Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Over priced. Food and service were not that great
3 out of 5
by claire from san diego

Service poor mostly. Food below average

Posted May 30, 2014
No follow thru on requests. Some staff very nice and helpful. Food below average except at the Italian and French restaurant which was good. No bar service on beach. Water amazingly beautiful and you had full access to equipment kayaks etc. pool very nice. day trip to Stockton amazing!! I'm a real foodie so I wasn't overly impressed with the selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sandal Emerald Bay deserves praise

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Business Trip -
Beautiful, secluded and outstanding for relaxation and fun - this island get away was great for us and the friends we met there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Train their employees better. Improve their buffet/food.
The staff was not very friendly. It took them a long time for the meals/drinks. We had a butler service and tipped them over $350 and after they received their tip their attitudes turned for the worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from TN.

Couldn't be more pleased

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Location: On the beach and no need to go outside the property.
I had read some reviews that stated that the food was not good before we got here but that was not the case. The food was outstanding everywhere except the italian restaurant but that could have been my choice of lobster which is not really an Italian speciality. Service at all levels was top tier. So much food, drink and entertainment that you would have to work at being bored. Plus the golf course was outstanding and difficult. Didn't use the spa but heard it was excellent. We did yoga instead. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kim from atlanta

Service was a little slow at all the restaurants.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: We had the beach to ourselves! Everyone was at the pool, I guess close to the bars.
Waited 20 minutes for a bottle of wine at dinner, brought out the wrong bottle . After all that they were out of the ordered 1, finally got 2nd choice with the entrees. Beach equipment needs updating. Beach chairs broken, paddle boards worn, ping pong paddles worn. Overall good experience, but don't understand why we were picked up at 10 for a 1:30 flight. Wasted half a day at the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach, great hotel and food OK.

Posted Nov 24, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasantly surprised by our first experience at a Sandals Resort. The food was excellent at every restaurant! We highly recommend the butler service! The butlers took such great care of us throughout our entire stay! Loved it!
1 out of 5
by Darren from Houston, TX

Overpriced and Horrible Food! Don't do it

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Staff was excellent
Cons: Food and price
This was our first time at a "Scandals" resort and will definitely be our last. We’ve visited several islands and resorts in the Caribbean, although the beaches are beautiful just as they are at other islands, this place is WAY overpriced for what you get. The rooms should have been more like $300 a night. We came here for our friend’s wedding. I’ve read some of the raving reviews on here about this resort and seemed a bit surprised. There are much better resorts to visit in the Caribbean for this price. One of the couples in our group was asked by the resort to leave them a 5 star review on tripadvisor. Hummm Everything is cooked in truffle oil or it’s either fried. There are a few other places to eat on the resort but they are just ok. The French and Italian restaurants, which is considered their 5 star, I would rate them a low 3. Also they require you to wear long pants, collared shirt and no sandals and you have to make a reservation. The Drunken Duck Pub had decent meals. However, the breakfast was not good at all. Eggs were always runny and had a funny taste. The pancakes where like eating a sponge, we tried them two different times on two different days, consistently bad! Also the wedding reception dinner, snapper was served. It was one of the worst meals we have ever had. It was WAY over cooked and was like eating rubber! No one in our group of 15 people ate their meal. After the reception was over, we had to go to another restaurant to eat!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Concept. Poor Execution. Will not Recommend

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: I would not recommend
Cons: The staff need to be trained on providing service...any level of service is more than what they offer now. The food needs to be improved.
Location: Nothing else on this island
The Sandals concept is a great concept. Unfortunately it was poorly executed! The setting was incredibly romantic and picturesque. We paid twice as much for this experience than we have paid for any of our Mexico vacations and expected an amazing experience. We did not get it. The beach was beautiful. The water is amazing. Unfortunately, the food and service were terrible. There was no attention to details and the staff was downright lazy. Restaurants were closed 15 minutes ahead of schedule. There was no schedule in your room of when things were open or closed, so every time we were ready to eat, everything was closed. The quiet pool was unstaffed several days and out of basic items other days. For example, I ordered a pina colada and was told we are out… Not let me call someone to bring over more or let me walk over to the bar 5 minutes away and get more to make… just we are out. There were no clean towels by the pool. When I asked for Ice from the buy who refills the mini bar...his response was it’s on the second floor. When I went to the second floor ...it was out of ice! When I asked him for clean glasses, he said maid service brings that. When maid service came... no clean glasses. The food was just average. It tasted like frozen food reheated in the microwave. The food cooked on the outside grill was completely overcooked and rubbery. What could have been an incredible experience was less than average and for the price was a complete disappointment. I will not go back.