Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, New York

Great Location within a ZTL

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location and building are perfect for in town lodging. The rooms were very clean.
Cons: Bathroom fixtures were need of repair.
Location: You are an easy walk to the cathedral and shopping. The Etruscan Necropolis should be seen, as it is one of the largest and best preserved.
Our family of four spent two nights in the beautiful town of Orvietto. This hotel is nicely furnished and the room was spacious enough for all of us. Though our room faced the main street, the windows did their job at providing decent noise suppression from the street noise below. Our bathroom had a few problems with the shower door and the bidet was non-functional. Breakfast was adequate both mornings and the orange juice was fresh squeezed. Staff was helpful when asked but did not go out of their way to offer recommendations for dining or sites to see, but I blame my poor Italian (at best) and their limited English . The hotel is within the ZTL, so do not drive to the hotel unless prior arrangements are made with the front desk. Parking is in a covered public garage south of town and you take multiple escalators to the town level. The walk is about 200 meters from there to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, NJ

Lovely hotel,lovley town

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: great restaurants and if you mention the hotel you get a discount to the caves
This is a really lovely hotel-we had a wonderful room that looked over the street. The beds are very comfortable and the staff is really warm. They have a great breakfast-not to be missed. The rooms are a great size and there is also free wifi:) I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Perfect location in Orvieto!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Our hotel room was perfect for a family of 4, as the room was quite large and the bathroom was not too small. Our 2 daughters were happy they did not have to share a bed, but were given 2 separate beds that were very comfortable (even though one was a cot-style). We stayed 4 nights and the hotel is easily accessible--we were able to return a few times during the day with ease as we toured the city. We found the staff very helpful and willing to make any reservations for local transportation or restaurants we wanted whether during normal business hours or very late at night. The breakfast included eggs you could boil yourself, juice, breads, jams, ham/cheese, and coffees/teas. When we return to Orvieto, this will be our hotel of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Convenience, comfort, value for money
Cons: Little, if anything.
Location: Right in the center of Orvieto, so close to all points of interest in town.
The Hotel Filippeschi is conveniently located just off the main central square of Orvieto, near the bus stop from the cog railway station (connecting with the regular train station below Orvieto), the City Hall, bars, restaurants, and shops galore. The hotel staff are kind, cordial, polite, and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable, complete with air conditioning and a spotless bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew from New York

Just wonderful in every way

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
After staying in a shared apartment for five nights in Rome, the Filippeschi was like heaven. My room was comfy, spotless, and all for a reasonable price. It's not a five-star hotel, so don't expect frills, but it's really very nice and almost deserves a fourth star. It's also perfectly located (just beyond all the craziness in the center of town) and the woman who owns the hotel is a doll — very helpful and sincere. The others didn't speak much English, but we were able to work it out. Also, the fact that you can book it on hotels.com made it much easier to book than the other options I found on short notice. While my holiday to Italy has now made me more adventuresome in how I reserve hotels, a lot of people like knowing exactly where they'll be staying and have the security of a trusted booking site behind the reservation. This offers that. If I ever go back to Orvieto (and for that food... OMG... I'm sure I will), I know exactly where I'll be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rebecca from Savannah

Excellent stay in Orvieto

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was well located in the center of the city, the breakfast was good, the staff excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, basic room

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was the most important thing to me when I booked this hotel, and it was perfect. Just steps away from Orvieto's main piazza... that's just what I wanted. The room was basic and clean and I had no complaints. The only thing that I was surprised about was that the description talked about city views...and really, I had a view of an alley. But, I also didn't care about that at all. It was clean, friendly, full breakfast in the morning... all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthew from London

One of best locations in town

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outstanding value given the location of the hotel. Staff were friendly rooms were comfortable and given the low cost of reasonable size. I would stay again without hesitation. The Hotel is right in the centre of the beautiful Historic town with bars and restaurants a few yards walk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Great location close to everything Help with parking was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Canadian Gemini from Vancouver BC Canada

Wish we could open the shutters...

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely one night stay at this hotel. The staff were very pleasant and the room was comfortable. The one negative in the room we had was that we weren't able to open the shutters on our windows which on a cloudy day made the room very dark. Otherwise everything was great, especially the location.