Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Not as Advertised

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Not much--the one bellman who helped us in finding a restaurant and translating for us
Cons: A complete face lift might help
Location: Not very nice. Did not see anything in the area and the hotel seemed to be dead.
After reading reviews this hotel sounded as if it would meet our needs. Since our Spanish is limited, I did not expect to encounter someone who spoke little English at the front desk. There was one bellman who was very helpful and translated for us. The hotel is rundown and the safety of the area it is in was questionable. We stayed on the night we arrived in TJ; the personnel in the clinic where my daughter was having surgery said I should not stay there; they arranged for accommodations at the Grande Hotel and sent a car to move us. The Grande can also use some updating but WAS a lot nicer than Hotel Palacio Azteca and has a much better location. I feel that Azteca was not as described in the online pictures. I will be calling to get a refund for the nights I paid for from Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Not Quite a Palace... But Very Nice

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The best thing about the Palacio Azateca is the amazing staff.
Cons: Lighting in the bathroom was a bit dim, but otherwise it was a great room.
Location: Easy walking distance to the Museum of Culture and a rather large shopping mall. Many artisanal taqueria's close so tons of great fish tacos!
This was the perfect getaway at a great price. Clean room, attentive staff, lovely pool, and good in-house restuarant add up to great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A bit dissapointing

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I stayed for three nights. The room was fine, a refrigerator to keep cool drinks in would have been nice. The restaurant was expensive and did not have a great variety. Breakfast was a buffet type but had a poor selection also and was not worth the $12 they charge. My main problem was that of communication. Most of the front desk staff had no English at all. I realize the hotel is in Mexico and English is not the common language but I think at least some of the desk staff should have a working knowledge of English. There was only one gentleman with whom I could communicate and although he tried hard he still could not help me. All I wanted was some clear instructions on how to dial out from my room but it proved impossible. It was very frustrating and spoiled my visit considerably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenfield

Great Stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Everything was great
Location: Revolucion street is near by where theres clubs,bars and great entertainment
Stayed there one night but will be definetly booking this hotel on our next trip to Tijuana. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From San Diego

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Excellent service, very nice safe area. Staff was very professional . Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very easy access to and from USA border
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Bad nigth.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I had already booked and when my wife arrive to wait for me they gave her another room.so I was registered with the same name at two diferents rooms.be
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs Ca

fun

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: more, towels, lower rates
Location: nice location and very secure parking structure .
It shure was nice to get a good night rest with a nice and clean room, need a bid more towels, and try to make it more easer for the tv program.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Nice hotel close to the border

Posted Jul 6, 2014
First time I stay in this hotel and it was a very good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel convenient to downtown.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: It was a perfect hotel, good value, the only hotel I will use next time I am in TJ
I liked this hotel, everything was clean and new. Pool area was very well maintained. Buffet breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveler314 from Los Angeles, Ca

Nice but noisy

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: location, cleanness,
Cons: let guests sleeps late.. Front desk should be more polite and courteous. They are so cold treating guests.
Location: location is OK, easy to get there.. Close to taco places and "centro" (Downtown)
Super elegant, nice smells on room, clean, employees are OK except the lady from cleaning staff. She start knocking doors at 8:45 A.M. to let guest knows she will start cleaning the room soon.. but checking out time is after 1:00 p.m. Noisy, real noisy, can hear next door "sounds" and Tijuana awake at 4:00 A.M. ..