Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent hotel with the best location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
It is so exciting to stay in a hotel with historical background. It is very neat and clean, the room is elegant, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We like the location, it is close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from Durham

Bit of a surprise, very British colonial

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Stylish and comfortable with many surprise
Cons: nothing without just picking on minor things
Location: Great city centre site
Interesting and rambling old style hotel, great rooms and public areas. Will use again when in Tianjin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Sydney

Beautiful hotel, décor, room, and location.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Bedroom was lovely and bed very comfortable.
Cons: No
Have to say one of the most relaxing hotels in China for me. Staff spoke good English, and it was very well kept. Cant recommend enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AE from Aberdeen Scotland

The best of Old Colonial tradition

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Astor Hotel, Tianjin is an Icon, the building itself, the public areas and restaurants, are retro early 1900s, it is a "Heritage"/ British Colonial, classic. The internal décor is really impressive. The whole hotel, and the levels of service provided, ooze “Quality” and luxury. We stayed for one night, during a break from our Cruise ship, and only wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was in the original part of the hotel, which had been tastefully refurbished and maintained in the original style. We had an enormous, extremely comfortable, four-poster bed, wooden floors and a very large balcony overlooking gardens, where we ate a leisurely and pleasant room-service breakfast on a lovely morning. The bathroom was large, well fitted, and very clean. The hotel staff were all very professional, friendly, polite and attentive. Unusual, for hotels of this rating and quality, the price for accommodation and for food or beverage was very reasonable! And, as an extra bonus, there was free Wi-Fi in public areas. Our stay at this hotel (during a 27 day cruise) turned into a special treat and gave us additional nice memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Beijing, China

A must for any history buff

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: Charming design
Cons: Breakfast room staff seemed a little bemused by number of guests
Location: Tough to get a cab - ask staff for help! Close to the waterfront and historic quarters
Live history! China's oldest hotel (the main building was built in the 1860s) means you'll be staying in one of the country's most important historic buildings, which still retains all the features that made it great! We arrived on a night when they were setting up an event, and as our Victorian balcony rooms were overlooking the delightful covered cafe we were upgraded to suites for free. Bargain prices, a decent breakfast buffet, and a blissfully quiet fitness center were all pluses, and our rooms were lovely. Will definitely be returning for a full weekend. I doubt we'll do much except for luxuriate in a four-poster bed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellie from London, UK

Wonderful hotel for history and ambiencea

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Ambience, service, history of hotel
Cons: Leisure facilities
Location: Right on waterful
We had a great stay at this hotel. We were the only Westeners staying there and they made us feel very special. The history of the hotel was really interesting with a charming museum. Our room was in the historical wing with a wonderful balcony overlooking the park. Location is right on the waterfront and it's easy to walk to places. We ate in the hotels 1836 restaurant for my husbands birthday. The food and service was excellent. Altogether with the history and ambience of the hotel it was a wonderful stay and surpassed our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London, UK

Best hotel in China for service ?

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: Excellent helpful smiling staff
Location: On the river, perfect
Fantastic stay with the best Hotel staff we have had the pleasure of meeting throughout our trip to China. We stayed in the historic wing in a room with a balcony over looking the square which was a constant changing theatre. The museum in the hotel is a must plus the excellent jazz singer in OHara"s bar should not be missed,, superb! Try the orange juice in the delicious, airy lounge. Bob the Head Concierge was always ready to help and a chance discussion with Sacha head of food and beverage resulted in the surprise of a complimentary birthday cake. I wish we could have stayed longer as Tianjin was also full of pleasant surprises . Try cup 31coffee bar !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andy

Nice and Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located at a quiet neighbourhood and along the river. The room is nice and clean. Good services. Staff friendly. The hotel museum tells the history of this hotel. Our room is in 7th floor river side. It is kind of a nice view, but the solid wall in the non-walkout barlcony blocks the half view from the room window. The fence in the other half of the barlcony looks ugly. Suggest to remove the solid wall with a nice looking fence. The exhust fan is too noisy.