Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire,uk

Very good hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The position. The staff. The food. The staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location is perfect. The beach on the doorstep. The view from the foyer room - excellent.
We stayed at this hotel for one night. Wished we could have stayed longer. The staff were very helpful. The food was very good. The lady in her sari, forget her name now,was the most helpful at the reception. Next year, I want to go there and spend a fortnight.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Y

Fake smiles, embarrassing check out.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
On arrival (a deluxe suite upgrade) we were advised that thy had only just built the suite and the refurb was not complete, the suite did not yet have a phone line, safe, hairdryer etc and there would be banging / drilling noise around us and that we could move to a standard room if we wished. We both said no but we weren't happy about the noise so they offered us 5000INR reduction per night (about £4.50) to keep our booking. We agreed despite this being a low refund for noise so therefore did not complain about the noise. Staff and housekeeping were superb and generally enjoyed our stay, until the end. We came to pay our room charges and asked to have the 5000INR per night reduction removed from our charges as we stayed for 13 nights. All of a sudden the manager had no recollection of advising us of this part refund (my partner and I clearly recall 100% what was offered to us on arrival) and accused us of lying. This is disgusting treatment of hotel guests I felt humiliated. I work in travel and therefore have stayed in plenty of 4-5 star hotels and never had this treatment. I need to travel to India again for business and sadly after this I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rebeccafrom London

i probably would n't return

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hello the stay was lovely. It was ridiculous that you had to pay for internet at such a high end hotel. Also it was a shame the bar shut so early in your hotel. Also the pool bar had no beers at all and very little options for drink, so you can't really call it a pool bar. The whole place felt a little soulless to me especially the lobby, but beautiful, and very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Très bel hôtel. Service attentionné. Situation parfaite. Spa de très bon niveau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Devon

Fantastic Hotel and best in Varkala by far!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Location: Local beach is very nice and only a 5min taxi drive or 15min walk to the Heli-pad at South Cliff where there are plenty more beaches and restaurants.
We had a wonderful experience at the Gateway, staff were very helpful and friendly and always looking to please the guests. I surfed over at North Cliff and the staff at the hotel were very good with local directions/booking taxes etc. so it made our stay and our sight seeing all the more enjoyable. Food here is wonderful and they even gave us a crash course in the local cooking methods, pool is a good size to do some laps of the pool but also nice to relax with a drink in the pool with wonderful sea views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JTfrom UK

A fantastic experience

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here with our little girl whilst travelling India and loved it. It was very reasonably priced, we paid about £50 GBP for room + breakfast. Massive room and bathroom which was great for baby's cot etc. We had all been a bit ill prior to arriving here and it was a great place to chill out for a few days. We ate regularly in the restaurant which was very good and not at all overpriced as some reviewers have suggested. Of course expensive compared to street food in India but not expensive given the quality, cleanliness, choice etc. Nice pool and direct access to the beach. This is a Taj hotel after all! The staff were exceptional without being over the top. We loved it, and can highly recommend The Gateway if you are looking for a little comfort in Varkala.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jean-Marcfrom France

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great ´s swimming pool but no hotel facilities (chairs, ombrellas) on Varkala beach. Nearby temple ritual events a little noisy late into the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by harvifrom oslo

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: Phone number listed on expedia.com to the hotel is slightly wrong. Please update the expedia site!
Great hotel! Good pool, excellent location! Close to the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David Hedbergfrom Stockholm

Ett av de bästa hotellen i Varkala!

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Personalen, rummet och framför allt GRYMT badrum gör detta hotell väl värt pengarna. Det enda jag kan anmärka på är att man bör rengöra poolen ordentligt men det är verkligen inget fel på den!