Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

very average apartments not great location

Posted Mar 12, 2008 on Hotels.com
The complex is situation behind a supermarket, if you have a room at the front your balcony looks into the supermarket where there is a bar and 2 restaurants open late and noisy. Our balcony was opposite the main restaurant so had no privacy and constantly had people passing and looking into to our room. The pool was quite dirty. It's a 10 min walk to the nearest beach which is expensive or 40 mins walk to the nicest beach. It was very dirty we had ants and cockroaches in our room. There was only VERY basic self catering equipment - no kettle, only 1 pot, 2 plates, 2 glasses and 2 mugs, no oven either. It's 10Euros for the TV remote and 10 Euros for the air conditioning remote! The reception staff were terrible also, very poor service. This is cheap and cheerful and is in a very quiet area, outwith supermarket bar and restaurants there is no where very close to eat/ drink. It's at least 20 mins walk to bars/restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2007
We have been to the Aparthotel El Duque twice now and the first time it was great but this time it was even better, the staff are lovely and very helpfull. The pools are great my two girls loved playing in them. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and cleaned every day except Sunday. We only had bed and breakfast so I cant comment on the evening meals but I do know they are buffet style, however there are lots of lovely restaurants nearby just a short walk away in Adeje or Fanabe there are also two restaurants in the shopping centre the the hotel is in an Italian and a chinese, they are both very good. The Hotel also has its own mini club and entertainment most nights, the entertainment wasnt the best but the bar was open for as long as you wanted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2007
August 2007. Entrance to the aparthotel is through a shopping precinct which did not give a very good first impression. Had ground floor apartment with partial view of pool from terrace the rest being blocked by the roof of a children's creche,also directly overlooked by apartments above.Apartment,one bed, was spacious and very clean with maid service every day with fresh towels every other day. The kitchen equipment was appalling and really spolt our holiday - no kettle,toaster,microwave, grill or oven. The basics were just not there in our opinion. We asked for these items at reception but were told that they were not provided. If you wanted a sunbed you needed to put your towel out early - despite written notices saying that this was not allowed - everybody did it and left the sunbeds empty for the majority of the day. A lifeguard was on duty every day and the cafe bar did good value food. We did find the apartments noisy there being a very high degree of Spanish and German guests - English were in the minority. The beach was about 15 mins walk - OK for adults but not if you have children with all the gear. The weather was 50/50 - not what we expected in August. If you need an alarm call do not rely on reception, we requested one for our last day and our request was ignored. We have used Expedia on many occasions for a number of years and have never felt disatisfied until now and do not feel that we got value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Great place to stay close to Beach, Shops & Quality Restaurants.

Posted Apr 27, 2007
Good place to stay, close to everything and if you wish to go further the Taxi rank is just outside the hotel. Great for Kids!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from dENMARK

Luxury for less

Posted Mar 28, 2007
Calm place, yet very centrally situated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dumfries

Good basic accommodation

Posted Feb 23, 2007
First time we have booked a flight and hotel separately and would not hesitate to do it again. Arrived at hotel about 2pm and room ready. Asked for a balcony with afternoon and evening sun and we had a lovely view of the pool and sea in the distance. Maid service most days and room nice and clean. Kitchen equipment a bit limited with no kettle or toaster but when you are on holiday you can make do. Always plenty of hot water. Although no frills this is a nice place to stay. Always managed to get a sunbed, even in the afternoon and pool heated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from kent

great for families

Posted Feb 23, 2007
We stayed at the aparthotel in Feb 07 during the haft term holiday. The apartment was lovely, great for two adults and two children, with an open plan kitchen(the cooking equipment was a bit on the poor side, but you do not go on holiday to cook!!!),a good size living room ( the sofas are the children's beds), a big bedroom with two large single beds put together, a spacious bathroom, and best of all a great lovely terrace. The maid comes every day apart from Sundays, so everything is very tidy. The pool area is sunny and very nice with a good area for young children.There is also a play area, and in the upstairs of the shopping center, a soft play area and minigolf that kept my two little ones amused for hours. The location is superb, being close to all amenities, and only a short walk to the beach and the promenade where there are some great restaurants. All in all a great choice for a family if you do not want the constraints that hotel rooms put on young children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Relaxing Holiday

Posted Aug 17, 2006
The El Duque Aparthotel is set behind a shopping centre and unless you knew it was there would be invisible. The apartment that we had was large and spacious so ideal for 2 adults and 2 children. The cleanliness was excellent and the room was cleaned every day with the exception of Sunday. If your after a quiet holiday this is the ideal place to go as all evening entertainment is finished by about 11.00. The children entertainment is limited and is run by one person. The only downfall is that there is a bit of a scrum for the sunbeds by the pool and although it states that you are unable to reserve your bed be sure that by 9.30 all beds have been taken.