Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Friendly staff. Great place.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
rooms exceptionally clean.staff friendly and helpful. will stay there my next trip to The Exumas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adriana from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Own dock, over Elizabeth Harbor, beautiful view!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Excelent management. Very close to the best places to reach by boat to diving, fishing or just relax and enjoy beautiful waters and cays
2 out of 5
by Bob from Chicago

Unsatisfactory

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Repairs and a good cleaning.
Location: There was one really good restaurant next door.
One of the table lamps in the room did not work, there was sand in the bed sheets, the drain in the shower was slow, the door stuck when you tried to open it, the air conditioner did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Indiana

Great hotel with awesome view!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Location: Venture into George Town, eat at the Fish Fry, take the water taxi to the Chat N Chill, walk to Jolly Hall Beach (it's beautiful!), and kayak!
We spent a week at Augusta Bay to bring in the New Year and vowed to go back every year! The hotel exceeded our expectations and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The food at the restaurant was excellent. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
2 out of 5
by Thomas from Washington, D.C.

Odd Hotel: Very Hit or Miss.

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: A few of the people were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Remove odd rules postings from the walls Clean and disinfect room to prevent mold accumulation. Mini-fridge for each room instead of only by request
Location: Close to more expensive rental car option. Walkable to "Fish Fry", i.e. native restaurants. (although no sidewalk so it requires some caution)
This was an odd hotel. Likely it could be much better but it appears the current management has several bizarre rules posted in the room (fines for adjusting air conditioner, fines regarding outside food, etc.) and the property is overall very hit or miss on staff friendliness; ranging from amazingly friendly to almost hostile looks. The included breakfast was the worst I have ever had at a hotel. Many stale items and milk tasted nearly sour. The rooms themselves are decent but moldy, which set off both my and my wife’s sinuses. The room was poorly constructed and had maintenance issues, nothing major but a distraction. At the same time the staff was extremely helpful regarding reservations and activities and there seemed to be camaraderie among the guests so it must appeal to some but it isn’t a place I would recommend or return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from New Haven, CT

Comfortable & clean with personal service

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: It was remodeled just a few years ago and rooms were nicely appointed. The small size made it feel comfortable and personal. Felt very safe.
Cons: ASK what you need to know. Most information is by word of mouth. Few written instructions or posted signs/policies.
Location: Two other small hotels on same cove provided nearby dining and bar options. Water taxi can pick you up at the hotel and take you to Stocking Island.
It was our first trip to Exuma and the Bahamas and this place was perfect for us. Intimate hotel with only 16 rooms and each has a balcony/porch with a direct water view (palm trees partially block the view from 201). All of the staff members including front desk, restaurant/bar, and cleaning/maintenance staff were friendly/helpful and several greeted us by name daily. There was a light continental breakfast included with a full breakfast menu available if you wanted to pay. Besides breakfast, we ate two delicious meals here--especially the Friday night buffet. There was a small pool that no one swam in because the beach was so much more inviting! The "beach" area directly in front of the hotel was small, but it was only a short walk to Jolly Hall beach which was one of the most unspoiled, beautiful beaches I have ever seen. It would be possible to eat all meals in the hotel and never leave but whenever we wanted to venture out, the staff was helpful and gave us good suggestions or made arrangements for us to be picked up. This hotel is only about a mile from "downtown" George Town but it is not safe to walk--the cars go fast on a narrow curvy road with no sidewalk and little berm. We walked it twice but would NOT recommend it. The cab ride to "town" is only ten dollars and other than eating in one or two restaurants and a few shops/straw market, there wasn't much to do there. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation, Augusta Bay is the perfect spot!
2 out of 5
by Erick from Paris

I do not recommend it

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Close to the sea
Cons: Communication (see above) and food quality
Let's go straight to the point: in my culture, what they did to us is called a rip off. May be in other cultures this is acceptable, I let you judge. We checked out at 1200PM and they charged us 50USD for late check-out because the normal check-out time is 1100AM. BUT - they never told us, particularly during the check-in, that the normal time to check-out is 1100AM - they never told us that even ONE hour extra would be charged 50USD - it is not written in the room - when I told the lady at the check-out counter that I do not want to pay these 50USD, she told us that anyway it is already charged on our credit card: they had processed the credit card charging even before showing me the bill - when I showed surprised about that, she told us that, when she took her shift, the manager had told her to prepare the bill including the 50USD for late check-out. How on earth, at 0800 AM did the manager know that we would check-out late - when I asked to talk to the manager, he was conveniently not reachable Otherwise: - the staff is very nice and helpful - the room is ok and confortable (we took a sea view room) - the sea is just a stone throw away from your balcony but there is no beach at high tide - the food is just ok and their continental breakfast is really poor Erick
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pearl from Calgary, Canada

Nice hotel on beach and great management and food

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Management, staff, cleanliness, location, food.
Cons: Entertainment very limited, but we enjoyed music next door when we were not enjoying the quiet of watching the sunsets.
Location: Walk to George Town, 2 lovely beaches, pool at hotel, local Fish Fry for food, Stocking Island, stingrays and conch burgers, Mamas for lobster !
Opted for this hotel although most of the wedding party went to Sandals. We were very happy with our decision as we like to experience the island and the people who live there. No disappointments at all. We also rented a car for a few days and got to see the whole island. Also rented a power catamaran and island hopped which was great fun. The hotel manager and staff were exceptional and made our stay very pleasant and fun. We also met the owner of the hotel who is very personable and relaxed. We will return !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: The food was excellent and the hotel staff were wonderful. I loved how I could step outside my veranda and go straight into the ocean.
Cons: Beds are very hard. My back hurt after sleeping on the hard mattress. Also, I reserved two queen beds online but only got one bed.
Extremely friendly staff who treated you like family.