Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beijing

going down

Posted Oct 30, 2014
have stayed several times over past several years. this time leak in sink, shower fixtures fell off. Breakfast buffet very expensive for raw bacon and corn porridge . reminded quit frequently that we had to pay for breakfast and internet even though the room cost nearly $300 a night. Something has changed in the feeling of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Caroline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

最高な高級ホテル

Posted Sep 5, 2014
とにかく豪華なホテルです。部屋は開放感があり、リニューアルしてあったため設備も綺麗で最新式。150年の歴史があり、ホテルの旧玄関が国家に保護されている文化物であり、ホテル内にホテルの歴史を刻んだ本格的な博物館がある。但し博物館内人が全然いないので少し怖かった。 周辺はヨーロッパを思わせるかっこいい建物が並んでおり、夜になると部屋の窓から大聖堂のようなとっても立派でライトアップされている建物が見えて感動しました。150年の歴史はあるものの、上品とモダンがあふれており、いいホテルです。 裏門から出ると、徒歩1分の所に日本料理屋さんが何軒もあり、値段はお手頃でおいしいです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent hotel with the best location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
It is so exciting to stay in a hotel with historical background. It is very neat and clean, the room is elegant, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We like the location, it is close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alanfrom Durham

Bit of a surprise, very British colonial

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Stylish and comfortable with many surprise
Cons: nothing without just picking on minor things
Location: Great city centre site
Interesting and rambling old style hotel, great rooms and public areas. Will use again when in Tianjin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by virginiafrom beijing

It was just ok

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice. We booked a heritage room which listed it would have a balcony but when we arrived it didn't, and the hotel staff said they were fully booked so couldn't switch our room. Also for wifi in the room you do have to pay extra money for 24 hours of access. which can really add up if staying for a long trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamesfrom Sydney

Beautiful hotel, décor, room, and location.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Bedroom was lovely and bed very comfortable.
Cons: No
Have to say one of the most relaxing hotels in China for me. Staff spoke good English, and it was very well kept. Cant recommend enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AEfrom Aberdeen Scotland

The best of Old Colonial tradition

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Astor Hotel, Tianjin is an Icon, the building itself, the public areas and restaurants, are retro early 1900s, it is a "Heritage"/ British Colonial, classic. The internal décor is really impressive. The whole hotel, and the levels of service provided, ooze “Quality” and luxury. We stayed for one night, during a break from our Cruise ship, and only wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was in the original part of the hotel, which had been tastefully refurbished and maintained in the original style. We had an enormous, extremely comfortable, four-poster bed, wooden floors and a very large balcony overlooking gardens, where we ate a leisurely and pleasant room-service breakfast on a lovely morning. The bathroom was large, well fitted, and very clean. The hotel staff were all very professional, friendly, polite and attentive. Unusual, for hotels of this rating and quality, the price for accommodation and for food or beverage was very reasonable! And, as an extra bonus, there was free Wi-Fi in public areas. Our stay at this hotel (during a 27 day cruise) turned into a special treat and gave us additional nice memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

非常舒适

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
住在新楼,房间很好,床够大,卫生间也很宽敞,第一晚入住较晚,两间房被安排在了不同层,但第二晚帮调到了同层,非常感谢。从新楼到老楼,鲜明的对比,感觉时间在穿越。