Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manila, Philippines

Lovely people

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Instructions.
Location: There are lots of restaurants near by. An interesting small museum and lots of places to stroll.
The staff at the Carlton Ambassador were delightful; really truly friendly and supportive. They went out of their way to be of service and seemed to be just naturally pleasant. I stayed in a Signature room which had been recently redecorated. It was a bit snug but more than adequate. The room service menu, oddly lacked information about how to actually CALL room service. To my further frustration, the menu instructed the guest to call for more options... but no number to be found. In fact, no instructions for the phone at all. Perhaps a mischevious guest took it? The breakfast was a bit dull but filling and adequate. Again, the service was attentive and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lowestoft

Comfortable

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great place and staff friendly, only bad thing is that there isn't a gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westerwald

Ruhig & komfortabel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Wir waren für ein langes Wochenende im Carlton einquatiert. Gefallen hat uns ein sehr zuvorkommendes und freundliches Team, die ruhige aber dennoch zentrale Lage in Den Haag mit guter Straßenbahnanbindung, die hervorragende Betten in kleinen aber stilvoll eingerichteten Zimmern. Auf das sehr teuere Frühstück von 23 € pp haben wir verzichtet und sind stattdessen in einem der zahlreichen Cafes auf der "Nordeinde" für 8,50 € pp bestens bedient worden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma, WA

Nice boutique hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location, clean room, comfy bed, room rate.
Cons: Shower stall should be more spacious. Wifi needs improvement. Staff friendlier.
Location: In the embassy area on a picturesque tree-lined street. Restaurants, supermarkets, shops, galleries, museums are all nearby within walking distance.
I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband who had some work at the Shell Headquarters. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the office. Expedia had emailed us about a possible upgrade due to our status, but I think we were only offered the smallest room on the top floor facing some trees with no view, and the free wifi kept dropping, maybe due to the room's poor location. That has created much inconvenience. The room is pretty with traditional design, and the bed is comfortable. There is a small balcony and we can leave the door open to get fresh air. The bathroom is spotless, new with modern ammenities, although the shower stall is very cramped. We never ate in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. The hotel is located in the embassy area on a street lined with big chestnut trees, Restaurants, supermarkets, shops, museums and art galleries are within walking distance. We never used any public transportation or taxis, and that's definitely a plus. As for the customer service, I have to say I was a bit annoyed during check-in. Three staff on duty were in the reception area when I tried to enter through the revolving door. They saw me, but no one bothered to come by to help while I was struggling to push two pieeces of luggage through. However, the following days there were much better people, they're the younger gentlemen, I wish I had their names. Overall, we had good experience here, and would recommend this hotel for business travellers and tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I used this hotel for 2 nights while working in the area. Very friendly and convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Heidelberg

Angenehmes, gepflegtes Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Gepflegtes Hotel in ruhiger Lage, das nicht zuletzt von seiner Nähe zu vielen Botschaftsgebäuden profitiert. Es liegt aber dennoch - zumindest für Menschen, die gut zu Fuß sind - recht zentral. Man kann in 10 - 15 Minuten Den Haags Innenstadt erreichen. Die sehr sauberen Zimmer sind etwas plüschig, dem Landhausstil der Achtzigerjahre entsprechend in 'Eiche grün', eingerichtet. Das Personal war zuvorkommend, wurde von uns allerdings auch nicht besonders gefordert. Insgesamt sein Geld wert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

une bonne adresse

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hôtel très agréable, bien situé, très propre, avec un personnel très dévoué.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hilaryfrom Leeds, UK

Lovely hotel with good transport links

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant, clean and comfortable rooms with tea/coffee maker, pristine bathrooms and easy to use air conditioning. Bar with outdoor terrace. Two minutes walk to stop for buses 22 and 24 to Central Station and tram number 1 between Delft and Scheveningen. Ask how to switch on the standard lamps - they do work but the control is less than obvious! Breakfast expensive so didn't have it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, US

Nice hotel close to city center

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I had a very pleasant stay. The only reason to give 4 instead of 5 stars is the 42euro charge for 1 breakfast. The buffet was good but nothing out of this world, and 42 euro is twice what I paid for a great dinner in the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by r.w.from Est de la France . Moselle

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tres bon hôtel à recommander vivement pour ces chambres spacieuses et bien situé pour visiter Den Haag.