Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a lot of places to choose from in Thermopolis.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Hotel was just okay. I would not want to stay for an extended time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lander, WY

Charming, at home feeling

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: This hotel had a personality
Location: Black Bear Cafe, Star Plunge, Hot Springs State Park, Wyoming Dinosaur Museum, and Wyoming Whiskey in Kirby, WY
Not all the big chain hotel amenities, but cozy and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
A very basic room. Grocery store across the street. Not many amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gardiner,MT

The worst place to stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: nothing at all
Cons: Give my money back to stay someplace else or possibly tear the place down and start over
Location: nothing besides the hot springs
The place doesn't look bad from the drive in until you see the inside. The woman that is the innkeeper is friendly but when she takes you to your room and the door was already wide open and dirtier than as if you slept outside in a dirt pile. She then proceeds to clean the toilet bowl with a wad of toilet paper with here bare hands. The innkeeper thought our fire alarm was going off because she heard something from here office so she called our room and told us to open our door we did not have an alarm going off. The innkeeper walked into our room with out knocking and it was the room next door the man was smoking like a chimney. I also had friends that stayed and the innkeeper gave them sheets because she didn't know if they had been changed. Do not stay here it was so gross and dirty the place looks as if it as not been cleaned for a long time
3 out of 5
by s from wy

You get what you pay for but the room was so dirty

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff at desk, and rates
Cons: Clean, clean and then clean again
Location: Hot springs, okay restaurants, beautiful drive, fishing, camping, nice people.
Very nice staff (owners?) at the desk. But about the worst room I have ever stayed in. Multiple things held together with duct tape (in the fridge, bathroom blinds, etc.). I like quirky "dive" motels, but this place was the most ghetto dirty place ever. I didn't even wan't to walk on the carpet without shoes. The rates are great and the staff very nice though. Just think they must need new housekeeping and/or maintenance staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Little Quirky, but a great place to stay

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: I believe they have the best rate in town. We were close to everything, and had amenities that in hotel chains would have cost us a fortune.
Cons: pamphlets in room were outdated, WIFI password was taped to the phone unlabeled, not in any of the reviews did I see there was NO bathroom door.
Over all I found this place a little quirky. we were here in the off season, so there wasn't a lot going on. The room was not impressive (odd decorations etc) but clean, lots of room, a couch, kitchen area, fridge and a big TV for a low price. We would stay here again. I would love to see this place really take care of the details though. The pamphlets in the room were out dated giving wrong days and hours for restaurants or attractions. I did not see any where that there would be no bathroom door which was kind of weird. There was a shower curtain closing off the space, but showering right next to the toilet was a turn off. It may just be the room type. We stayed in the handicapped accessible rooms because it was the only one available to book. One of the care givers also parked her motorized chair and left it next to our room door each day we stayed there. I felt weird about parking in our spot and blocking her chair in, but we asked that it be moved and the front desk guy only backed it up a bit, only to return to the same spot the next day. Its an odd little place, not luxury, but then again the price was right. I would say our stay wasn't bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike

Ok.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: The fact that there was no staff in the office was a little alarming, but everything worked out fine. Check out was easy and convenient.
Location: Hot springs are nearby. That's it. Don't go to Thermopolis expecting anything else. By the look of the town, we skipped the hot springs. Go figure.
The Paintbrush Inn was an average Motel. There were some quirks about the place, but nothing crazy good or bad. The room was cheap, and it was a larger room with a king bed. Three stars says it all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 Stars for a Reason!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
We knew it was a 2 star motel when we booked it but thought we'd take the chance anyway. When we got there no one was at the front desk to check us in, we had to call the number posted on the front door. When she did check us in she wasn't real sure what room we were going to be in. The office was an absolute disaster, very disorganized and had a funny smell. We checked in about 4:30 PM that same night at 10:30 PM she called us to see if we were still coming and planned on checking in before midnight. I was very irritated because this same person already checked us in but apparently didn't have a record of it. The room was very small, we did get the 2 beds but it wasn't a 2 queen bed room like we paid for it was a full and a twin. The bathroom appeared dirty and grimy. The walls were paper thin and the door into the room leaked cold air really bad. The bed was lumpy and we both sank toward the middle. The room had a funny odor that seemed like cleaning supplies but we couldn't really place it. All in all it was an uncomfortable stay and the staff isn't capable of running a motel and the upkeep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paint Brush in is a great value.

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Location, friendliness, cleanliness and comfort
Location: Thermopolis is packed with things to do from the dinosaur museum to the hot springs to the petroglyphs to being able to go on your own dinosaur dig.
Our experience during our stay was awesome. The owner was friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The price was just great. I guess you could pay a lot more and stay at one of the chain hotels in town, but sometimes we get tired of getting ripped off. This was the best value place we stayed our entire trip
2 out of 5
by Marsha from Arvada,Co.

Overpriced

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Cons: REPLACE CARPETS AND BUY NEW SHEETS AND PILLOWCASES. NEW TOWELS.
Location: Hot Springs were nice.
It s a very old Motel. The rugs were dirty, The sheets were old and yellowed. I think they could have spent more money on fixing it up and not on 2 Big screen TV's. I did watch the TV because I could not sleep in the bed. Sorry.