Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Staff

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Cons: The décor is a little dated.
It was great. Loved the location; we arrived and left by train which is steps away (though there is no noise). Around the corner from Hertz rental and a very short walk into the center of the old town. Incredibly kind and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hebron, CT USA

Great Hotel for the Price

Posted Jan 7, 2015
We stayed for 5 nights visiting daughter studying for semester in Lugano in October. The Hotel was very nice, and the location was great as long as you don't mind walking up and down the hill to get to the lake and majority of restaurants and shops. We had a lower floor on the front, so it was a little bit noisy at times, but it wasn't really a problem at all. If you want a quieter room, a lake view room would probably be your best bet. The daily breakfast was good, with plenty of options. It was a short walk down the hill to the center of the city, but no more than 5-10 minutes, and you're close to the train station. Overall, we enjoyed the stay and would strongly recommend the Federale. My only suggestion would be better driving directions. We arrived after dark, and couldn't easily find the small street you needed to turn onto in order to get to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Das Hotel verdient einem weiteren Stern

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wir sind sehr positiv überrascht das so ein zentrales hotel so güngstig sein kann. Der Service wird in alle Bereiche gross geschrieben. Bad/wc überdurchschnittlich gross, modern und sehr sauber. Riesen Balkon mit wunderschönen Aussicht. Wir empfehlen dieses Hotel weiter und werden es bald wieder besuchen.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MIAOfrom Shanghai

The only triple room without balcony

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The introduction of the triple room is with balcony on the booking website, but the view type is not mentioned, so we required a room with lake view. But it turned out to be a roof top room with lake view but without balcony. The decline ceiling makes the room a bit depressing. The room does not value the money because we can find a much better room considering the money spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sture K

Bra service

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bra personal, omtänksam, trevlig. Bra länge nära stationen men stora höjdskillnader i Lugano. På mitt rum fanns AC, den behövdes. Fick först inte igång den, fick inte info om att el i rummet skulle sättas på med viss nyckel. Jag kom tidigt och rummet var inte klart, jag lämnade en väska. När jag kom tillbaka, hade någon burit in min väska på rummet. Inte så vanligt med sådan service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KJfrom Seattle, WA

Near train station, Lugano at your doorstep

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our studio apartment. Just stepping out our door each morning, we felt part of the Lugano culture, with everyone walking down into the City to work. Friendly barista at coffee bar 2 doors down made our cappuccinos each day with a smile (and tolerated our poor Italian). In the evenings the steep staired streets just below our apartment were filled with people enjoying live music and wine. Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Location next to the train station can't be beat if you don't have a car. Just be warned that the Cathedral bells (next door) ring LOUDLY at precisely 7am each weekday, so you will be woken up. It's all part of the experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Anonymfrom Stockholm

Familjeägt hotell med förstklassig service

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet, som ser ut som en skär princesstårtbit, drivs av samma familj sedan snart 100 år tillbaka. Servicen är personlig och mycket omtänksam. Frukostbuffén är stor, med gott, fiberrikt bröd, goda ostar och lokalt producerad honung. Rummen är välplanerade och rymliga (har bott i både enkel- och dubbelrum). Federale är ett hotell som i sig är en anledning att återvända till Lugano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Northeast WI

Newly done

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: New, private-style apartment room.
Cons: Unable to turn on the lights inside without the key. So if honey went out, I couldn't use power/light in bathroom.
Location: Lugano: the lake two blocks away. Shopping great. Really super promenade dock and beach for swimming 10 min walk away with park for kids. Very pretty
Short stroll down the ramp from the main buses and trains. Host brought us to door just down the block and showed us to our little apartment. Kitchen was fully equipped; even a dishwasher. Beautiful corner room with nice view down the alleys. Around the bend from our doorway was a cement patio with flowers to relax. The breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Greg Huntfrom Texas

Older building, updated nicely

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, nice staff, beautiful views of city & lake. Nice big bathroom with amenities. Lots of charm inside & out. Grueling climb uphill to train station, downhill is nice, though! Well located but be aware, Lugano is a hill city, you have to eventually walk back up.