Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Middleborough Mass.

Williamstown Hotel.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The overall experience of staying in a Hotel was excellent.
Cons: The room was a tad musty smelling. Air fresheners were needed.
Location: A great area to explore, especially in Autumn when the colors are spectacular. Shopping, hiking and golfing at Taconic Golf Club is what we enjoyed.
The Orchards is situated in the heart of Williamstown Massachusetts. It is an overall great place to stay in a beautiful region. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room we stayed in was large and well appointed. Attention to detail was evident in every way. I would recommend The Orchards to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Aging Beauty

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The original vision for this hotel was clearly ambitious and upscale. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the public spaces impressive. Our room faced on the interior courtyard and garden which was pleasing and restful. The lounge, where afternoon tea is served, and the library are nice touches. However, the hotel has a serious backlog of deferred maintenance. Symbolically, the plantings at the entrance court were un-weeded and several of the flowering plants had long gone to their reward. The painting around the entrance door was scuffed and peeling. The rugs in the rooms and halls were quite worn. In our room, one of the window opening devices was broken completely off. The CEO of the Hay Creek Hotels, Norman McLeod, created the company in 2005 "to focus on the acquisition, renovation and repositioning of underperforming small, upscale independent hotels" according to the Hay Creek website. The renovation part seems to have been overlooked. Finally, try to reserve a hotel on the top floor. The insulation between floors is for some reason insufficient. Our neighbors above were quite ambulatory and we were serenaded by their footsteps until the wee hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

Nice trip to see museums.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Room.
Cons: Bigger bathtub.
Location: MassMOCA, Williams College Museum of Art, Clark Art Institute.
The hotel staff was lovely upon our arrival. Watched some World Cup soccer in the bar. Bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely room, service, people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

This is a special, lovely place

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: I like the setting, the beautiful living room and library, and the guest rooms, a combination of cozy and elegant.
Location: They are walking distance from Williamstown, which is lovely and has shops, cafes, and museums, and the Berkshires location is pretty and picturesque.
I loved my stay at the Orchards hotel. It is beautiful; the library, living room, pool, the fountain outside, are all so charming and quaint at the same time. My room was comfortable, and pampered me with soaps, shampoos, lotions, and robes. The bathroom was large and the room was cozy, with a television in the armoire and access to many channels. The turndown service and housekeeping are excellent. The food at the Gala Steakhouse and Bistro is delicious, the service excellent. The hotel is in a beautiful country location, and they make you feel like a special guest. I love the cookies at the check-in desk, and the ones they leave for you at night, along with even a "sweet dreams" card and weather forecast so that you can plan your stay. It is the perfect place to get away from the city and feel special. I will be coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TJfrom New York, NY

Pleasant stay

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for one night and were very pleased with our stay. We booked the second smallest room, which clocks in at a spacious 500 sq ft. The bed and couch were very comfortable. The on-site restaurant and bar/lounge offered a variety of food choices ranging from burgers to scallops. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is the best hotel in Williamstown, MA.

Posted May 26, 2014
We have stayed in almost every hotel in the Williamstown, MA area; and this is our favorite. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The bartender is fabulous. There are not many options in this area and we were fortunate to finally find the Orchards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marbeefrom Cape Cod

Two nights at the Orchard

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel grounds are lovely. First floor was the nicest including view of inner grounds and best temperature. Floor 2 was "hot". Very convenient to North Adams. Did not go to restaurant - menu in elevator was overwhelming - "ELK" really? Very pricey too. Hotel offered afternoon tea service and morning coffee in lovely front fireplace room. No one mentioned tea or coffee at check-in. Housekeeping staff very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Everything was great, with the exception of the minor complaints I mentioned.
Cons: Better signage for the entrance and a mid-weight blanket.
Location: It is right down the street from Williams College, great running area, some nice restaurants.
When I go away, I'm reluctant to see what I'm going to find. The Orchards was wonderful... well maintained, clean, and warm friendly atmosphere. The only complaints which were very minor... it wasn't clear to us which door to enter to register and the other was that the beds, although unbelievably comfortable, didn't have a mid-weight blanket, only a down comforter or sheet, which made it too hot or too cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com