Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
relaxing clean and away from the crowds. I will be back as this resort has much to offer year round
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, Mi

Nice and has everything

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: It had everything stove, dishwasher and frig. along with lots of room.
Location: They have pool , sauna, golf, and lots for kids to do.
We only stayed one day but will be going back for a week .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice resort with everything you need.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Close to Frankfort and Traverse city. The room was comfortable and the resort was very well kept. I would definitely stay again, especially for ski season
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We arrived late. The staff immediately extended the check out time. They explained all the immenities of the resort and all the events happening during our stay. The room was big and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, On

Great "Out of the way" Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Our stay was during the middle of the week, during the first week of September. The resort was very well maintained and clean. The room was spacious and comfortable. It was very quiet and the staff was very nice. Only one very minor complaint, during our first day there we left the hotel around noon, and no one came to pickup the dirty towels and replace them. Again not a big deal, but my wife was a little annoyed that she had to call for more towels for the next day. If I vacation in area again I would still pick Crystal Lake Resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful settings

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: My husband was impressed with the conditions of the golf course and our meal and service at restaurant were fine.
Cons: Communications between hotel and Expedia.
We booked this hotel on Expedia, selecting from pet friendly accommodations, however when we arrived were were told at the reception that they didn't have pet friendly room booked for us. Reception clerk suggested to me to look for another hotel in the area (!) and request a refund from Expedia. I insisted that after six hours of driving from Canada we are not in position of looking for hotel in the nearby forest and would like to get a room. I also requested to talk with manager. It took about a half hour for them to figure out where to put us, but they finally allowed us to stay with our dog in the room which was booked. BTW we were charged $50.00 non-refundable pet fees for one night stay. If I would've known this, I would've looked for another hotel. We also feel that those money could've been used in that room before our arrival...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful Hotel with an awesome view of nature

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Creative setup (we stayed at the Hamlet unit). Very clean. Modern.
Cons: The only thing I would have liked to see was maybe some bilingual pamphlets (I speak Spanish as well). But other than that, everything was great.
Location: My girlfriends and I went to Sleeping Bear Dunes nearby. That has gorgeous scenery and fun dunes to climb up.
Staff was great, super friendly. Everything was clean and modern. Pool and locker room area were clean. It was an overall amazing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, super nice settings, good restaurants.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
We will definitely come back and tell our friends about this place. Great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Peaceful

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The hotel was really nice, with the twist that offered a different environment.
Cons: I was disappointed with the rates that was charged by booking through Expedia, I do not think the services equaled nowhere near the cost.
Location: With understanding, this is a first visit. Everything seemed so spaced apart, but I think that's a nature response when in an unfamiliar environment.
Needed a change of environment, Crystal Mountain was a perfect getaway. I enjoyed the drive there; however, could have had better directions, but overall, I would highly recommend this Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

WOW that was terrible for $250/night

Posted Aug 23, 2014
We booked a room in pinehurst for my husband and I to have a small getaway weekend. The room was not only disappointing (very small, styled from the 80's, with burned out lights, broken fixtures) but worse yet uncomfortable. The bed sunk down and had metal sticking out that I hit my leg on several times walking around it. There was a light directly outside of our window, but only cheap plastic blinds to block it out. Would it have killed them to put in black out curtains? We did use the spa, which was very nice. The restaurants were insanely expensive for what was being offered, but the food was not bad. $30 for two people for buffet breakfast- it really wasn't very good and was over-run with children. Needless to say, the next time I am thinking about dropping $250/night on a hotel I will go elsewhere. Maybe it is more worth putting up with their yucky rooms in the winter when you can ski.