Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ania from New York

Very convenient

Posted May 31, 2014
Clean and comfortable, although my room didn't have a lake view. You mitt want to ask for one. Very convenient location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kiwijohn from Phoenix, AZ

Friendly staff

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff at the front desk
Cons: Some minor improvements to the rooms would be good. One room that I stayed in needed new shower doors, another did not.
Location: Downtown location close to lake and the Manor department store with its large grocery in the basement. Boat trips on the lake.
This hotel has a great location downtown and one can take the cog railcar from the train station directly to the hotel. Unfortunately the cog railway does make quite a rumble and will not be appreciated by early sleepers. Between 10.00 and 6.00 all is quiet. Breakfast for 15.00 Swiss francs is modest, but more than adequate. Lugano is very expensive and even a simple pizza and beverage will set you back around $35.00. I found the front desk very friendly and helpful. They do speak some English, but Italian is the main language, with some speaking German as their first language.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Didem from Istanbul, Turkey

Clean room, convenient location

Posted Apr 10, 2014
I updated from standard to superior for SFr 10., and could arrange a top floor room to avoid the noise of the funicular; which helped. Room was clean and new, all was ok within the price range. Internet was an extra SFr 2, for 24 hrs which was acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynn and Ray from Iowa, USA

Close to great shopping and restaurants

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was great, hotel staff was very helpful. Room was big and roomy. Disappointed with the shower, was rather difficult to use. Also there were no surfaces to lay bathroom items on other than the window sill and one little glass shelf. Breakfast was good but rather pricey. Walls are rather thin. The venicullar was handy to get from the train to the hotel but noisy inside our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Remember that the hotel will be BEHIND you coming off the funicular!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JS from Isle of Wight

Information you need before you book here

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Some information about this hotel has not been made clear, so I'll summarise it here. The hotel is folded around the bottom end of the short funicular from Lugano rail station to Lugano town centre, which is at lakeside level. This makes it very convenient if you arrive by train - in a short while, and with minimal effort, you can be in your hotel. But the bottom funicular station is in a concrete well formed by the hotel, plus some shops and a café, which amplifies the rumble of its wheels and the sound of people loudly conversing, so in hot weather, when you need the window open, most of the hotel rooms are noisy. Having said that, we slept well (with the window slightly open) and we appreciated being able to walk to lakeside restaurants in five minutes, as well as being able to get up the hill to the station with heavy cases with relative ease. The hotel is a bit down-at-heel, and I had to fix one of the light power plugs myself (another one down to the Swiss Army knife). The breakfast is exorbitant, but you don't have to have it. Bottom line - if you're a light sleeper, or you don't have earplugs, you might have problems here, but we had an OK time in a town of pricey hotels.
3 out of 5
by Eyad from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Rooms are too noisy due to cabel car.

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: The staff.
Cons: I guess no solution fo rthe cable car noise problem...:(
Location: Great location and parking services for 25 Euro per day. No need for teh car every thing is nearby.
The rooms cleanness, staff and location are outstanding. Rooms are a bit small. But the most annoying was the noise caused by the cable car as it passes inside the hotel building. Furthermore, the drunk people were noisy while they are waiting the cable car. Cable car starts too early in the morning and operates in less frequency after mid-night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Doha, Qatar

Excellent for short stay

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Location
The hotel is right in the heart of the city, at Via Nassa street which is the most vibrant part of the city. Many restaurants and shops including a big shopping center, Manor, are just few steps from the hotel. In addition, it is right next to the funicular station which takes you to the main train station. The only annoyance is that funicular runs every two minutes from 5:20 am till midnight that produces loud noise and little vibration when it passes by. This hotel is good for the trips if you are out most of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
enjoyed it.