Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J and C from England

peaceful mountain retreat

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: As above
Location: As above. Great base for touring in the north half of the island, which we did.
Great location up in the cork oak mountains, yet close enough to attractive large town for a 20 min walk to restaurants etc in eve (take a torch as first part of road has no pavement and unlit). Hotel staff smashing, helpful, friendly. Good inexpensive restaurant in hotel if you don't want to go to town. Good value wine list and house wine by the litre. Rooms large & clean with good views (panoramic views from breakfast room!). Stayed here for a week and loved it.
3 out of 5
by mar from UK

We expected more for our money

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: pool, staff
Cons: food, beds
I have stayed in this hotel with my husband and my 2 year old. First thing I encounter was that our room only had 1 bed (2 twin beds pushed together) they call it Queen bed. Since the booking was for 3 people, I expected to find also one more bed or sofa bed as you find in other cheaper hotels like IBIS. After talking to the staff, next morning we found a cot in the room with a mattress that was too big for it. We were explained that we would have to pay for the cot at 10 extra euros/night. As we did not want to pay extra euros we ended up sleeping together in the twin beds. We found the mattresses extremely uncomfortable. We were not impressed with the breakfast either. First thing, we are vegans and there was hardly anything suitable for us (no soy milk, no margarine, no plain pastries). The coffee and hot water were in a thermos and only lukewarm, we saw a few people requesting a fresh coffee from the cooffe machine. The tea bags are the cheap brand from the local LIDL. On the positive side the pool was very nice, all the members of staff were lovely. We loved all the beaches we visited, the closest one about 30 minutes drive. In resume, we loved the island and its people but were not that impressed by the Hotel, perhaps we have been spoiled by the budget hotels IBIS and B&B where we have been staying when travelling through France with their comfy big beds, extra beds, fresh bread and coffee, soy milk, etc and so we were expecting more for a more expensive hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by blacktiger from England, UK

Good location but eat elsewhere.

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Under cover motorcycle parking.
Cons: Bad menu.
Location: On the edge of town.
The hotel is in a good location away from the hubble of the town. The rooms are OK. However the main thing that lets it down is the menu. My advice is to eat out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

IDEAL LOCATION TO EXPLORE THE REAL SARDINIA

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is the fourth time we have returned to the Pausania Inn. For us it is in a location ideally suited for exploring the small Villages which are very traditional or only 30 mins drive to some very beautiful beaches. A car is essential and it would be wise to plan some places to visit although the Proprietor is more than helpful with suggestions. The Menu is a little sparse on choice but food cooked and presented very well and the superb service from the Staff is first rate. Views are stunning from the Hotel towards the mountains and the swimming pool is clean and offers a welcome respite from the heat. We would also suggest flying to Olbia as it is only 40 min drive to the Hotel through some beautiful scenery which is a nice introduction to the area. We have been made to feel so welcome and cannot imagine staying anywhere else on this beautiful Island of Sardinia. Absolutely first class establishment - highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by Red from London

Not worth the effort of trying to find it !!

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Nothing .. its not worth the money
Cons: the rudeness of some of the staff
Location: Small town ..... no good or even passable restaurants unless you eat Pizza for every meal , nothing worth seeing
The Hotel is very hard to find ... even with the signs that are in the town !! It can be approached from two entrances , unfortunately one is like a farm track and when it rains it is very difficult to get in and out that way. Hotel is very dated, wi-fi can only be used in reception !! no english speaking tv channels at all ! Beds are very hard and the pillows are awful sooo hard . Showers are hard to control .. you either freeze or get scalded . Breakfast is ok .. nothing special unless you are Italian or German and you eat cake for breakfast . The Restaurant is average .. VERY limited choice and some meals very strange .. There are some lovely staff working there but one or two of the others are rude and very unhelpful . Nothing to do at all in the Hotel if it rains !! But pool area is ok and there are some quite nice tennis courts. In our opinion DONT BOTHER ... There are lots of better places to stay on the coast and the people there are much nicer ...:-(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a fantastic stay

Posted Aug 4, 2012
a fantastic stay. very quiet so if that is what you are after then this is the place for you. beautiful sunsets. the staff and owner were excellent and the food was super (not for those on a diet). the local wine is well worth a try. top tip, the one-a-day coach (16:30) from the airport drops you at the top of the hill and stops in the morning on the way back about 08:45. only 5 euros each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from bkara

Very nice rooms

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
The rooms are very nice. Most of them have a tarrace or garden with nice landscapes. However if you get the only room wich is near the bar downstairs, it will get very noisy until the bar closes in the evening or early in the morning. We had a young daughter which was vary noisy for her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great family holiday at the Pausanias inn

Posted Aug 20, 2011
Real gem of a hotel with beautiful views of the mountains all around. Large rooms with private balcony/garden Everything within less than an hours drive; fantastic beaches, mountains, historic cities and health giving spring water thrown in. Very friendly staff especially Mario and Elizabeth. clean and good sized pool, great for kids especially as we had 3 energetic boys. 10 mins walk to town centre with some good restaurants/pizzerias, 5 mins walk to a well stocked supermarket, 5 mins walk to ruin of 3500 yr old nuraghe dwelling with nice bar/ restaurant. Mountain air was a real plus - all the heat/sun with a freshness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good experience

Posted Aug 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, excellent food quality,very good service. A bit far from the seaside ,so you will need a car. Very nice neighbourhood and ideal for trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Roma, Italy

Posted Jul 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was fine except for the fact that they made you pay for internet use. In all the other hotels we stayed at in Sardegna, internet was free.