Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The only positive I can take from this experience was that our room was nice.
Cons: EVERYTHING could be improved.
Location: The name 'Costa del Silencio' translates as 'Silence'. The busiest place is the bus stop to get out of town! This should not be a holiday resort.
First impressions were awful, it was 'that' hotel that nobody wanted when the coach pulled up. The receptionist demanded to see my voucher. I didn't have a voucher. He told me to go to an Internet Cafe '15 minutes walk away' to print off my voucher. After searching on my phone for the expedia email and showing it to him, he decided I didn't need a voucher and checked me in without an apology. The pool wasn't a pool, more a concrete hole full of sea water. And it was closed. Because there were Jellyfish in it - for 2 days. The food was absolutely disgusting. It reminded me of an episode of 'Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares'. Can someone please explain to me how Roast Beef and Gravy, Chips. Calamari and Pasta goes together as a dish? The staff just ignored you and it felt very much like a school canteen rather than a restaurant. The food was so bad we couldn't eat it and had to eat out or send out for pizza on 5 nights. During the evening, there weren't enough plastic tables and chairs for everyone to sit on and when I asked for some more chairs, I was told to 'find my own'. We ended up sat on a sun lounger outside the bar, near the concrete hole most evenings. Entertainment was an absolute joke. I may have enjoyed it if I was 5 years old, but patting a skunk and watching a scabby parrot raise a flag with its beak is not my idea of entertainment - not at 10.30pm at night it isn't. I could elaborate much more but am running out of characters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Hotel in need of lots of TLC and modernising

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Fantastic size swimming pool for all plus a small pool for the kids
Cons: The building is need of modernisation, paintwork d├ęcor more entertainment and some more bar facilities for after 11pm drinkers when everything shuts
Location: The location is very baron and a long distance from the main resorts and there is not a vast lot nearby to do or see
Is a good place for very quiet and relaxing holidays and you just require a bed bathroom and not much else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel! Staff are brilliant loved the swimming pool. Rooms a little dated but you're not there to stay in the room! Beds are really hard, no wifi or air con.. Other than that had a great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Uk

Alborado Beach Club - Fantastic

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Almost everything. The staff, apartments, restaurant, gardens, infinity pool, private beach.
Cons: Queuing times at the bar. During holiday we were able to serve ourselves to soft drinks, lager and wine. This facility was removed causing chaos.
Location: Surrounding area simple and quiet not much to do apart from small shopping area, bars and restaurants. Quick bus ride to Playa America and Los Christ
Initially when we arrived outside the hotel we were a little disappointed by the appearance of an old, outdated building which looked like it was desperately in need an uplift. However once inside the hotel we were welcomed by very smart, professional, friendly staff who promptly gave us the keys to our apartment along with details of the facilities that we could take advantage of. Our apartment was spacious, very clean and tidy and contained a fridge, cooker, kettle and other utensils that we may have needed. Our view from the room was very pleasant, overlooking the garden, infinity pool and sea. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. It was just a short walk to the restaurant and bar. Our board was on an all inclusive basis and thought that the food provided was edible,adequate and fair for the price paid. My only criticism of the bar was the length of time spent queuing for refreshments as during our stay, the hotel removed the facility to pour your own drinks, I think that they need to put things back as they were as this didn't go down well with guests who found it quicker to go to the local shop to buy drinks. Morning entertainment in the pool i.e. exercise classes and canoeing were very popular with both adults and children and the evening entertainment was satisfactory. There is also a private little beach there for people who prefer it quieter and more private. I would definitely recommend Alborado to others and will definately be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ralph from Cork

