Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
by S. Degen from Karlsruhe

Tolle Lage

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
Das Neelakantha liegt am allerbesten Abschnitt des Lighthouse Beach. Leider wurde es gerade renoviert (April 2014) , so dass das Restaurant nicht zur Verfügung stand und wir das Frühstück aufs Zimmer gebracht bekamen. Auch rings um den Pool waren die Handwerker heftig zugange. Die Zimmer sind geräumig und recht schön, die Badezimmer sind weniger gut, aber für uns gerade noch ok. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Poolhandtücher gibt es keine. Nach unser Einschätzung ein 2** Hotel, wir sind erfahrene Reisebüroexpedienten...Der Blick vom Balkon auf das Meer ist nicht zu toppen. Am Wochenende kamen viele Inder für 1 oder 2 Nächte, von denen die Frauen in voller Bekleidung samt Kopftuch in den Pool gingen, nicht jeder Europäer mag dies...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by catherine black from spain

good place to stay if...

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
If you don't mind climbing stairs this is a very good hotel.The pool and area around it right opposite the beach is very nice.The room was a good size, clean and had a generous sea-facing balcony. Breakfast was basis but sufficient and served in the restaurant on the promenade.It is situated in the middle of the promenade in the resort of Kovalam next to all the restaurants and shops.For the price this is a good hotel the only thing that is not so good are the stairs but they have rooms on lower floors.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pawan Dhir from London- UK

Great Location

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Neelakanta is a dated hotel but its great advantage is the location and pool overlooking the Kovalam beach. Do not expect too much from the interior of the room- you get what you pay for and if you pay extra you get more! Each room has a balcony/ seating area and sea view. It was great just to sit there in evenings and look at the beach, the Light House and general life over a glass of wine before heading for a meal of fresh fish. We recommend different restaurants in the area- towards the Light House are better. The staff could not be more helpful! A perfecting place to recharge your batteries for a few days before heading to the backwaters and tea plantations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Astrid Sofia Andersen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Vancouver

Nice hotel across from beach with sea view

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: This is one of the best hotels in Kovalam. It has a wonderful sea view, balcony, ice pool, and is just opposite the beach. The staff is wonderful!
Cons: Update the rooms a bit.
Location: Great beach, excellent shopping, quiet with no motorized vehicles.
We loved our stay at this hotel. We had a big room overlooking the pool with a sea view and requested to be changed to a higher floor with a view closer to the sea. The staff was happy to move us the next day. We loved the cafe attached to the hotel and the choices for breakfast were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nina Lei from Danmark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nicklas from Bra

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels
Ett helt okej hotell för priset. När vi kom fram fanns dock inte vår bokning, vilket mannen i receptionen gjorde en stor sak av och menade att vi inte fick bo där. Detta trots att vi hade bokningsbekräftelsen. Mannen ville boka om oss till ett annat hotell och ett mindre rum. Efter lite diskussion och hot om att ta kontakt med hotels.com "hittades" vår bokning. Vi fick vårt rum. AC fungerade inte men det funkade ändå. Bra läge på hotellet och fin utsikt. Hotellet i sig var fint, även om rummet var rätt nedggånget och inte städades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MIGLO from UK

great staff

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels
It was very good, the only thing is that you must let the manager if your choice of breakfast is not available, but overall a great stay.