Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from miami fl

Great Atmosphere

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Cons: Front Desk Service Checking In Process Customer response times
Great Atmosphere for couples and family. The staff at the restaurant are very friendly, but I must say that the staff at the front counter are rude the check in process is painstaking long they want so many forms signed. The forms read condo association rules and it is sort of run like a home owners association, they seem to have forgotten that it's a resort. But over all great service I can't complain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashfaq from Seattle, WA

Not worth the cost

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
They gave us an ocean view room which is really a partial view room coz most of the view was not the ocean itself but rather the barren land between the ocean and the Sandals resort. These are pretty much condominium type rooms good for family with children and those who need to cook. Rooms are very nice but not the type for a quick leisure Tavel. Long wait at the dinner table. The food was pathetic considering the Bahamian food is so awesome elsewhere. Paid 20 bucks for 3 croissants in the morning. That's crazy. The cost for staying at this hotel is not justifiable coz you get so much more at the Sandals next door. Overall a big disappointment considering how much we paid for this hotel. Stay at other places like Peace and Plenty or Some of the other boutique hotels near Georgetown to get a perfect Caribbean vacation experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by rockolesto from san francisco

Impeccable accommodations & service. Terrible food

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pros: One of the best maintained and well-appointed properties we've stayed at. It was far better than the photos - which we actually thought were already nice. The staff and service were so incredibly warm and friendly and it felt very genuine. The beach is gorgeous. The villas were impressive. Cons: The food is actually terrible. It's such a shame for such a beautiful place. I don't want to detail all the ways the food fails - because we ate there every day and almost everything we ate was awful - but we spoke with another family we recognized at the airport on the way back and they thought the same thing. And we really expected the bar to serve tropical-type drinks with real fruit/coconut, but no. Ironically just flavored junk. We ended up having to rent a car for a few days so we could get groceries, which is a bummer since we were on vacation and looking forward to not cooking. Thank god for the well-appointed kitchen :) One other con: They play unbearably bad music in the restaurant/bar/pool. Being in the Caribbean I want to hear island-type music (reggae/calypso, etc.). They played Bette Middler, Michael Bolton, Celine Dion, etc. We had to leave the pool a few times just to get away from the feeling we were stuck on a singles cruise for seniors. But besides the food and music, this place exceeded expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

A wonderful getaway spot!

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Everything
Location: Rent a car and explore! The convenience store a mile or two away is great. Just pull off the road and get beautiful, turquoise views! Chat'nChill.
Gorgeous location. Gorgeous, spotless grounds and amenities. Villas are outstanding. Ask for an unobstructed ocean view. Beds are welcoming and comfy. Kitchen was top-knotch. We had everything we could have wanted. Fun golf cart to get to the liquor store quickly. Fitness center was great. The Grill has yummy food. The staff truly make Grand Isle what it is. Eduardo at the Grill is a TRUE GEM! Crystal, Shavar, Shan and all the rest, we so appreciated you!! Everyone here has a smile on their face and are more than happy to do whatever is necessary to put one on yours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort, with breathtaking views

Posted Sep 3, 2013
First time in Exuma. Grand isle resort was the perfect gateaway. Overall it was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Kansas City MO

Awesome resort on the beach!

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: The rooms were gorgeous and the beach was beautiful.
Cons: The grocery store nearby sells expired foods. Check dates carefully before purchasing.
Location: We took the all day cruise to the out islands to snorkel Thunderball Grotto which was amazing. The swimming pigs were fun to see.
We stayed at Grand Isle Resort for 7 wonderful nights. This resort has all the bells and whistles. It's spotlessly clean. The staff is fast and friendly. Emerson was a great help. He let us borrow his personal phone charger to charge our camera as we forgot the charger at home. He got guests involved in beach volleyball. I cannot say enough great things about this resort. We travel to the Caribbean every Summer and this by far has been our best experience yet. We will absolutely return to Grand Isle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: The room, the pool, the beach, the friendly and professional staff.
Cons: nothing!
Location: The hotel has easy access directly onto the beach. The hotel itself is a little remote, if you want to explore the island you will need a rental/cab.
My wife and I loved staying at Grand Isle Resort and Spa. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place, this is it. The 1 bedroom apartment was extremely spacious. The pool is nice. Easy access to a beautiful beach that doesn't get crowded at all. We perhaps would have like a little more variety with the lunch menu, but it was OK.