Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Chicago

Great location--beach, shops, entertainment

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Excellent hotel on the beach. Very clean rooms with great views. Would have been a 5 all the way except for a little lack of focus by the restaurant staff; and my room was a little small but comfortable. The hotel staff in general was courteous and efficient. The tram is 50 yards from the hotel entrance and 15 min from Den Haag Central Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from London

Ugly hotel but on the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2014
The hotel is very ugly, parking and breakfast were expensive, the lifts are slower than the stairs, the beds are to sink into rather than lie on and the receptionist had to have two goes at giving my daughter and I a twin rather than double room, despite it appearing on our reservation. And no plug in the sink which rather undermines the environmental messages. But it is right on the beach, the pool was nice and the rooms were clean, well-equipped and reasonably priced. So I'd go back if necessary
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Switzerland

Excellent Position

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Very little
Location: Lovely park on the doorstep. only 5 minutes by tram into Hague centre and Scheveningen beach
Perfect position, especially if you have a dog with you. Next to a park for walks. The number one tram stops outside. 5 minutes to both the centre of The Hague and the beach at Scheveningen. The room in the new wing was very good. A very good bar and restaurant. All staff were very friendly and attentive. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Texas USA

Hotel is right on the beach with lots of eateries

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Carlton Beach is quiet and interior is well decorated without being intimidating. Even twin beds are large.
Cons: Update carpet in hallway. Lose the chirping gull sound on the elevator.
Location: Loved closeness to beach and access to so many food options from well-known international fast food to quaint local ethnic restaurants around hotel
Found the hotel to be more of a 3.5 star rather than 4 star. The hotel although not new had very pleasant interior. There were bath and face towels but no small hand towels. Purchased own hand towels from store in mall down boardwalk from hotel. Nice size room on third floor. Not much noise either. Easy access to beginning of tram and bus route at Zwaarte Pad. If you are going to stay any length of time, get an OV chip card at Den Haag Central station to ride tram and bus and local train conveniently. Keep it loaded over 20 Euro to ride train. Did not eat at hotel because there were so many choices along the beach. Breakfast too pricey at 22 Euro. Noticed most patrons not eating there. Check in/check out desk manned by very young staff. Had to leave early for airport and only one young man who was on his second late night/early morning shift to check out. We had questions about bill and he was struggling to answer. Should have one more experienced person with him.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and good experience

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Enjoyed the stay. Staff were helpful, food was good and room was very large considering the price I paid. Only negative thing to say is the pool is tiny so not worth getting wet for and gym is slightly tired and dirty. Overall a good experience though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Calgary, Canada

Wonderful Seaside Hotel close to Transport hub

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: 1. Warm and friendly staff who were very helpful. 2. Excellent rooms with all facilities, very clean 3. Linen was very clean. 4. Close to beach.
Cons: Room service- Food too expensive and not much to choose from.
Location: 1. Very good location being close to beach, transport terminus and shopping places.
A satisfied customer is a repeat customer. That is why this has been our second stay at this this hotel in the past 3 years having come all the way from Canada. We found the staff friendly and efficient with quick processing at check in and check out. Rooms were excellent and comfortable. The setting was wonderful. The tram and bus terminus being a 2 minute walk from hotel was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yogi from UK

Weekend break visiting family.

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Location. At the end of the tram line and other hotels. Ease of access to promenade and shops.
Cons: No mugs or creamer in the room which we had to request. Noise level after 11pm from swimming pool/recreation centre next door was a bit loud.
Location: Dune room still has a sea view (albeit restricted). LOTS to do as a tourist:i.e. sightseeing, beach activities, shopping, Madurodam miniature vilage.
I know the area but never stayed in this particular hotel before.
3 out of 5
by Stella from UK

Nothing Spectacular

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Location: Location a rip off for tourists, avoid the coastal beach clubs etc.
Easy to find from the tram stop. Rooms are cosy and homely, rather small. Bathroom small, no bath and lacks storage space. We had a dune view room, view was nice but can be noisy with the trams, but nothing really bothered us. Beach club staff are incompetent to the highest level and need training. Have no clue the procedure regarding the sunbeds and they kept bothering us due to there lack of incompetence, I'm on holiday to relax. Fitness centre too small, too hot to workout and some equipment very dated. Would of had breakfast but far too expensive, bar a absolute rip off like most of Scheveinigen, On the hole, nothing special, hotel is ok. No one goes out of your way to make you feel special, it is like herding a load of cattle, waiting for the next load of holiday makers. Probably not visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved this hotel. It was right on the beach! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was exceptional! The room was good sized with a little balcony equipped with a table and chairs