Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but not Clean

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, large room, comfortable.
Cons: Cleanliness, add some English TV stations (such as HBO or CCTV News).
Location: Italian Village just 5 min walk, Binjiang Road about 10 min walk. Many places to eat/drink coffee in Italian Village. Subway 20 min away.
I stayed at Tianjin Ocean Hotel for three days. The room was comfortable but not very clean. For example, there was a nice red couch in front of the television, but it had strange stains all over the cushions. The desk chair was state of the art, but had greasy stains on the seat. Sometimes there was a musty smell when the air conditioner was on, and the shower smelled moldy. Bed was a queen but advertised as a king. Despite all of this, I was comfortable. The bed seemed clean and I slept well each night. The TV offered no English stations, but I was able to watch some funny Chinese shows, some with English subtitles. The view from the room was nice, although blocked by ugly window frames. And the room was large, so I felt like the couch and sleeping areas were distinctive from each other. One very unfortunate thing happened: due to a mix up, I needed to book my room another night. It was still time before check out, so I had put the "Do Not Disturb" sign up as I went to get coffee. When I came back, the maid had entered the room and cleaned up! I was happy she cleaned, but not happy that she went in despite my wishes. The hotel's location was very convenient, just steps away from the Italian Village and only 10 minutes walk from the start of Binjiang Road, the famous shopping street. About 20 minutes from Tianjin Train station, but it was somewhat easy to find because you can see the building's name from a distance. Overall, I might stay here again despite its flaws.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
Only there for a short business trip but all was in order and a nice hotel to stop in
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by DAVID from USA

불친절

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: 없음
Cons: 빨리 체크 아웃해야 했는대.
Location: 없음
불친절/에어컨 자동 되지 않음. 과당요금 청구. 영어가 되지 않아 손님과 호텔 직원간에 의사 전달이 되지 못함.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by duzo from beijing

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
We had a difficult time finding the location due to an error in Google Maps, the hotel has a good location due to its proximity to Italian town/the river/etc. Tianjin is a walkable city, so any spot is going to be somewhat convenient. No complaints!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shiye from 上海

駅近く

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels
部屋は広くて良かった。 水周りの古さが気になった。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels
Staffs are very polite and helpful, they took extra care about your left braggage. However in this website I have to prepay the full price, it is different to the tradition in China which is pay at checkout. If you want to pay at checkout you are better to find Chinese local booking websites.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

夜の夜景は綺麗か。

Posted Mar 7, 2012 on Hotels
トイレットペーパーは無い。 ドライヤーもない。 バスタブは栓がしにくい。 あまり良い印象は受けませんでした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Ocean Hotel Tianjin--not fancy but comfortable

Posted Nov 11, 2011 on Hotels
The Ocean has a few shortcomings. The laundry service was has been inoperative for some time as they presumably renovaye it, and the building shows some signs of age, but the rooms are clean, room service is good and available 24-hours, and the staff includes a couple of English speaking clerks who are helpful. The hotel is on the river and many rooms have a river view. It is within walking distance of "The Old Italian Village" which is picturesque, authentic (i.e., the buildings date to the time when this was an Italian Concession), and atmospheric. It is full of touring people which can be distracting, but the restaurants are a good switch if you want some European food, and the Bavarian Beer Hall serves German beer, as do most of the restaurants. I think given the reasonable prices, this is a good hotel for the traveller who is looking for a reasonaby priced lodging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

The hotel is in best location

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels
The ocean hotel tianjin is in the best location of tianjin. It is within walking distance to main attractions and train station. The hotal staffs tried their best to maintain the best service and the price was in reasonable range. I would recommend to choose this hotel.