaurants had OK Mexican food, and others were within 5 to 10 minutes walk. Air conditioning (noisy), hotel towels and plumbing might be considered lower quality. Wireless internet and TV were good.