Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Overpriced, overrated, overdue for a makeover

Posted Sep 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warrnambool, Aus

Beautiful surroundings right on the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Lovely, spacious and clean accomodation. Staff were always ready to help. Restaurants were great and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gabrielfrom Perth WA

Sky City is in Heaven.

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Oh what a difference.... We have endured 2 nights at Palms City Resort before coming to Sky City.,,,, The difference is like stepping out from Earth into Heaven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Defa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by timfrom melbourne

Carry your own bags

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Apart from our air conditioner breaking down at 3am and dehydrating us to the point of headaches, not a bad place. This was handled pretty well, we were moved to another room in the middle of the night. However, help with the bags was not offered. Same with both arrival and departure. Unloaded and loaded our luggage into taxis without even a smile from concierge let alone an offer or assistance. Very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WA Mindarie

Nice hotel close to a beach you can't use....

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Stayed July 2014 for 1 week. Nice hotel but request a room where you can turn off the aircon. Nice spot next to Mindil Beach. Mindil Markets are on Thursday nights and you can easily walk there, there are loads of food stalls so you can have your tea there. Nice place to stay if I was to return to Darwin, but doubt I would go back as we went to see the Footy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimfrom Tasmania

Good hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Quiet, good eating facilities
Cons: More information on facilities away from hotel, eg Cullen Bay is only a 20 min walk from hotel which has many fine eating establishments.
Location: Beach on doorstep, walking tracks and Cullen Bay
Nice hotel on the beach but a little way from the city buy hotel does provide a limited shuttle to the city. Walking distance to Darwin Thursday night markets.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcofrom Brisbane

Air conditioning too cold

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Room temperature was not adjustable and it was to low. The entire hotel was cold. Staff service quite deficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Keranfrom Sydney

My relaxing Break

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading a few reviews about Skycity I wondered if I had wasted a lot of money, I was relieved that the reviews I read were from either very fussing people or Starcity listened and fixed their issues or I really needed a break . We loved everything about Skycity. Our room had great views, the atmosphere was relaxed, surprisingly quiet considering they staff said the hotel was completed booked out. The lagoon pool was sensational, the other pool was relaxing as well with a beautiful view over Mindil beach. The pool with the spa made better cocktails than the lagoon pool. We swam everyday, which we found that the pools in town were in shade and they were cold. Skycity pools are in the sun all day. As we wanted to relax, Skycity was perfect for us. We ate at all the restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Through no fault of the hotel but our own, we did get sick of the food. I just wanted simple food towards the end the trip so we drove to town for this. The food was no cheaper, but it was much more simple. We tried the buffet breakfast, but the air conditioning was too cold sitting inside and it was too windy outside, I didn't pack winter clothes. We love breakfast and it was really good the hotel had plenty of local newspapers for the guests. We would definitely stay here again. My only issue is that I could only get a barista made coffee after 10am. We really don't like pre made coffee or tea out of a machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great area, hotel room had a musty smell to it, could not grant us a later check out time, even though hotel was quiet. Boys on concierge desk very helpful but reception girls were not very friendly. Was told we could use the facilities after we couldn't get a late check out, but when I asked where I could get changed before my flight I was told to use the toilet ?? Breakfast should be included for the price.