Ratings based on 1,264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Great choice in Boston

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Style of room, boutique hotel feel, good location
Location: Close to green and red T lines. Charming neighborhood. Check out Flour Cafe for breakfast two blocks away!
This is lovely boutique hotel in a quiet cobblestone sidewalk neighborhood in Back Bay. The rooms are admittedly small, but clean with modern decor. The location is convenient to two T subway lines and, with the proper shoes and some time, walking distance to the major attractions. The only complaints would be the bathroom is so small, the sink is almost unusable with no vanity at all. Also, the smoke alarm in my room kept chirping in the middle of the night, so they moved me to another room. Anyways, I would definitely stay there again and the price is right comparatively in this market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very kind personnel.

Posted May 17, 2015
At walking distance from the the attractions and downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel. Walking distance to our son's apt.

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: location.
Air conditioning did not work. Reported it to front desk but no one responded. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Lovely hotel in a fabulous location

Posted May 16, 2015
Coming from out of town, we were at first nervous about the hotel. However we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and well-maintained. They were also very comfortable, though the bathroom space was a little cramped (not a big deal at all). The two aspects my family and I really appreciated - the location and the staff. The location was so central to so many of the activities we wanted to do. We took taxis everywhere and it was never more than a 15 minute drive (usually closer to 5-10). There's also several places to eat nearby and it feels like a very friendly and safe neighborhood. The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. Any feedback or comments we gave them they listened fully, and in several situations watched them take immediate action to address what we had said. They also helped provide food recommendations, purchase trolley tour tickets (they give a slight discount for purchasing at the hotel), and in general navigating the city with which we were not so familiar. It was a great trip, and knowing we had a pleasant and comfortable place to return to each day made the trip that much more enjoyable!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The room was small but comfortable.
Cons: Leave fresh towels when asked too.
Location: There's a few good restaurants within walking distance. To far from public transportation for my liking.
My experience at the hotel was just fine. It was a cute quaint hotel. A little bit far from public transportation and the hot spots. The taxi situation was terrible. Waiting up to 30 minutes for a cab because cabs don't like coming to the south end of boston is not ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chandler Inn is a gem.

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Charming, great location, good staff, and comfortable, clean and modernized room.
Location: The Inn is next to great shopping and all the some of the finest monuments and areas in the city
The Inn is charming and recently renovated. The neighborhood is perfect with lovely old brownstones. You are close to the most desired addresses in Boston but paying a reasonable price. The staff was quick and smart. The restaurant is very cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
Very well located in the downtown Boston area. Room was clean, and well equipped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass

Basic and affordable

Posted May 7, 2015
Cons: Doorman and/or valet to park car.
Location: Close to two good restaurants -- The Red Lantern (Asian) and Zocalo (Mexican).
Back Bay Hotel convenient to Back Bay Train station. Rooms are small but comfortable. Bathroom is tiny -- not for large people. Not a "high service" hotel -- i.e. no one to help with bags, etc. Staff were pleasant. If you are driving into Boston, you may not want to stay here, particularly in the colder months, because there is no on-site parking. I was directed to a public parking facility that is two blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakville, On

Nice hotel near downtown

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Very reasonably priced so close to downtown. Small room and bathroom, European size. Clean. They have a good restaurant and there is an excellent café next door. Would go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Well appointed in a quiet area

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: I needed directions to turn on the A/C and turn off the radio sleep alarm.
Location: Restauratns and shopping nearby. Subway was a 10 minute walk.
I liked the Chandler Inn. It is completely remodeled old building. The room was smallish but comfortable and well appointed.