Alborada Beach Club

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The Food The Drink The Location The Freindly Staff
Cons: Exterior could do with a freshen up
Location: Plenty of shops bars and resturants within a few mins walk.Marina only five mins walk away
Good Value for money very large clean rooms great selection of food and it varied all week biggest pool i have ever seen great room around it and plenty of sun loungers no need to rush out at the crack of dawn with towels the exterior and the corriders could do with a little modernising but overall a very pleasant experience great staff good food and plenty of refreshments available.las gallettas is nice and quite with a good selection of cafe/ resturants and bars very well priced in you want change of scenery and only half the price of las americas/los cristianos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by G. Phillips from Canada

good value

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value for the money. Old hotel but great location and facilities. Non smoking rooms would be an asset.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brett from Worcester

cheap and cheerful

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wanted a cheap sunbathing holiday and got one. Only problem is its so cheap its attracting lots of young spaniards who take advantage of AI till 11pm then disapear to the night clubs. They come home from 2 onwards banging on doors. I'm a heavy sleeper but they still managed to keep me awake. Still they were much better behaved than some young brits I've come across in the past. Pool and staff excellent. Probably won't return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barrons from Bristol uk

Looks like 60's multi-storey car park

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, spacious rooms, clean.
Cons: Outside appearance, heat the pool, microwave in room. Entertainment was poor. Poolside exercise activities poor.
Location: Not much in the resort, although eating places good. Good bus route to busier los cristianos and las Americas, where the decent beaches are.
As previous reviews state it does indeed look like a multi-storey car park. It needs a good coat of paint inside and out. The inner corridors are reminiscent of an old hospital -very dull and dour. Having said that, the ceramic tiles on the floors inside and out are generally good and brighten the place up. Although it is an all-inclusive hotel, we were room only, and after looking at the dinner choices on offer one night, we were very glad indeed- it looked like the worst school or hospital dinners you could imagine. The pool size is impressive, however not widely used as the water was freezing. Loads of sun beds so no need for the towel run.The room was spacious and clean, though only 2 gas rings and a kettle for cooking-less than when we go camping!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeff from Canada

Cheap hotel. Old, bad food & drinks

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old hotel in small village where there is not so much. Close to the airport (15min drive). It's good to buy a bus pass to go to bigger cities (25min bus ride to Los Cristianos). Huge pool and many sun chairs. Extra small beach but not very suitable to swim (rocks). Room clean but old and not comfortable. It was cold outside and it was the same temp. inside (no heating and no ventilation except the balcony door that has holes to outside) Very cold inside the room. Really uncomfortable beds (2 single beds beside each other instead of a double bed). Really bad food. Not so much choice, bad food, way too much cooked or not enough. Coffee and juices impossible to drink, really disgusting. Luckily there is a small supermarket across the street. The drinks at the bar were not good. Cheap alcohol with sweet liquid inside (some drinks from a draught machine). Wine in draught really bad. The beer and sangria in draught were ok (the only possible thing to drink). Free wi-fi only available at the bar but almost never works (it worked about 10% of the time) The bar was a big room not so nice. Entertainment was just annoying, it would be better to only have good music. We knew it was not going to be great as it was cheap but it could be lot better without been expensive (like cooking the food better, decorating a little, fixing the shower that leak everywhere, having working wi-fi). Cheap price but would expect little better, less than 3 stars. Overall, it felt like going back in the 80'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by maria totton from Southampton

Great pool and lovely little beach, quiet get away

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was a bit tired but who cares you dont go to tenerife for 5* luxury you go for the sun and the pool and beach were great. We hired a car from the airport and it took less than 20 minutes to get their, free parking on gravel opposite hotel so you can go when and wherever you like. Room was cleaned & towels changed 3 times or more during stay. We didnt go all inclusive as my kids dont eat much but eating out was cheap and supermarket near by to buy food to make things in your room although you will need to ask reception for microwaves / toasters if you want to do this as the apartment does only have 2 rings. All in all great stay and would come back again. I didnt want to be in the nightlife area as I have 2 small children and Costa del Silencio which translated means the silent coast is what I was after. Long days, short nights with peace and quiet. If you are looking for noisy nights and music then maybe not a good choice although they do have entertainment in the hotel and all inclusive bar is open till 11 I heard someone say but luckily we didnt hear it.