Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Miker

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darrenfrom St. Albans

Very Cosy

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a very cosy in a very nice part of the country. Would definitely go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MBGfrom Hants

Disappointed by stay - impressed with manager

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The toilet didn't flush - we had to fill the waste paper basket with water to flush it; the room was noisy so we couldn't get to sleep (noise was made by other guests in the hotel bar until almost 1pm); and the breakfast was terrible (waited ages, food went cold whilst waiting for the full order to arrive, burnt scrambled eggs). However, we did complain to the manager and were impressed with how he managed the complaint - hence we have scored it higher for his actions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Fareham

Excellent location, shame about the bedroom!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Food in restaurant very good excellent waiter. Loved the carved wooden panels in restaurant.
Cons: Bedrooms need updating and a good clean, landing carpets worn and very grubby. Ladies toilets filthy walls. Get a decent cleaner!
Location: Excellent location in the centre of town.
I was disappointed with this hotel in the fact that the bedroom (no. 6) was in need of a complete overhaul. The wallpaper is peeling in places and looks dirty! Thought it was definately overpriced for the money. Was given a £20 reduction as they had no more rooms available but spoilt weekend. Downstairs is full of character and could have that wow factor with a bit more attention to detail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were a little disappointed with this inn. Check-in did not make me feel welcome, staff was doing other stuff, and seemed bothered answering questions about parking, etc. Bar staff was hit or miss. We had to ask for dinner menus twice (we were in the bar) as well asking twice for a high chair. Later in the evening, upon inquiring if I could order a desert, staff member actually told me he would have to find out if he could serve me, as they had just seated a large party in the dining room. He did come back a few minutes later with the menu and took our order. Room was clean, but could use some updating. Carpet was worn and couch had holes from wear. This was a little unexpected, as website advertises recent renovation. Our room also had a bath tub (really nice whirlpool tub), but no shower. This would have been nice to know ahead of time. Best part of this hotel was the morning staff member (didn't catch his name). He was very pleasant and accommodating, and anticipated our needs. He made the whole stay tolerable. I'm not sure if percieved attitudes toward us were because we had our one year old with us, but we were a little disappointed in our stay, especially after reading all the other great reviews. For another note, the hotel has a great location within the town, being right in the middle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by claudiafrom Belgium

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Some of the people in the reception were very rude, Breakfast, big disappointment, overcooked eggs, burnt muffin, no napkins, they forgot to bring toast, etc... they clean the room without vacuuming the floor. We stayed 5 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
great
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chrisfrom Bristol

Great location

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean hotel with good service and great location right in centre if tetbury. If you stay during the late May bank holiday you'll also be right in the middle if the annual wool sack race when the town comes to life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hatsfrom London

Friendly Hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Had a very comfy night's stay at the Snooty Fox following a friend's wedding. Bedroom was a generous size with a huge, comfy bed. Breakfast was served quite early for a Bank Holiday Monday, but was delicious, with lots of options and quick to arrive. One thing - if you require an early check-in, it is available at an extra cost. We requested one, but weren't given the option to pay for it, so there was no record of it when we arrived. Luckily they were willing and able to accommodate our request. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suefrom Bucks

Recommended

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: Ambience, room, staff and food
Cons: Nothing significant
Location: Great location in the centre of an attractive town with plenty of interesting shops, cafes etc. Easy access to Newark Park
The hotel exceeded our expectations. Great location and all the facilities we needed. The room was larger and more comfortable than we expected and the dinner and breakfast were excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel