Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

nice, clean hotel in the Berkshires

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, free breakfast, nice staff.
Cons: Alas, if they could rebuild the pool.
Location: Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow dance, many historic houses and museums.
We have tried multiple hotels in the area, as we enjoy the summer shows at Tanglewood and Jacob's Pillow. None was good enough until we tried this one (under new ownership, as the previous one was nothing special). Only sad part is that the pool was condemned so is not in use, but one can rent a kayak instead, and they do have a steamroom and exercise room. Nice continental breakfast and good Indian restaurant on the premises.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice but dated..MOTEL

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Proximity, Price (season and market), and Room size
Cons: Updating the common areas and improving amenities.
Location: Great location, close to all points of interest in the Berkshires, I would not want a room on the Rte 20 roadside though.
Nice little hotel on a lake close to Lee and Lenox. No elevator to 2nd floor, so you are hiking your bags up and down a narrow and steep set of stairs if that is a concern. Common areas are quite dated and in need of a lot repair, updating, remodeling. Don't count on the hotel food service which is limited and narrow at best...but there are plenty of other options nearby. Room was clean, spacious, and well layed out. Our room had a balcony which was nice but not private at all, sharing eyesight and earshot of everyone else. Staffing levels are a concern and disappointing, as we left the room around 9:30 AM and returned around 1:00 PM for a nap and to freshen up, only to find the room still unmade....they finally got there at 2:30 pm....when we asked to extend our checkout the next day until 2:30 PM which seemed reasonable given the housekeeping staff's schedule....we were told 1:00 was the latest??? Go figure!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodation while attending local activities.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: See above.
Location: Tanglewood, The Mount, Clarke museum, Chesterwood.
Clean, comfortable, quiet air conditioner, very comfortable beds. Breakfast provided was more than adequate. Facility upgrade in process...did not interfere with our stay. Attention to detail was evident throughout. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Pricing was reasonable. We will return for another stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Under Construction

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Finish construction.
Location: Good location on the road between Lee and Lenox. Convenient to Tanglewood. Lots to see and do in the area, if you like antiques, crafts, & museums.
The property is being re-habbed and likely will be very nice when complete. The room was fine -- clean, comfortable and updated. The front entry is under construction so you had to use a different door at the other end of the property and walk back, inside, to the front desk. Not a problem really -- just a bit of a nuisance. Above the steps to this alternate door is an A/C unit for a second floor room dripping condensation onto the steps. Once the parking lot is re-paved with appropriate drainage, the accumulation of mud in spots should be gone. The onsite restaurant, Bombay, is an Indian restaurant. My wife and I don't care for Indian cuisine, so that was a non-starter for us. I would recommend this hotel when the construction is completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

July weekend in Lee, MA

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking lot was being paved so it's probably better already.
Location: Museums, musical venues, theater.
Arrived a little early, allowed to check-in anyway. Room had parking lot view but we had not specified. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom spotless and well supplied/equipped. Convenient to local restaurants and sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, reasonably priced near Tanglewood

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Room was very comfortable, recently updated and clean.
Cons: I look forward to returning when the construction affecting front of motel and lobby is done.
Location: Great location close tonTanglewood.
Nice place, clean and updated rooms. Reasonable price and very nice continental breakfast in room overlooking the lake. Would definitely come back when attending Tanglewood event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant experience

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Though a bit dated and tired in appearance, the warmth of the staff, the little touches in the room, ie outlets available for charging, glass drinking glasses instead of plastic, windows that open more than make up for a bit of dated appearance. The breakfast was just fine and the only caveat is to ask for a room on the lake side. It does have stairs but there are ground floor rooms, just ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millville, MA

Great Expectations

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The view of the lake, the staff and the comfortable room.
Location: We enjoyed walking around the surrounding towns especially Lenox. We went to the winery in Richmond and did some wine tasting.
We stayed May 3rd through the 5th and we had a great time. The staff was very accommodating. One staff member even helped us upgrade to a room with a patio and a view overlooking the lake. It was so nice to sit out in the morning and late afternoon having a drink sitting in the sun. Very quiet and relaxing. We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Maine

Close to where I had to visit.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff , clean, nice bed.
Cons: continue with the upgrade
Great stay, friendly staff, in the middle of a redo to make the Hotel better.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. We appreciated your understanding during a time we were working on improving the property. Once our renovations are complete, the entire property will have a new look and feel to it. Thank you for wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Robert McNary Assistant General Manager Black Swan Inn Lee, MA