Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Location - location - location

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast buffet & parking card
Cons: A little smile on the receptionist's face
Location: In addition to Locarno, visits to Bellinzona (3 castles), Lugano & picturesque Ascona are recommended.
Super clean hotel & room. Very convenient location right on Piazza Grande. Walking distance (5-10 minutes) to major attractions, including funicular to Orselina where you will have nice views over the city, lake Maggiore & Madonna del Sasso Sanctuary. Across the street at the funicular stop in Orselina, you can continue your journey to Cimetta in a Cable Car for an additional price. From the top of Cimetta, on a clear day, you can see the highest point in Switzerland at a distance (Pic Dufour) and the lowest point (Lake Maggiore). Hotel provides a parking card for 7,00 CHF per day (in-out unlimited accesses) & parking Castello is 150 meters from hotel. Breakfast Buffet is included & good choice are available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torino

Posizione strategica a basso prezzo

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Posizione
Cons: Arredamento
Vista la posizione in pieno centro e prezzi svizzeri, il rapporto qualità/prezzo è ottimo. La colazione molto buona, camera pulita.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Normal and nothing special. No kettle in the room for hot beverage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nicholasfrom Switzerland

In the middle of things.

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Near the main square. Good if you want to be in the middle of things. Not so good if you want to sleep as the noise carries into the room, even through closed windows. Overall, very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dorianafrom Lecce

Perfetto

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
perfetto
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok place in center

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: location, relatively clean
Cons: More food at breakfast and warning about additional charge upon arrival.
Location: Central. Monastery funicular is close, and 10 min walk from train station
Attic, so we had window on the ceiling. No room service. Had to pay an extra hotel fee when we arrived. Breakfast food buffet not replenished during final 30 minutes...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Papi Jeanfrom France

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Emplacement exceptionnel. Confort satisfaisant pour un 3 étoiles. Nous connaissons cet hôtel de longue date, mais les prix deviennent excessifs, et l’accueil misérable : aucun sourire à l'arrivée, on vous jette le formulaire à remplir, puis on vous débite le plus rapidement possible les horaires du petit déjeuner. Ces gens ont été vexé par la réservation par internet ! Lors de ma réservation, je me suis trompé, et j'ai téléphoné directement à l’hôtel.... ils m'ont raccroché au nez sans plus d'explications! Je ne pense pas retourner dans cet établissement. Je préfèrerai un Ibis non loin de là !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Samh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Beatrix Takenakafrom Virginia, USA

room under the roof

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is unbeatable. It was very pricey. The room was right under the roof with only a window in the ceiling. Very small and hot. I would have expected more for the price. Breakfast was wonderful. We had 2 rooms, one with 4 beds for the kids and the one with a double bed right next to it. So we paid a lot of money to this hotel for the one night. Again, the location can not be beat and breakfast was awesome. Too expensive for the quality of the room though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a tired hotel in need of an update.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
If you just need a place to stay for a night or two, it is ok, but also depending on what price you are paying. The hotel is tired and in need of an update. The rooms are straight from the 70's. There is kitsch throughout the property. The location is good, but also quite difficult to find if arriving by car.