Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience but pricey

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The history of this magnificently restored castle is the main attraction. Dinner is expensive (£42 pp) and the food reasonably good but to dine where others have dined for hundreds of years is a highlight. Water pressure in the shower was terrible, carpets felt really old. The staff were wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from susan w

60th birthday of my husband

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Very expensive but you get what u pay for, fab grounds, food excellent starters if duck and paid extra for scallops. Lamb and beef was fab.dessert was rhubarb crumble work rhubarb ice team with a vodka sack. Sherry in your room, bed was so comfortable. Good selection at breakfast . Would go back for my birthday .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, US

Awesome hotel...but

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Unique and grand!
Cons: Dining room managent
The Thornbury Castle is truly an amazing place. Our the Standard Deluxe room , the Stafford, was grand. Our children could only offer...."Wow." In contrast to this was our dining experience. We chose early dining at 6:45PM believing we could get out by 8:30 OR 9:00PM, so that we could walk the gardens. We waited 30 minutes before they took our order. Another hour before we received our appetizers. Another hour to receive our entrées. (We're not slow eaters.) We asked to pickup the pace of service 4 times. Finally at 10PM I came unglued about the matter. The waitress then said, "Oh, you still want your desserts?" While the food was delicious, the service at the restaurant brought great disappointment to this overnight stay with dinner for a family of four. ($750 total bill.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

3 star facilities, 5 star food and drink

Posted May 17, 2014
I stayed there for 2 nights with my partner in a standard double room and we had a lovely time. The room was ok, clean and tidy but the shower did not work and the room could do with updating slightly in terms of painting etc. The castle itself was lovely but we did not get told very much information about it (which I expected) and we were not invited to look around. We dined there for dinner on our first night and it was AMAZING. Probably the most expensive meal I have ever paid for but the food and staff were truly five star! Our booking included breakfast each morning which again was amazing quality and there was lots of choice. Had a lovely time, would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice from Surrey

Romantic hotel with amazing historical features.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Beautiful architecture, furnishings and decoration. Food and service
Cons: nothing.
Location: Lovely church next to the castle with many interesting historical features. Great town with many interesting shops. Interesting walks nearby.
I booked this hotel as a big birthday treat for my husband. We were immediately impressed by the historical beauty of the building and also the atmosphere inside the hotel created by the furnishings and decoration. We had a fabulous four poster bed in the room. The gardens are delightful and you can imagine yourself stepping back in time to the Tudor period. The windows have the original ironwork and stonework. Food excellent as was the service. Staff superb. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely return and recommend to friends and family
3 out of 5
by Missy from New York, NY

Go for the ambience, NOT the food or service...

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The delightful tower room.
Cons: Needs to improve staff training, and acquire a new chef. Had Henry VIII dined here recently the chef would likely have lost his head. Literally.
Location: Not much to do. Don't stay longer than one night. You've been warned...
I really want to give Thornbury a glowing review. I really do. The grounds and ambience are lovely. And our deluxe room in the tower was delightfully regal (and clean). But (ah, those troublesome buts)...the staff seemed to suffer from collective dementia. Friendly enough, just not there when you needed them. Case in point - my daughter and I had to drag our own bags up three flights of stairs (I have shoulder tendonitis). The common area - a charming spot for a pre-dinner drink - was devoid of any staff (Bates?! Carson?!?!). We had to go looking for an attendant to wait on us. As for dinner. Oy! The food was...hmmm. Not good! Not tasty! Frankly, bland is the best I can say for the meal. Particularly given the exorbitant prices. My daughter was unable to eat her entree. Not sure where the raves for the food are coming from -- a case of the 'emperor's new clothes" perhaps? And if you're going to promote yourself as an upper tier dining establishment, please instruct your staff on the proper etiquette for serving (and removing empty glasses). Too finicky? Methinks not. Would I recommend this hotel? Only if one wants to say they've stayed in a castle. My daughter was thrilled with her royal room, and we had lots of giggles regarding our "Downton' adventure. So, all in all, the experience was a positive one, but only due to our mother-daughter bonding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cathy from Michigan

Lovely historic castle

Posted Apr 17, 2014
We were upgraded to a room that my husband thought was the best hotel room he had ever stayed in. It was two rooms (a library and a bedroom, with an enormous marble bathroom). Oriental rugs, cozy fire burning, a decanter with sherry and 2 glasses. The canopy bed was magnificent. We loved our room. The meal service in the restaurant was pleasant, but slow. We waited a long time for food, and requests were forgotten by well-meaning staff. The dining room was never particularly busy, so I'm not sure why it was inefficient. The food was pricey and good, but not spectacular. We had a falconry lesson with Michael Davies, and it was the highlight of our trip. Michael brought 5 birds, which flew from our arms and demonstrated the ancient arts of hunting with birds. The history and beauty of the castle made our stay memorable. There is a 1,000 yr-old cathedral right next to the castle with a beautiful bell tower. The castle gardens were magnificent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by henry from uk

Thornbury Castle

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Stayed in the dukes bedchamber and had breakfast. Great staff, lots of character and easy to get to; 20 mins from cribbs mall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: It is an authentic castle with outstanding architecture. The gardens would be beautiful in the summer.
Cons: All the furniture and carpeting needs to be replaced. The carpets are stained and the seats sag.
Location: It is an easy drive to see many of the picturesque towns in the area, such as the Cotswolds, Bath, Oxford, and Stonehenge.
Our stay at Thornbury Castle was disappointing. I was expecting a five star experience and it was only a three star. The furniture was dated, the carpet needed replacing, the toiletries in the bathroom were refillable pump bottles and there were no bars of soap. Dinner was very expensive. The food was good but not worth the price. The staff was excellent. The people at the front desk did it all, from carrying our luggage to helping map out our itinerary. The morning waitress was also very good. She did her best to wait on everyone even when it was apparent" they were very much understaffed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jill from sheffield

Wonderful.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We had a special time which will be remembered fondly for a long time.