Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southeastern Maine

Overpriced

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: It was clean. It is in a nice location. The view of the lake, which we did not have from our room, is beautiful.
Cons: See "Experience" comments above.
Location: It could hardly be better.
It was barely acceptable. The room was mediocre: o No fridge o No microwave o No view o Bath towels were rough Continental breakfast was awful...unacceptable! It was terribly overpriced for what we got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orleans, MA (Cape Cod)

Undergoing Rehab

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Water view balcony, helpful hotel staff.
Cons: Hard to say, the rehab is not complete so I do not know what the final product will be like
Location: The Clark Museum is 35 to 40 minute on Route 7; The Rockwell Museum is less than 30 minutes away.
The hotel was undergoing rehab. The restaurant, BOMBAY, had just reopened. The staff was short handed, service was very slow, many of the personnel could not speak English to explain the Indian items on the menu. It was a very poor restaurant experience. This may change when the restaurant is open a few days, fully staffed and running correctly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yonkers ny

location - very good

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: the location, the bed, the bathroom and the view were all very fine
Cons: I would like a little more choice in the breakfast, eg. - fresh fruit and fresh baked goods
Location: location - wonderful - so many things to see and do. we enjoyed our trip to Tanglewood and dinner in Lee
we found the staff very helpful and were pleased with the room and the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nassau Co. NY

Very pleasant location.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping and breakfast food.
Location: Enjoyed the restaurant Fork and Hearth
It was quite satisfactory. The "continental breakfast" was not the best. Fruit salad was not fresh. Croissants and Danish were unacceptable. Setting, overlooking the lake was delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Brookfield, Ma

Above & Beyond

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Very clean(and we're very picky). Room includes a small fridge that was clean & kept beverages well chilled.
Cons: Nothing !!
Location: Lee is in the Berkshires very close to the NY line. We spent one day down in Great Barrington. Very cool town. A lot of little shops & great eateries.
From the moment my wife & I arrived for a two day stay, the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Very friendly & easy to deal with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

pleasant surprise

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Excellent location.
Very comfortable room, Particularly enjoyed our balcony and ability to open the window for fresh air on a beautiful summer night. Beds, shower, etc were all great but walls seemed a bit thin and could hear hallway noise very clearly throughout the night. Fortunately, the walls between rooms seem much better insulated but if you are a light sleeper, you may want to consider ear plugs. Thanks to a tip from the front desk staff, we knew of some trails just outside the hotel. Consequently, my husband and daughter walked the easy path to a nearby park in the morning while baby and I caught up on some sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Comfortable Rooms and a Lovely Setting

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The Black Swan is outwardly a somewhat dingy motel perched next to a lovely lake in the beautiful setting of the Berkshires. Thankfully the dingy part is primarily about the public spaces - the rooms themselves have been pleasantly if generically refurnished and have the comfortable bedding and fittings you'd expect in a 4 star hotel. You might hope that the owners or managers will be paying attention to corridors and a parking lot that lower the whole impression quite a bit. Like any accommodation in that part of the world, you pay quite a lot during the summer at least. You'll feel happier about that when you've come home than when you're coming and going.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all guest feedback, and hope that we will get to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Way better than Motel 8 for the same rate!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location. Location. Location.
Cons: The continental breakfast buffet was just ok . Had I paid for a larger room with a lake view I might have been a little disappointed with the spread.
Location: On the lake - do you really need to know more? Ok, also located minutes from Tanglewood, Stockbridge, and upscale outlets.
We spent two nights at the Black Swan Inn and were very happy with the accommodations. I really wanted interior hallway access to the rooms for general safety reasons. The only alternative in Lee, at least that I could find on short notice, was the Motel 8. My wife had stayed there a few times previously and it was perfectly acceptable. However, for the same rate we had free WiFi, a beautiful location on the lake, and an in-house bar and restaurant. What's not to love!! It's important to note that we chose the least expensive room type available (2 double beds, parking lot side); additional features were available at higher rates, which would not have been comparable to the standard rooms at a place like Motel 8.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Berkshires. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful lake views from Balcony

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The view as nice the room was clean and the Staff.
Location: outlets scenic drives lakes
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful and extremely nice and the room was spotless . I would definately stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy to hear that everything went well throughout your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
It was very relaxing and pleasant. A beautiful view and the nearby public beach/ park was a great place to enjoy the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.