Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel off the beaten path

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Staff are genuinely friendly and very helpful
Location: The back path to the Rio Celeste river is a quick and easy activity. You can also take a quick dip which you can't do at the waterfall.
We stayed at the Rio Celeste Hideaway for two nights and were very pleased with the courteous staff, assistance with tours and travel between cities, and the food at the restaurant. The rooms are very well kept and extremely spacious. The hotel has less than 30 casitas, so it never seems very busy and is generally quiet and peaceful. The wood around the pool area is showing some wear and tear- but when you're in an environment where nothing ever dries out, that is to be expected. The negatives are mainly outside of the hotel's control. As other reviewers mentioned, the road up to the hotel is VERY bumpy so it takes a good 30-40 minutes to get to the hotel from the main road. This made the process of site seeing a bit tedious; expect a lot of car time. Prices in Costa Rica are also higher than I expected across the board, and with no other dining options around be prepared to spend about $30 each per meal without alcohol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cedarburg WI

Remote hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Road from Hwy 6 is best way now. Tenario Volcano hike is very muddy. Great staff. hotel and food.Rains every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a great time, was really nervous at first on the roads but got used to it. Ibwould recommend to anyone! Great time, great staff!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Perfect getaway

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, clean, friendly staff
Cons: Adding a second restaurant and maybe a little sundry store.
Location: Arenal is about 2 hours away. There is a great hiking path to see the Rio Celeste.
This place is an oasis. It was full (26 casitas in total) and most of the time we only saw 10-12 people at a time. It's a bit remote so get ready to consume all of your meals there. The food is pretty good and fresh, but can get pricey very quickly. The servers do a great job of remembering your name and they are super personable. If you are fine with mostly staying put, or doing some group excursions this place is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Insgesamt gute Location

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Auch wenn der gesamten Hotelanlage (inkl. Apartments) eine angemessene Renovierung gut zu Gesicht stehen würde, ist die Location und auch die Küche sehr okay. Wir haben uns hier, für zweit Tage sehr wohlgefühlt und den Standort für Ausflüge genutzt. Für die Fahrt ist ein Offroader unerlässlich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Scenic location in the beauty that is Costa Rica

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Rio celeste was just what we were hoping, a lovely small hotel in the midst of all that is the beauty of Costa Rica! Our balcony looked out into the Rain Forest so we awoke each morning to the joyful noises of nature. The trail from the hotel to the waterfall was a treat for us and the kids. The restaurant served delicious food that was artfully arranged on the plates. We never tired of eating our meals back at the hotel...actually looked forward to mealtime to try another interesting dish from the menu. The staff were friendly, attentive to our ever need, always with a smile. The hotel helped arrange our white water raft trip and our zip line tour. Both were amazing outings. The rough road driving to the hotel is worth every bounce, how else can you reach the amazing scenic parts of this beautiful world?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Québec

Hôtel d'exception

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Le fait qu'elle était située d'´un un endroit où il y abeacoup de végétation.
L'hôtel est situé dans un milieu très boisé. Les chambres sont toutes indépendantes (petit pavillon). Celle que nous occupions était grande et très jolie. Le lit était confortable. La salle de bain était bien. Le seule problème la pression de l'eau était minimale. La salle à manger et l'accueuil sont très jolie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Beautiful setting, privacy, very friendly staff, great food. Overall worth the trip even if the roads are somewhat rough getting there; no sweat if you drive an suv.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

You better find a map...and 4 wheel drive

Posted Mar 9, 2015
So the hotel is amazing, nestled in the mountains great staff and close to waterfall. BUT it's terribly far out there, you'll need patience driving there and call before or email to get the better road in because there's only 2 ways in one of which is tough. Super nice staff though and great stay...just be prepared to stay there because it's in BFE. Also the national park is really close for more hiking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel très agréable mais difficile d'y accéder !

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Chambre immense, très luxueuse.. Piscine superbe, accueil professionnel...